android
  #1  
Old 07-18-2008, 08:27 AM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default Finicky with years?

i've noticed that while the 72x reads most mp3 tags just fine, the album/track/genre, sometimes it reads the year as unknown even when the information is visible in windows?

kind of makes the time machine shuffle feature useless.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-18-2008, 10:02 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

It's a glitch that some have reported in the A72X/82X series. I haven't used the time machine shuffle feature so I haven't had a reason to BEOUCH as of yet (YET being the key word).
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-18-2008, 10:23 AM
djp952 djp952 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frimframsauce View Post
i've noticed that while the 72x reads most mp3 tags just fine, the album/track/genre, sometimes it reads the year as unknown even when the information is visible in windows?

kind of makes the time machine shuffle feature useless.
Could be that your WM/Year tags on those files are set up with the wrong data type. I believe they should always be strings, integers might not work right. I ran into something similar to that a while back.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-18-2008, 10:54 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djp952 View Post
Could be that your WM/Year tags on those files are set up with the wrong data type. I believe they should always be strings, integers might not work right. I ran into something similar to that a while back.
Naw, it's a glitch that the A72X/A82X series has.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-19-2008, 03:57 AM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

hm yea becuz they show up in itunes/media monkey/windows explorer/winamp etc.
and you don't have to use the shuffle to see the dates missing, its the last bit of tag information shown for a song thats playing, much of the time it just says "unknown"
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-19-2008, 08:36 PM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

i guess everyone fire off an email to sony
http://esupport.sony.com/US/perl/contact-email.pl?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-25-2008, 09:25 AM
Riolist Riolist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 119
Default

Yep, 728 here, same problem.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-25-2008, 11:13 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

Did you know that I have no probs w/the time machine shuffle W/J.River Media Jukebox? All the tags are correct and all have the year included on my player - none show up as unknown.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-26-2008, 04:28 PM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

ok hammer them with emails.

they just keep spamming the same response to me telling me to reset the unit:P

"
NOTE: This Sony Portable Player is not known by Sony to be defective in any way and we are not aware of a problem. Sony does not address any comments published on, or quoted from a non-Sony website."

yea ok.... not "knowing" is enough i guess.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:53 AM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

I have the Sony NWZ-A816 player and have had the same problem with the year showing up as "Unknown" if I load the songs via drag-and-drop. When I sync the player with Windows Media Player 11, MediaMonkey, or Media Manager for Walkman, the year does show up.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-30-2008, 11:22 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,044
Default

So drag-and-drop seems to be causing this issue. I guess the sony lineup is meant to be synced after all. Bad news for MAC and Linux users I'm afraid (unless they use an alternative sync prog).
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.