android
  #1  
Old 01-12-2008, 04:31 PM
Jiiprah's Avatar
Jiiprah Jiiprah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 191
Default Wierd thing just happend

I was in the rockbox firemare and I inserted the usb cable in it and it rebooted to the Sansa OF. Is this a new feature because I tried it again and it worked, again?
__________________
The Graphics Folder: www.thegraphicsfolder.com
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-12-2008, 04:35 PM
ganny ganny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Default

That doesn't happen for me... If I plug it in, Rockbox just lights up and doesn't do anything, though it's still navigatable.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 04:37 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

...Apparently rebooting now works. I don't see any news about it though. Weird.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-12-2008, 04:47 PM
Jiiprah's Avatar
Jiiprah Jiiprah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 191
Default

keep trying it. the second time i did it it took 3 tries of plugging it in and taking it out.
__________________
The Graphics Folder: www.thegraphicsfolder.com
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-12-2008, 04:59 PM
helpme123's Avatar
helpme123 helpme123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 410
Default

it works for me :-)..unless you meant while your sansa was on running on the rockbox firmware
__________________
Player: Sansa e280 Rockboxed
Ear Phones: Sony MDREX32LPB

Music Organizer: MediaMonkey
My Last.fm
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:15 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helpme123 View Post
it works for me :-)..unless you meant while your sansa was on running on the rockbox firmware
That's what we meant. I'm wondering if it's actually a bug in my build, and the bootloader is having trouble properly booting my build. Guess we'll find out when I rebuild

EDIT: I've got a partial rebuild - only my custom patches. Try updating your copy and see if it still works.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:19 PM
Jiiprah's Avatar
Jiiprah Jiiprah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 191
Default

It shows the charging screen, in Rockbox, for a brief second then reboots into the OF.
__________________
The Graphics Folder: www.thegraphicsfolder.com
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:32 PM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

Wow Jiiprah, you have a custom Sansa, I guess it's a special edition. 500 bucks and it's mine, OK?
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:53 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiiprah View Post
It shows the charging screen, in Rockbox, for a brief second then reboots into the OF.
Can you go to System | Rockbox Info and post the Version line?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:14 PM
Jiiprah's Avatar
Jiiprah Jiiprah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 191
Default

chrisjs169-080107
__________________
The Graphics Folder: www.thegraphicsfolder.com
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:18 PM
Bam Bam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Kugel's latest build (11 January) does the same thing, so I'm assuming it's in the SVN. Plug in USB in rockbox & it reboots to OF. Kind of nice.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:20 PM
roebeet's Avatar
roebeet roebeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 266
Default

Latest Kugel build + Windows XP SP2 work PC, I get "Rockbox Media Player" hardware added to Device Manager. But, there's no XP driver and it doesn't recognize it automatically it as a drive. The last time I checked this, I'm pretty sure it showed up differently.

I'll have to check my Ubuntu home PC, when I return home.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:25 PM
Jiiprah's Avatar
Jiiprah Jiiprah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 191
Default

I'm using Ubuntu and it only recognizes the devise with the OF.
__________________
The Graphics Folder: www.thegraphicsfolder.com
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:43 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

For the record - USB in Rockbox for the Sansa is not complete yet. While it may show up as a Rockbox media player, there isn't a working driver.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:14 PM
roebeet's Avatar
roebeet roebeet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 266
Default

I just got home and tried my Ubuntu system - I get the same result as Jiiprah (reboots into the OF, if you connect the USB cable while Rockbox is running). Nice.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:29 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Rebooting to the OF never worked correctly. It seems to randomly work or not work depending on the build and when you plug in the cable. Since its hoped we won't need the OF much longer, I don't think anyone is too interested in fixing it.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:22 AM
pienose pienose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 358
Default

yeh, mine does it too using kugels build. But I'm gonna switch back to digibuild soon so I'll see if it works with that then.
__________________
pienose.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-14-2008, 09:11 PM
JCFantasy23's Avatar
JCFantasy23 JCFantasy23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 187
Default

At first mine didn't work using chrisj's build, but then one day (without updating) it started and since then always loads into the OF. This includes without pressing hold when plugging in. No clue why but no complaints here
__________________
Sansa e240 - Rockboxed
Zen V (2gb)
My Last.fm Media Monkey Fanatic
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-03-2008, 06:38 PM
derfman24 derfman24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Same Thing on Mine

The exact same thing happens on mine
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-23-2008, 03:14 PM
helpme123's Avatar
helpme123 helpme123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 410
Default

i remember i was using the rockbox firmware and i plugged it into my computer and a usb cable was on my sansa screen (ON ROCKBOX)!!!! but i don't remember if it connected to my computer
__________________
Player: Sansa e280 Rockboxed
Ear Phones: Sony MDREX32LPB

Music Organizer: MediaMonkey
My Last.fm
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.