android
  #1  
Old 01-25-2009, 01:34 AM
kye kye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sonora, California
Posts: 6
Default Increase hard drive space in Archos 705

Is there a way I can increase my storage amount in the Archos 705? It doesn't have a USB port so I would need a storage option that would work by plugging in the end of a USB chord that normally plugs into a computer into the MP3 player and the other end would plug into the hard drive.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-25-2009, 05:59 AM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 994
Default

I don't know about extra storage (by USB hosting) but you could just stream the music/video if in range of a wireless network set up with a PC connected here
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-14-2009, 11:07 PM
Warris Warris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Default

You can connect a usb drive to the 705 via the dvr station or direct via the short lead supplied using the usb "A" connection, but be aware that higher capacity drives need extra power and the 705 may not be able to power it so you may need an extra powwer source. Usb memory sticks or card readers seem to work fine if you only need a few extra gigs, watch out for extra battery drain though.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-24-2009, 05:31 AM
Puer Puer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warris View Post
You can connect a usb drive to the 705 via the dvr station or direct via the short lead supplied using the usb "A" connection, but be aware that higher capacity drives need extra power and the 705 may not be able to power it so you may need an extra powwer source. Usb memory sticks or card readers seem to work fine if you only need a few extra gigs, watch out for extra battery drain though.
I did not know that..cool! I bought my 705 open box for..get this...only $100 But no manual, so I am still learning what extras are on it that my 605 does not have.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
705, archos, memory

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.