android
Old 04-17-2008, 05:06 AM

Default Retreiving "go list" or song ratings in MSC mode

Hi there,

I posted a similar question on the Sandisk forum, but didn't really get the answer I was looking for, so I thought I'd try here:

Is there a way to retrieve the "go list" or the song ratings while in MSC mode? The reason I ask is this:

I recently obtained a 2GB Sana Clip, which I intended to use on on my commute to work (~25 minutes by bike). However, recent policy changes at work means that I'm no longer allowed to store MP3s on my workstation there, which means that I find myself using my clip a lot more than I originally intended, lest I keep listening to the same songs over and over again.

I had a Cunning Plan (TM) to write a small application (I'm a programmer by trade) that will maintain a portion of my clip (say, half of it) and put a random selection of music on there every time I connect. This isn't too hard; in fact it's about done. However, I have a huge MP3 collection, and not all of it is music I appreciate as much as I do others, so I'm toying with the idea of making the "random song collection" a weighed random - much like many "smart shuffles" on programs like winamp and iTunes. Popular songs get selected moreoften, inpopular songs don't. This, of course, requires rating my songs, and here's where I'm hitting a snag. It would be very cool if I could rate things on my clip, and tell it "This is a neat song, I wouldn't mind hearing this one moreoften" or "Oh, please never play this one again, kthanksbye". The alternative is doing this administration while I'm back home, and experience has shown that this doesn't quite work out