android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung K3 / K5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-13-2008, 01:29 PM
The Dreamix The Dreamix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you I'm going to try to reinstall another firmware but when I had the firmware 3.09 my K3 worked very well.

I'm not under warranty.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 03-23-2008, 03:22 PM
The Dreamix The Dreamix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default

I always have the same problem with the firmware 4.10 that's why I wish to return to the firmware 3.09 but the method doesn't work.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 03-23-2008, 04:48 PM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

first of all, tell me what your problem with 4.10 is, then tell me what error, or what happens when you try to go back to 3.09.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 03-23-2008, 06:19 PM
Doom1468 Doom1468 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 224
Default

Just out of curiosity, what is the difference between 3.05 and 3.09 apart from this "lock-in"? Does 3.05 have Maestro?
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 03-24-2008, 08:20 AM
The Dreamix The Dreamix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sab0o View Post
first of all, tell me what your problem with 4.10 is, then tell me what error, or what happens when you try to go back to 3.09.
I have the firmware 4.10 but every time I want to switch on my K3 I have to press at first on the reset button.

In the method, when i boot the firmware 3.05 the K3 show the Samsung logo.
Then I have to unplug then plug in the usb cable to create k3 in the workstation. At the end, i pull the USB cable out as soon as Samsung logo appears. When i switch on it, i get this error message on the screen : "No Space for DB. Please delete more than 18.0 MB".

ps : sorry for my bad english i'm french
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:28 AM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

I don't really understand what you mean but if it's asking you to delete more than 18mb, that sometimes means you have to format it.

I have thought of a different method to get back to 3.09.

1.Use tcctool to boot firmware 3.05
2.Use the automatic 3.09 updater .exe from Samsung (available @ the samsung website)

By the way could you tell me what problems you are having with firmware 4.10?
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:17 PM
mjk333 mjk333 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default

do you think this would help with my problem? i have a k3, and it freezes at start-up. i'm on OS X, so if there's anything different that i have to do because of that, please let me know.

forgot to mention: i've been trying to locate the 4.03 and 4.06 firmwares, and the links on this site aren't working. if anyone has it, it'd be awesome if you could send them my way.

Last edited by mjk333; 03-24-2008 at 12:19 PM. Reason: forgot something
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:00 PM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

It might fix your problem, it might not, only way to know is to try.

I have 4.03 but not 4.06.

I'll upload 4.03 for you:
4.03
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:50 PM
mjk333 mjk333 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks. I managed to find 4.06, but I've got a new problem now; when I try to put it into recovery mode, my computer stops detecting it as a drive.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:02 AM
The Dreamix The Dreamix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sab0o View Post
I don't really understand what you mean but if it's asking you to delete more than 18mb, that sometimes means you have to format it.

I have thought of a different method to get back to 3.09.

1.Use tcctool to boot firmware 3.05
2.Use the automatic 3.09 updater .exe from Samsung (available @ the samsung website)

By the way could you tell me what problems you are having with firmware 4.10?
I managed to put the firmware 3.09. I didn't try your method. I found a method on a French forum.
1. I put files rom and img of firmware 4.3 in the root of K3.
2. I use tcctool to boot firmware 4.3. Normally the upgrade of the version 4.3 is going to be made.
3. I put files rom and img of 3.9 in the root of K3

I wanted to return to the firmware 3.09 because I had a problem with the firmware 4.10. With the firmware 4.10, I had to press at first on the reset button to be able to switch on K3.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 03-26-2008, 10:32 AM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjk333 View Post
Thanks. I managed to find 4.06, but I've got a new problem now; when I try to put it into recovery mode, my computer stops detecting it as a drive.
Read the instructions on the first post. When in recovery mode it effectively turns into a completely new device which uses different drivers.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:40 PM
mjk333 mjk333 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default

Is there anywhere I might be able to find those drivers online? As I mentioned already, I'm on MacOSX, and so I don't know if the tcctool.exe is going to work out. Also, I've done everything possible to try to detect this device. If anyone has any advice specifically for OSX, that'd be awesome
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:40 PM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

tcctool is the only drivers I'm aware of. Do you not have access to any windows PC at all? If not I can't help you.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:28 PM
mjk333 mjk333 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Default

I do have access... the only problem is that it's about two hours away, and I was hoping to have the player ready to work again before that trip.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:32 PM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Ah... that really sucks, I feel for you man (I once had to go on a 10+ hour journey with no music for a similar reason. )
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 04-08-2008, 10:57 AM
varkomdra varkomdra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default I Need Help Really Bad

I followed the instructions exactly... using windows vista. I started with version 3.09. However, when I booted the 4.03 firmware (in recovery mode), the Samsung logo appeared and the words "transfering files" (or something to that affect appeared). It stayed like this forever, so i decided to unplug the usb. Now when I turn on the k3, it freezes on the samsung logo and then the whole screen becomes teal green. Is there anyway to complete this procedure or revert back to 3.09???
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 04-08-2008, 11:16 AM
varkomdra varkomdra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Yes I Fixed It
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 04-08-2008, 11:16 AM
varkomdra varkomdra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I don't think you can use windows vista for this cuz it freezes
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 04-09-2008, 12:48 AM
varkomdra varkomdra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I have 4 things to say/ask:
1)if i have 3.09 and i want to have 4.10... will booting to 3.05 in recovery mode first work? or does it have to be 4.03
2)if i tried this procedure and it failed and i wish to try it again, do i have to uninstall the tcc tool (i looked for the driver in device manager and it wasn't there--i have vista by the way)
3)SOMEONE TRY THIS ON VISTA AND TELL ME IF IT WORKS PLEASE
4)What are the disadvantages of 4.10?
5)It's a shame how the buttons don't change lime for the lime version or red for the red
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:46 AM
Sab0o Sab0o is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 50
Default

1) Booting to 3.05 should work, but 3.05 is MTP, so make sure you have the MTP drivers for your K3 also installed when you try it. I recommend using 4.03.
2) You shouldn't have to uninstall tcctool at all.
3) Can't help there :P
4) the only disadvantage of 4.10 is that you can't sort your songs by ID3 tags or something (not really an issue because you can just put them into folders and browse them instead)
5) Mmmmm.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
firmware, samsung

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.