android
  #1  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:01 PM
rrehmannf rrehmannf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: El Salvador
Posts: 5
Unhappy P2 doesn't start "No space for DB" message

Hi
I use my P2 from a Mac.
After copying some music to it the restart did not work. P2 and flashing lights come on but then ...
" No space for DB. Please delete more than 60MB." message.
Deleted 600MB. Tried to reset it 3 times!

Mounted on the desktop it shows 2.6 GB free.
I am (was) running version 2.08
What else should I do.
Remember I am on OS 10.4.11, so I am a bit scared to format it !
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:03 PM
Phoenix-X's Avatar
Phoenix-X Phoenix-X is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,027
Default

format it, that should do it
__________________
The rebel Rocker Phoenix has struck again
mp3-Samsung YP-P2(main) and an iPod Shuffle (RED) (Exercising/backup), Sansa m240 (backup of backup)
earphones-, Circuit City IEM's pretty good and at a low cost
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:24 PM
palopalo's Avatar
palopalo palopalo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Or press the Reset Hole on the back
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:30 PM
Phoenix-X's Avatar
Phoenix-X Phoenix-X is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,027
Default

he already tried resetting it 3 times, formatting will solve this, resetting only forces the P2 to shut off, its mainly useful for freezings.
__________________
The rebel Rocker Phoenix has struck again
mp3-Samsung YP-P2(main) and an iPod Shuffle (RED) (Exercising/backup), Sansa m240 (backup of backup)
earphones-, Circuit City IEM's pretty good and at a low cost
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-22-2008, 02:55 PM
rrehmannf rrehmannf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: El Salvador
Posts: 5
Smile Formating on a Pc did it

Didn't want to take a risk and formatted the disk with a PC.
New Firmware installed and all is perfect again.
THX
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-22-2008, 03:58 PM
xinzhitan14's Avatar
xinzhitan14 xinzhitan14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: +9:30GMT
Posts: 321
Default

resetting your mp3player is like resetting your pc. do it when it freezes lol, if you have a corrupt hdd or something resetting wont save you haha
__________________
Samsung YP-P2 w. Shure E2C Black
iriver Clix 2GB w. Creative EP630BK
Samsung YP-D1/T8Z w. JVC HA-FX55W
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-21-2008, 11:21 PM
yjam2000 yjam2000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default

wait, i have the same problem but if i reformat it:
a) won't that erase all my music and
b) i need it to work with mac not my pc!
what do i do?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-23-2008, 11:32 AM
Hypnorino's Avatar
Hypnorino Hypnorino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yjam2000 View Post
wait, i have the same problem but if i reformat it:
a) won't that erase all my music and
b) i need it to work with mac not my pc!
what do i do?
just format it under the disk utility in mac os x (not sure 10.4 can format in FAT? I'm running leopard). and yes, it will delete all your music, so make sure you have the originals on your mac.

I'd also upgrade the P2 to the latest firmware v5.10 if I were you.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:00 PM
xinzhitan14's Avatar
xinzhitan14 xinzhitan14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: +9:30GMT
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yjam2000 View Post
wait, i have the same problem but if i reformat it:
a) won't that erase all my music and
b) i need it to work with mac not my pc!
what do i do?
a) yes it will erase all your music, make sure you back it up
b) you need to format it as a FAT(pretty sure its FAT and not 16/32) file system. anything else will no longer work.
__________________
Samsung YP-P2 w. Shure E2C Black
iriver Clix 2GB w. Creative EP630BK
Samsung YP-D1/T8Z w. JVC HA-FX55W
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.