android
  #1  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:54 PM
patrickc patrickc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default bluetooth address error

whenever i try to access the bluetooth on my p2 a box pops up and says 'bluetooth address error'. does anyone know of a solution? thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-29-2007, 06:44 PM
Phoenix-X's Avatar
Phoenix-X Phoenix-X is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,027
Default

if you have connected it to another device, the P2 will try to connect to it immediately, and it its too far way to fully connect, the P2 may say that, but thats just my specualtion, or maybe you might've accidentally changed the P2's adress. Maybe a format will turn it back to normal.WARNING formating will erase all your files on the P2. Make sure you have backed up your files before you do this.
__________________
The rebel Rocker Phoenix has struck again
mp3-Samsung YP-P2(main) and an iPod Shuffle (RED) (Exercising/backup), Sansa m240 (backup of backup)
earphones-, Circuit City IEM's pretty good and at a low cost
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-30-2007, 05:31 AM
p2wannabe's Avatar
p2wannabe p2wannabe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default

you may also check if your p2 is turned visible and try to connect from the phone to the p2.

*ups* just figured out that you can't access bluetooth, sry. is bluetooth enabled (dark blue icon on top bar)?
__________________
always stay on the smart side - S/\MSUNG P2

Last edited by p2wannabe; 12-30-2007 at 05:33 AM. Reason: wrong help
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-30-2007, 11:54 AM
patrickc patrickc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default

no the bluetooth is not enabled, and as you mentioned i cannot even access the bluetooth
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-30-2007, 07:22 PM
crazyfred02's Avatar
crazyfred02 crazyfred02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 126
Default

I think before doing anything, you should press the reset whole located at the back close to the white sticker !Not the MIC hole!

Lemme know if that did anything
__________________
P2 FTW
Owner of YP-P2 (Main), Zen V Plus (Podcast-only 'cause of dead screen), iPod Mini 4GB (HATE it!) and Sansa m230


Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:51 AM
Utew's Avatar
Utew Utew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 793
Default

patrickc, What firmware version are you using?

Settings > System > About
__________________
Sony-Ericsson TM506 w/ 4GB M2 - Samsung YP-P2 8GB, YP-K5 4GB, YP-T9 4GB - Creative ZV:M 30GB
Sony DR-BT101 - Motorola S9 - Kilpsch Custom-2s - Sennheiser HD555 & PX100 - Audio-Technica ATH-FC7
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-01-2008, 12:49 PM
patrickc patrickc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default

i have the latest firmware and i tried reseting it but it didn't work.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-01-2008, 01:11 PM
Utew's Avatar
Utew Utew is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 793
Default

I have the ugly feeling that you're going to have to replace your player for a new one..
__________________
Sony-Ericsson TM506 w/ 4GB M2 - Samsung YP-P2 8GB, YP-K5 4GB, YP-T9 4GB - Creative ZV:M 30GB
Sony DR-BT101 - Motorola S9 - Kilpsch Custom-2s - Sennheiser HD555 & PX100 - Audio-Technica ATH-FC7
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:40 PM
Phoenix-X's Avatar
Phoenix-X Phoenix-X is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,027
Default

try formatting, it may reset the P2's address which i believe mightve accidentally been changed. or go to settings->system->default set->yes maybe that'll do it but it will set everything on your P2 to default settings, EVERYTHING, your files will be left alone, though
__________________
The rebel Rocker Phoenix has struck again
mp3-Samsung YP-P2(main) and an iPod Shuffle (RED) (Exercising/backup), Sansa m240 (backup of backup)
earphones-, Circuit City IEM's pretty good and at a low cost
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-01-2008, 03:57 PM
patrickc patrickc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default

well thanks for the help but that didn't work either, looks like im going to have to return it
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-26-2008, 09:00 AM
pedroboe pedroboe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

I am curious about how you solved the issue, as I am having the same problem. I managed to mess mine up on the same day of arrival! I updated to 2.08....
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:20 AM
lilaznkid28 lilaznkid28 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default

After reading alot of threads about the losing the MAC address on the P2, I'm hoping I can get the help of a fellow owner. I would like to ask first of all where does the file for BDADDR.txt show up on their P2, is it in the main folder or inside system. Secondly, I was wondering if anyone is willing to post or pm me their bluetooth address ie. 00166A0D120B for their P2 so I can try and get my precious P2 working again please.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-28-2008, 01:42 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

The Bluetooth address doesn't have to be unique for every P2, but you don't want to use a simple one because then it's easily hack-able. I think you can use that address you've posted lilazn, and add it to a file called BDADDR.txt and then just put it in the system folder. I've been told that works.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-20-2008, 06:21 AM
amantsch amantsch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default Help

Hi,

I'm new and I am not shure if I do right if i post here. My problem is the following: I made a firmwareupdate and now I always get the error message with is allready mentioned above.
What I allready tried:
1. reset of p2
2. reinstalled latest firmeware
3. tried to create a file BDDDR.txt and put in the bluetooth address which is in this post(is that a address?)
4. I tried the address which is on the sticker on the back of the player: 1U0PA03507B (is this a bl.th. address?) I can not make out a diffrence between Letters and numbers (o, 0).

I need your help, please.

Thank you so far.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-20-2008, 01:37 PM
mc.p2 mc.p2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Default

Check out this thread. These instructions work.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.