android
  #1  
Old 03-28-2008, 11:31 AM
EnzoTen's Avatar
EnzoTen EnzoTen is offline
ABI Founder
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2,384
Default Sansa Fuze Teardown

Just a heads up, I took the Fuze apart. Here is the disassembly guide.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:35 PM
yuki's Avatar
yuki yuki is offline
General Audio Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 519
Default

so i looks like the codec is on chip ?! is the SOC made by sandisk ? i didn't know they had a facility that could mask an arm processor..

BTW the tear downs are my favorite part of your reviews ^^ !!!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:11 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

The chip that is powering the Fuze is really made by ASM. The same chip is in the Clip, m200v4, e200v2, and c200v2.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:42 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Those could help any hopes of getting Rockbox on the Fuze.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-21-2008, 10:04 PM
d311_5uxor's Avatar
d311_5uxor d311_5uxor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
Default

for those who want the battery information, this is exactly what is written on the back of my battery......
+ 3.7V-
354239
A76804
207481



the battery pack itself contains what looks to be a charge/monitor chip and 3 leads exiting to the unit
as connected to the board= red + blue T black -

i suppose the T is for thermal?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-01-2009, 04:13 PM
Sansasensei Sansasensei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Hi Enzo, is the chip in the Fuze different or the same as the View? Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-01-2009, 05:57 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sansasensei View Post
Hi Enzo, is the chip in the Fuze different or the same as the View? Thanks!
Different. The View is PP6100 (renamed Goforce) by Nvidia, while the Fuze V1 is AMS3525, and the V2 is an unknown chip (possibly AMS353x).
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-01-2009, 11:36 PM
Sansasensei Sansasensei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-25-2009, 06:31 AM
paulr paulr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 144
Default

Any chance of getting exact measurements of the battery (height, width, thickness)? Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:15 PM
boechat's Avatar
boechat boechat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 61
Default

This will be useful when i manage to get a faceplate
__________________
Samsung Galaxy SIII + 64Gb MicroSDHC
Sandisk Sansa Clip Plus 4Gb + 16Gb MicroSDHC
Apple iPod Nano 2nd Gen 8Gb Red Edition
Koss Porta Pro 25th Anniversary Edition
Sennheiser MX471
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-25-2010, 01:26 AM
blackws blackws is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I was about to disassemble to clean wheel (wife spilled pop on Sansa View 16 and let it sit for 6 hours). I then read the article for Fuze disassembly (expect the View is nearly identical). How long did the wheel work for those who used WD40? I have put water on the wheel 3 times trying to clean it out. The wheel will start to move and act normal, but after sitting it sticks in place again. Once again, how long did the wheel work after WD40ing it? Thanks...
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-24-2012, 11:38 AM
yashiro81 yashiro81 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Can you replace the internal memory?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-24-2012, 04:17 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yashiro81 View Post
Can you replace the internal memory?
No, but since the device has an SD slot theres no real point to doing that.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.