android
  #1  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:37 PM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default help - problems with video

hello
Ive recently bought the D2 and he is great but i have a problem watching video in it:
Ive converted the video with the JetAudio progrem that comes with the player. When i play the file on the PC it looks great but on the player the picture is skipping all of the time and there are a lot of visual problems.

what seems to be the problem?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:18 AM
SansaRulez83's Avatar
SansaRulez83 SansaRulez83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Western Washington, USA
Posts: 273
Default

Have you updated the firmware to x.57? I don't have much experience prior to this set of firmware because I just got mine on Thursday! Also I think it's funny that you refer to the D2 as a 'he'. Are you foreign?

By skipping do you mean that the video and audio is out of sync or does the video look like you're watching it on a VCR?
__________________
16GB Cowon D2 (16GB Transcend SD Card) > Fiio E5 > Ultrasone HFI-780
16GB ipod Touch (Just for Web, I Swear )
1GB Sansa Clip
Phonak Audeo PFE 111 (White), Sennheiser PX100 (Travel Purposes), Koss KSC-75 (Eh... Too Plingy)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-04-2008, 07:18 AM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Yes I am foreign, I am soory if ill have any grammatical mistakes but I sure youll understand

I did updated to the frimeware 2.57
The sound if ok but the video has strange irrelevant colors as you can see:









after several second it get stuck and I need to resume the player.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-04-2008, 07:43 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Try changing the settings in Jet Video Converter - there's more then 1 setting for the D2. Also, are you having problems with ALL your videos, or just a few? It could be a prob w/the videos your trying to convert.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-04-2008, 10:11 AM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Ok Ive tried with another file and diffrent settings, now it looks like this:
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-04-2008, 10:29 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It seems the issue might be in your source files. When the original movies are badly encoded already, converting them again makes the issues worse. The D2 is more picky about such issues than WMP, MPC, VLC, or others.

Are these South Park episodes originally AVI, RM, or FLV?

Do you have any "codec pack" installed on your computer? Like K-Lite, Nimo, etc?

Anyway, try using MaxST's D2Video app, or ElvisElvis' iLove - those might give you better results than JetAudio.

Another thing you could try is reinstalling the firmware, or formatting your internal memory and SD card with the Panasonic SD formatter app. I had similar video issues with a badly installed 2.53 firmware, iirc.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-04-2008, 11:20 AM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

The south park episodes are originally AVI.
I don't have any "codec pack" on my computer.

can someone mabe upload a shot video that works well on his D2 so I could know if the problem is with the source files or the player?

Here is a good server:
http://www.fileflyer.com/

thanx for all of your help
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-04-2008, 11:25 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Try these two, they're converted with D2Video, sources were XviD and Quicktime, respectively:

links removed
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-04-2008, 11:45 AM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Ive uploded the videos to the D2 and they also have the same problems \=
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-04-2008, 11:48 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Ok, so it's definitely a borked firmware install.

In this case I would bulldoze the D2 to get it right.

Brick the player on purpose, install firmware 2.46 with Tcctool, upgrade to 2.57 normally, clear memory, format with the Panasonic formatter.

Warning: this procedure is not for the faint of heart - but it works.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-04-2008, 03:41 PM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

can it damage my warranty? there is a good chance that ill get a new one where ive bought it if ill go to the shop and show them the problem.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:03 PM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
This is the method which should work 100%.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotem View Post
can it damage my warranty? there is a good chance that ill get a new one where ive bought it if ill go to the shop and show them the problem.
I will first try the most easy method and then if nothing works continue on the next difficult one.

I would try the methods in this order:
  1. Upgrade to 2.57 normally
  2. Clear memory
  3. Format with the Panasonic formatter
  4. Do the whole "Brick the player on purpose" thing
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:09 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yeah Krat, maybe better trying less brutal methods first.

FWIW, you can always do the "settings > system > clear memory" after a new install - it won't do any harm, since you don't have any files loaded anyways.

(BTW; shouldn't you update your sig? )
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:25 PM
Rotem Rotem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Default

what do you mean by
Quote:
Upgrade to 2.57 normally
?
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:26 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Upgrading like it's described on Cowon's website: http://www.cowonglobal.com/zeroboard...bmenu=download
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:21 PM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

I believe that there are different "batches" of D2s and some of them are better, some of them worse. I got mine with 2.51 installed (rather old) and other users here or over at iAudiophile got it with 2.54 or even 2.55.
No problems on my D2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
BTW; shouldn't you update your sig?
Heh, I tried, but it doesn't work. I guess that the old policy (1000 char or something) still works on my account. Even if I delete some rows and characters it still doesn't work. Let's sort this out via PM.

EDIT: WHOOOO HOOO. 700 posts. I'm catching up dfkt, beware.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.