android
  #1  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:37 PM
Bonesaw07 Bonesaw07 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Default Question on wi-fi range

Iím thinking about buying the Archos 605 30-gig but Iím somewhat hesitant, for a couple of reasons. I mainly need a pmp for music and video but I want the ability to check e-mail or youtube while away from home. Iíve heard that the wi-fi isnít all that sensitive and wanted to know roughly what kind of range it has (I realize much of this depends on the strength of the router). Also is there any sort of timeline for a release of a 606 model, Iíve seen a ďprototypeĒ photo but I doubt itís from Archos.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-26-2008, 07:05 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

You'll need to buy the web browser to do youtube, and email may not work depending on the service you use, for example GMail uses AJAX but you could always go to the gmail mobile site and access it that way.

regular timeline announcement around June and release around September
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-29-2008, 10:44 AM
Bonesaw07 Bonesaw07 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Default

I understand that I need to buy the web browser but that's not my question. My question is, in general, how far away can you be from a router and still be able to pick up a wifi signal. I only ask because I read a review that stated the archos had trouble picking up signals that a laptop found easily.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-29-2008, 01:12 PM
defamed01 defamed01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Default

I've never had a problem with my 605 picking up a wifi signal. I've owned mine for 5 months, and probably only a handful of times the 605 failed to connect, but then quickly connected when I retried. Maybe, like 4 or 5 times I think. I'll stand outside my house, and it still gets a signal, and my router isn't state of the art by any means.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-30-2008, 04:21 PM
edbrewer3 edbrewer3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Wifi range is not as sensative as other devices. Anything within about 100ft is fine, after that it's iffy. It is not nearly asgood as my wife's I Touch, but then I don't have to deal with that awful I Tunes like she does
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-30-2008, 05:05 PM
bhartman36 bhartman36 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Wifi seems to work fine for me. I can go anywhere in my apartment and still get a signal (and that's with the router on the floor). I'm pretty sure that I've done it from 100 feet away, but maybe not. In general, I would say that it stacks up there with my Palm TX.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.