android
  #1  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:45 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default Nothing works, only charges. In dire need of help.

So desperate time calls for desperate measures. I actually made an account just for this.


So my story begins with when I got the latest sansa clip update. Since then, I have lost my usb cord. But that's alright now because I got a new one.

Fully prepared to repair my sansa clip and to bring music back into my daily life once again, I plugged my "30-pin-to-USB sync cable" into my laptop and into my Sansa Clip.

Here is my problem:

My sansa clip will only charge, but will not show up in window's explorer.

I have formatted, reseted and tried all of the three usb mode option my Clip offers. To no avail.

One odd thing is that my Clip won't seem to reset when I hold up my "on/off/hold" button thingy.

If any details would be helpful in someone solving this case of mine I would gladly give them to you.

So grateful to everyone, and lovely forum. Thank you.

-F&H
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:52 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I am assuming that you did get the approved sansa usb cable. Did you try to manualy re-install the fw?
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:54 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Well it says "compatible with models manufactured by: insignia, iRiver, Samsung, Sandisk.."

And.. I did not understand that.. abbreviation and the end. Sorry. =/


-F&H
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:58 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

What Clip do you have? The Clip had a standard USB port. How are you using a 30pin USB cable on the Clip?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-22-2008, 06:58 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

fw = firmware and the cable should be a standard usb to mini usb. You can find the instructions for a manual update here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:06 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
What Clip do you have? The Clip had a standard USB port. How are you using a 30pin USB cable on the Clip?

I lost it.


I've downloaded the firmware, and am now unsure of what to do with it. Sorry. DX

Oh and it's a Red 2gig Clip. (the color doesn't make a difference right?)
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:09 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

1.01.17a is the latest, put the binary in the root of your clip, safe disco and let it rebuild the data base.

Edit: connect clip in msc mode, open windows explorer and open the C drive, look for the new drive letter on the left side representing the clip and drop the new firmware into it. Hope that makes better sense
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:10 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

I'm so sorry... but what does that mean? Dx

That was my problem.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:12 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

I know you lost it, but there is a different in the standard mini USB port(which is on Clip, m200, and few other players) and a 30pin port(which is on the Fuze, View, e200 series).

Anyways, what OS are you using? What USB mode are you using?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:13 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

oh, just re-read, you can not see the player in windows explorer? Check device manager to see if you have a driver issue.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:18 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
oh, just re-read, you can not see the player in windows explorer? Check device manager to see if you have a driver issue.
Well, my flashdrives work so I don't know if there's a problem there. How do I get to "device manager"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Anyways, what OS are you using? What USB mode are you using?
I've tried every usb mode, and I'm running on an xp.

Really, thanks everyone. >_<
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:22 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

You say you tried MSC and MTP mode on the Clip? You said that flash drives work. This is getting weird now. Are you sure you tried MSC mode on the Clip?

Plus do you have SP2 or newer with WMP10 or WMP11 installed?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:30 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

I could try the usb modes again if you're willing to talk be through it because I thought I tried them.

I don't know what SP2 is.

And I'm using WMP11.

It's weird. I realized when I found that none of the threads were helping me.

Sorry if this is becoming a challenge.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:32 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Can you try a different USB cable? all mini-b cables should be interchangeable
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:34 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCM View Post
Can you try a different USB cable? all mini-b cables should be interchangeable
I only have the one I bought. And in case this wasn't clear, i IS charging, but it's not showing up at all.

I also thought about the "no in all the way" issue, and well.. I can't push it in any further.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:35 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

I know it is charging, but sometimes if the cable is bad, it will charge, but not be detected, do you happen to have a digital camera? if so try the cable from that
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:39 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

SP2 is a Windows XP Service Pack.

I am starting to think the data wires in that cable you got is bad. One reason why I say that is you said that MSC mode does not work but your flash drive works fine.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:43 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flushedandheroic View Post
I could try the usb modes again if you're willing to talk be through it because I thought I tried them.
Turn clip on, press home button, click bottom of wheel to settings, click right of wheel, click down to scroll to usb mode, click down to msc and click right side of wheel, so that msc mode is checked. Now turn off player and try to re-connect to pc.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:46 PM
flushedandheroic flushedandheroic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCM View Post
I know it is charging, but sometimes if the cable is bad, it will charge, but not be detected, do you happen to have a digital camera? if so try the cable from that
Not one that fits. They look like they'd fit, but they dont.

The one that fits the camera is too big for the sansa.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 06-22-2008, 07:52 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

flushedandheroic, did you check the usb mode is in msc? btw, welcome to abi

Edit: btw, the cable should look like:
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.