android
  #1  
Old 02-03-2008, 04:50 PM
Craftplayer Craftplayer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default charge while using rockbox

I have been using rockbox for awhile now and im really loving it, the one thing that has been annoying was having to boot OF to charge the player tho.

I happened upon a solution to this problem by accident the other day. I had plugged my player in to charge as usual but my computer was on standby so it started up in rockbox and it stayed in rockbox when i brought my computer out of standby. It lists full battery power and it plays music and everything.

Nice little trick for anyone that needs it.

plug in your player while comp is in standby
start it in rockbox
start your computer and it should all work
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-03-2008, 04:54 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

It will run off USB power, but not charge. Charging is disabled in rockbox unless you've applied FS#8363 to enable it. However, as we have not yet verified that patch is safe, you do so at your own risk.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-03-2008, 05:05 PM
Craftplayer Craftplayer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

oh ok, normally it wont let me even use usb power so still a useful workaround
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-03-2008, 05:18 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

I haven't tried it in ages, but you're supposed to be able to just hold down select when plugging in USB to avoid booting into the retail firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-03-2008, 05:33 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
I haven't tried it in ages, but you're supposed to be able to just hold down select when plugging in USB to avoid booting into the retail firmware.
That works. I use it quite often.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.