android
  #1  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:11 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default Does the Archos 605WiFi support gapless playback?

I am thinking of purchasing the Archos 605 WiFi. Even though it is primarily a PMP I plan to also use it for audio playback. Can it provide gapless playback?

Please advise because this will be a deal breaker for me.

And no need to advise on the SQ. This is someting I will need to decide with my own ears.

Attention mods/admins: If information on this has already been provided please provide a link and close thread.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-26-2007, 10:27 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

It should, the 604 has it
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-27-2007, 07:35 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

Thank you.
Is there anyone who can directly confirm this with the 605?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:23 AM
Wulfegang Wulfegang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

musichound,

I purchased my 605 wifi this morning and I can created a playlist with 2 songs and they pretty much played without any gaps between the audio. sounds really great and smooth but you still want to verify this with other people who own one since I am still learning how to use it.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:26 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

Thank you.
I am pretty sure you will enjoy using it because it's a great player. I think the acid test would be to play a concept album such as Dark Side Of The Moon. I plan to order the 160GB version soon.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:30 AM
Wulfegang Wulfegang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I could only afford the 30 Gb . Anyways, enjoy the player when you get it and I am going back to trying to figure out everything I can do with this thing now
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:54 AM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wulfegang View Post
I could only afford the 30 Gb . Anyways, enjoy the player when you get it and I am going back to trying to figure out everything I can do with this thing now
Well I'm HOPING I can afford the 160GB version. If not I will have to get either the 30GB or 80GB version myself.

And a big welcome to ABI.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:59 AM
Wulfegang Wulfegang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Thank you very much for the welcome!!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-28-2007, 02:05 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

stay updated on Amazon, I think they regularly have some sales on the 80GB players going as cheap as the 30GB
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:19 PM
Wulfegang Wulfegang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Dangit.....I waited a few days after Christmas just in case they would lower the price on them and just got too impatient and bit the bullet and went to Walmart. Oh well. I probably won't even fill the 30GB more or less 80. I will mainly have my music files (which may total around 10 Gig and some movies or TV shows to fill up the rest. I am not worried about them being hi-resolution or anything since I won't be connecting it to an HDTV.

So I hope they do lower the price for anyone else out there on the fence about getting one because although the UI may need a little work, it is a great piece of tech to have!!! (trust me, I traded in a 2nd gen Zune for one and am SO glad I did)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.