android
Old 03-06-2008, 01:00 AM

Default Extended Warranties?

I notice that several on line sellers offer extended warranties that would cover the second or third year after the manufacturer's one year warranty. With many purchases, I think extended warranties are a waste of money, but with some portable electronic devices, they might be a good idea.

I'm new to the MP3 player thing, but I notice on the forums that some people think an extended warranty might be a good idea with a HD based player, but not needed with a flash player like the P2.

What do you think?

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 03-06-2008, 02:02 AM

i dont think a flash player needs extended warrenty, considering flash drive failure rate isnt that high.

Old 03-06-2008, 08:57 AM
Banned

I never buy extended warranties. My wife always buys them. I agree that with electronics it's waste. With MP3 players and cameras I'm likely to have bought a newer/better one after the typical one-year warranty anyway. Most gear will fail right away (or within the warranty) if there is a manufacturing defect. Gear that survives a year will probably keep running until the battery leaks/dies/bursts into flames.

My wife buys the best product she can, with the extended warranty, then hopes to keep it for five or more years. It rarely works out that way, and she's never benefitted from having that extended warranty to my knowledge.

Old 03-07-2008, 12:03 AM

I work for Staples so I learned as a salesperson the flaws of the extended warranties. Now as a customer I only buy extended warranties for some items (mp3 players and headsets for instance). You just have to know how to deal with retailers whenever you're applying the warranty.

Old 03-07-2008, 03:37 PM