android
  #21  
Old 12-31-2008, 02:09 AM
mjwk mjwk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

[quote=mickywillis;312710]How did you resolve the problem? I cannot get mine to b erecognized by Windows at all!! "I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM...using WIndows XP, and Media Player 10"
In the Control Panel, under System/Hardware/Device Manager, the Q1 is shown but is suggesting that drivers are not installed. "When I view my device manager, my Q1 is listed as "a big yellow question mark followed by - USB Device"It is not listed under My Computer as a Removeable Drive either? "Mine isn't either" Any ideas??
Windows Media Player 11 Installed, Emo Dio software installed from supplied CD, but tere is no driver software on the included CD either??

Have you had any luck figuring out the problems??? Have you contacted Samsung Directly??
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 12-31-2008, 02:10 AM
mjwk mjwk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

How did you solve the problem??
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 12-31-2008, 07:20 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

Up
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:06 PM
dmanley dmanley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Talking DVD to svi for YP-Q1

Hi All.

I'm really having problems with emodio when it comes to converting files to svi, so I've been searching alternatives.

Avidemux works for transcoding anything (so far) to svi. Instructions can be found here http://jocohp.hu/?o=user_post&id=58&l=1

I'm also trying to convert all my DVDs to a more portable format, but what to use when trying to go from DVD to svi with no extra steps?

Well, it seems that CloneDVD Mobile works! Choose the "Generic (Divx)" setting, with a resolution width of 320 (the height will default to whatever is appropriate for the video), and click "Go!". When it's done make sure to change the extension to .svi before transferring to the Q1....and it should work (it does for me).


So.....now I'm emodio free

Last edited by dmanley; 01-01-2009 at 06:16 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:02 PM
Kev Vikanova Kev Vikanova is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

the reason is that your xp is not fully updated. If you go into windows update, choose custom, then you should see under recommended and optional updates a variety of updates to both media player and .net framework. I updated all those and it solved the problem. update all the way up to media player 11 and its patches as well and also .net 2.0 and its service pack
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:22 PM
pizzanova pizzanova is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I spent nearly an hour with samsung support but they solved the problem of driver/not found. They had me roll back to media player 10. In my case I had to remove three things from the "add remove programs" panel. 1) media player 11. 2) Media Player runtime enviro. 3) I forget what this was called. Finally I had to install media player 10. Then windows XP found the Q1 as an MTP device. I also upgraded the firmware to 1.23 which gave me great color icons.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 01-02-2009, 05:15 PM
dmanley dmanley is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Talking Use Visualhub to make svi files for the YP-Q1

Hi All.

This one's Mac only. Visualhub can convert avi files (and pretty much any other video files) into svi files for the YP-Q1 (and probably the P2).

The trick is to select the avi tab on visualhub, select the simple profile (which will default to 320 pixels wide) and standard quality. I clicked the "advanced" tab and set the bitrate to 400, and left everything else as default.

Click start........and once finished change the extension to svi. The file should work no problem. Of course, if you're still using an MTP Q1 you'll need XNJB to connect to your player.

Have fun
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 01-03-2009, 04:56 AM
missk missk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

im having the same problem that the p.c dont recognize the device
i even contacted samsung b phone the guy on the other end wasnt helpful he told me to get a new computer and that he couldnt help because my p.c was dell n not samsung
how can you solve the problem

thanks

Last edited by missk; 01-03-2009 at 08:23 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:10 PM
Quigagle Man's Avatar
Quigagle Man Quigagle Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Default Samsung Q1 N00b needing help....

I've mastered the whole thing upside down and backwards...but only one of my computers in my house detects the Q1....why? and what can i do to fix the one two...


The one that works....XP Sp2, USB2.0

Other Two. XP Version 5.1, USB2.0 Controller..
XP Version 5.1 USB2.0

I'm getting the Windows Xp SP2 CD from a friend...
__________________
-Powered by Ramen
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 01-04-2009, 08:19 PM
Quigagle Man's Avatar
Quigagle Man Quigagle Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Default

I got the Silver 8 GB...yea same price...and the colour on all of them are the same... Its just ur preferance with the Q1 colours and the light colour that varies...
__________________
-Powered by Ramen
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 01-04-2009, 10:22 PM
suprman2020's Avatar
suprman2020 suprman2020 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 223
Default

You should try posting in the samsung subforum.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 01-05-2009, 03:00 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Moved.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:37 AM
Quigagle Man's Avatar
Quigagle Man Quigagle Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Default

sorry...but the sub forum doesnt have the Q1...so i accidentally posted it here...
__________________
-Powered by Ramen
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:58 PM
pizzanova pizzanova is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I bought my Q1 just before Xmas. My wife bought an ipod nano at the same time. Both are 8 gb. We have been running an unofficial comparison ever since. Even though her unit cost about twice as much as mine ( Q1's on sale at futureshop for $80 Can.) she finally suggested that we take back her ipod and get another Q1. One feature the ipod has that I thought I'd like was the .m4b audiobook feature that allows you to pick up where you left off in an audiobook. But the Q1 will also remember your spot in an mp3 file as long as you don't play another file in the meantime. That's close enough for me.
I actually had to return my Q1 today. There was a problem where the unit would lockup and require a reset everytime it was left overnight. Just finished converting the new one to usm Kr. I'm not sure how to use the lyrics feature but I'm going to figure it out after I get all my files reloaded.
Great job on the review/test. I'm hoping that we can create enough interest to maybe even get our own folder here.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:47 AM
shinkor shinkor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Red face Q1 Radio frequencies issue

Hi Everyone,

I just bought a Q1, great one (I also own a P2,T10,K5,Z5...).

I've noticed that Radio frequencies are left-shifted of 0.050 MHz compared to real broadcasting station channel. For Example, Italian station 'RTL 102.5' (that is the trasmitting frequency!) is centered by Q1 at 102.450 (with RDS also displayed only in this point). Same for all radio station, of course...
Did anyone go through the same experience?

Thanks a lot,

Diego
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 01-09-2009, 09:46 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,597
Default

Yep, I noticed that but doesn't play on quality of reception.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-09-2009, 05:52 PM
shinkor shinkor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, I agree with you entirely but simply I wouldn't expect a silly bug like that from Samsung. In any case Q1 is a great mp3 player! I'm still evaluating any sound difference between Q1, T10 & P2. Work in progress!
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:42 PM
Quigagle Man's Avatar
Quigagle Man Quigagle Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Default

yea....my EmoDio is doing the same thing...choosing when to detect the Q1...it is pretty sweet (i have silver) and btw...i copied the files to the system folder. and it didnt update....
__________________
-Powered by Ramen
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-13-2009, 07:07 PM
Quigagle Man's Avatar
Quigagle Man Quigagle Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Default

yea... nothing from Canada yet....i was thinking of making a version of the P2 Dock that was made on here...
__________________
-Powered by Ramen
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-24-2009, 01:21 AM
Ten4's Avatar
Ten4 Ten4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Langley BC Canada
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quigagle Man View Post
yea....my EmoDio is doing the same thing...choosing when to detect the Q1...it is pretty sweet (i have silver) and btw...i copied the files to the system folder. and it didnt update....
Q1

You have to unzip the files and place the two of them in the root directory. This is the drive that shows all the folders in it. Not in a folder. Unplug your player and wait for the firmware to update. It will turn off, then restart your player and wait for it to shut down again. Restart once more. Should do it.

vivid menu icons are nice. Along with bug fixes.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
.svi, .wmv, firmware upgrade, games, linux, mp3 player, q1, samsung, saumsung yp-q1, uci, ums, yp-q1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.