android
  #101  
Old 01-29-2008, 05:47 PM
crazyfred02's Avatar
crazyfred02 crazyfred02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death__machine View Post
Hey i just changed the avi to svi and it worked yay awesome quality movie is goal - the dream begins

EDIT: I feel the video lags A TEENY BIT, evry1 experience that?it is set exactly as post no.8
The lagging may be due to your original video.
I am not experincing that...
(Good to see someone who finally was able to use my advice..)
__________________
P2 FTW
Owner of YP-P2 (Main), Zen V Plus (Podcast-only 'cause of dead screen), iPod Mini 4GB (HATE it!) and Sansa m230


Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #102  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:03 PM
lukeswits lukeswits is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default

weird. why is it that when i encode i get a bigger file, when the original has a bigger screen resolution?
Reply With Quote

  #103  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:12 PM
lukeswits lukeswits is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default

ugh! what the hell? now everytime i try to encode a movie it says the yp p2 doesnt support the format. i checked the file, its svi, i used media encoder plus the extension and everytime i encode a video i always revert to default settings. its weird, videos that i did before work fine, but now the ones i encoded today dont work at all.
Reply With Quote

  #104  
Old 01-29-2008, 10:35 PM
BestofWest BestofWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 223
Default

Thats what keeps happening to me.
__________________
LOADING PLEASE WAIT...
Reply With Quote

  #105  
Old 01-30-2008, 08:06 AM
lukeswits lukeswits is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default

yeah it seems like its something with the p2? i put the settings to xvid, and i can play the svi file on my computer no problem. maybe you have to factory reset and redo the update?
Reply With Quote

  #106  
Old 01-31-2008, 12:43 AM
P2 Man P2 Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Renton
Posts: 166
Default

in the new version i think they took out the extention for the P2, but you can still manually change it.
__________________
P2 Man
Reply With Quote

  #107  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:04 PM
thedeadliving5 thedeadliving5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Trouble with Video

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyfred02 View Post
Use MediaCoder to transcode your movies to XviD Format. Download it at http://mediacoder.sourceforge.net

Once you have it installed, click the extensions button and select the "Samsung YP-P2" in the list of Options for Portable Media Players. Add your files using the Add Button and then press preview in the extension window to ensure they will work. If they do, press start and wait. If it saves it with an .svi extension instead of .avi, then you know you've done it correctly.


Edit: I changed the original post because it was confusing EVERYONE. -Sassafras
Do I use dvd decrypter to get my dvd into .vob files? And is there a specific way to use decrypter to work for P2?
Reply With Quote

  #108  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:15 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Thedeadliving, Follow this guide instead...

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=25009
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #109  
Old 02-17-2008, 03:42 AM
ZiLT ZiLT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Default

I finally installed and messed with MediaCoder for movies, all I can say is, I will be uninstalling all other programs that I was currently using.... MediaCoder is the Sh*t for creating movies for the P2.... Thanks you!!!
Reply With Quote

  #110  
Old 02-20-2008, 12:59 PM
StylishP2 StylishP2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8
Default

So is Mediacoder the best converter for the P2? Cause I only have my P2 for one day hehe and I downloaded Badak to convert movies. It works, but is Mediacoder better? Because the movie converted with Badak seems to have a slow framerate...I loaded the P2 preset which is 30 fps. But when the camera moves too fast the whole screen blurs...
So should i just use Mediacoder instead? And what is the output file for mediacoder? xvid? does the P2 support this?
Reply With Quote

  #111  
Old 02-20-2008, 09:24 PM
Anselh Anselh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 26
Default

why does the size doubled if we use mediacoder??
=O i did everyhing right and converted to mpeg-4(xvid) 30 fps 600 kbps (video)
but it says file not suported on p2 and yes the file is .svi
Reply With Quote

  #112  
Old 02-29-2008, 07:02 PM
jace_1-4lyfe jace_1-4lyfe is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Us
Posts: 229
Default

do i need to disable b frames because i think thats where the problem is, um iwent to format but i couldnt disable it, it opens a page in mozilla firefox
Reply With Quote

  #113  
Old 03-06-2008, 05:10 PM
JCFleiScH JCFleiScH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

I just downloaded MediCoder and it works, but randomly. Sometimes y does encode my vids to .svi, ando other times it just leaves it as .avi. Im using the p2 extension and all, but cant get it to work. I do the followin, dunno whats wrong:
1.Start MC
2. Add File
3.open Extension and choose de P2 one (when i do this, the video settings on the MC change FOMAT: h.264, CONTAINER Mp4 or sometimes .avi)

4.Start the encoding from the P2 mini page
5. I get an unworkable file

PLZ HELP
Reply With Quote

  #114  
Old 03-10-2008, 12:14 AM
JCFleiScH JCFleiScH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

I managed to make it work. I found that de MC p2 extension works some times, so i just saved the settings as a preset and now it works everytime.
Reply With Quote

  #115  
Old 03-16-2008, 04:15 PM
nothingfun nothingfun is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Hey, Does anyone here know how to use the cropping thing for mediacoder? Becuase if I use samsung media studio it crops it perfectly and nothing it streched but when I use media coder the videos are steched even if I change the crop settings to fit height it still doesn't do anything. Of is the preview like that and it does crop it?
Reply With Quote

  #116  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:09 PM
Onicrux Onicrux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Hmm, I seem to have a problem with this. I did exactly as the "instructions" said, but in the end it just says "File format not supported". Even though I see the file as .svi and the transcoding finished, and a second file pops out as .svi format, it still says not supported, I also tried it with multiple files. All files were .avi , don't think that matters though ..

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote

  #117  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:27 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Make sure to set XviD as the encoding method of choice, not DivX. Also, make sure your audio is 128 kbps.
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #118  
Old 03-19-2008, 11:32 PM
Onicrux Onicrux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Both have been like that for every file that I've tried, no luck.
Reply With Quote

  #119  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:41 AM
TickledBrain TickledBrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default

Hello, I noticed something else here. Media Coder chooses the H.264 as the video format. You HAVE to change the format to Xvid after selecting the P2 Preset. NOT WHERE THE PICTURE IS, but at the main menu where you see the tabs Audio, Video, Muxer, Picture, Time, etc. After doing this your player should not have a problem recognizing the video file.

Now, the only problem I'm having is with audio sync. I'm trying to do this with Forrest Gump and unfortunately I can't get perfect sync. If anyone has any advice for this then please help. So far I get a pretty bearable result with some audio time adjustment, but of course this doesn't work from beginning to absolute end. I really hope Samsung takes the smart path and adds more codecs to their player's firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #120  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:20 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

If you had a properly encoded source, you would likely have no problems. The frustration that you have arises when you start trying to transcode badly encoded avi's with weird audio interlaces or vbr or the like. My advice to you, is if you have the source DVD, start from the beginning using my guide, and avoid your encode.

http://www.broken-links.net/p2guide/
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.