android
  #1  
Old 06-20-2008, 12:08 AM
Animus Animus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Default Video DRM problem

Ok I am trying to convert a wedding video to DVD.
I set up the dvr dock, fed the video in, saw it on the screen and recorded it. I checked the playback on the unit (605 wifi) but then when I moved the file to my computer, I got a "COPY PROTECTED VIDEO FILE" image on the screen.
What do I need to do to unlock the file so i can make a dvd?
Oh the files are in AVI format, that seems to be the sticking point. I've seen plenty of info on DRM removal but none for Avi files.

Last edited by Animus; 06-20-2008 at 04:05 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-20-2008, 07:22 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

ok so the files are in AVI, what are you using the Archos for?
all you need is software that can take AVI and convert and burn to DVD-Video
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-20-2008, 09:56 PM
Animus Animus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Well as i said above the intent was to use the archos to record the wedding video off the old VHS tape then convert and burn to dvd.
But the avi the Archos makes is DRM protected and although I have looked around I cannot find a program to remove the DRM from AVI files. There seems to be a lot of them that fix mp3 and wmv but not for avi...
I've tried to use a couple of dvd making programs I have (Canopus Procorder and TMPGEnc) but they register no video feed.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-25-2008, 06:57 AM
Warris Warris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Default

When you copied the vhs tape did the archos say it was recording in (P) mode? If it did then it thinks the vhs is a commercial tape and wont allow you to replay it on anything but the Archos. Try a different vhs player. Or copy it directly to your pc using a capture card such as pinnacle. DVDshrink will remove macrovision - the protection program - from dvds but I dont think it will work with avi files.

The problem is with your vhs player not the archos so try and find another one which will allow you to copy tapes without adding in protection.

You should check that you are using the 27 May 2008 firmware on the archos too as the previous one had a problem with macrovision.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-01-2008, 09:50 AM
Animus Animus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thankyou I Will check that on the next attempt.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-26-2009, 07:34 AM
beyoungjr beyoungjr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi Wrrus,
I just found this forum as I am having problems with DRM on the 405's and 605's as well. My problem however is that I am recording on the Archos from a simple camera and mic source and the avi files are getting the protection applied. Archos tech support says it's a "Known Issue" but that was in late November. They have probably abandoned us Gen5 users and our firmware needs.

I don't recall having the problems with the previous firmware releases.

The Archos 405/605 doesn't apply the protection to every recorded file. Out of 10 recording events (scheduled), the protection got applied to 4 of the files only. I also had 2 occurrences where the recording event split at ap[proximately 10 minutes in and continued on a second file. The second file got the protection but not the first. Another "known issue".

Any expeience out there???
Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-14-2009, 11:59 PM
Warris Warris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 78
Default

Its a bug in the software, as you say no chance of a fix now Gen 6 is out. Thats the problem with Archos they abandon older models.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.