android
  #21  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:13 PM
Szzapper2's Avatar
Szzapper2 Szzapper2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 139
Default

Media coder and all the things i have tried (since i updated the firmware from BB to FR it will not play WMV files and i need to convert them to make them work) make the file size huge. i converted a 900 megabyte video from WMV to AVI and i got 20% through and it was already 2.08 GB! HUGE!!!
__________________
Let The JaMz Roll Out...
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 01-04-2008, 07:35 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Where did it say 2.08 GB? Was it in the progress bar in MediaCoder that said "Raw Video Data?"

If so, that is the size of the uncompressed stream, which granted, will be huge because it's the lossless version of the signal before recompression. It's going to be huge because it's before any compression. Let it finish and look at the actual file size.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 01-05-2008, 12:58 AM
P2 Man P2 Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Renton
Posts: 166
Default

How do you RIP the DVD to an Avi file? or any other non VTS file?
__________________
P2 Man
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:37 AM
Poshi Poshi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Szzapper2 View Post
Media coder and all the things i have tried (since i updated the firmware from BB to FR it will not play WMV files and i need to convert them to make them work) make the file size huge. i converted a 900 megabyte video from WMV to AVI and i got 20% through and it was already 2.08 GB! HUGE!!!
Check the final video size. As sassafras said, probably it is the uncompressed stream size.
Anyway, if you want a smaller file, reduce the bitrate. There's no more. If you tell the program that you want 1Mb per second, each second will need 1Mb. If you need a smaller file, ask the program for less than 1Mb per second. The quality will be worse, but the file will be smaller.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:02 AM
Xcessiv Xcessiv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sassafras View Post
If you use the newest version of MediaCoder (Currently 0.6.0 Build 3999) and go to the extensions, there is a built in P2 extension that takes all the work out of the process for you. You simply tell it what bitrates you want and whether you want XviD (yes) or DivX (avoid) and press start. It even saves it as an .svi so you don't have to change the filename.

I love MediaCoder
Which parameter did you set on the Extension screen? I tried it w/ the latest firmware and when I play the file, there's a "File type not supported" error message.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:24 AM
Xcessiv Xcessiv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Now it works, don't know why! Very nice!
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 01-05-2008, 05:30 PM
big_doublet big_doublet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Hi do any of you guys have any motion blur when u are playing videos on ur p2?
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:19 PM
DaddySasquatch DaddySasquatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default Help. Sync problem

I just did my first conversion with Media Coder using the suggested settings and the audio did not sync up with the video. Audio is several seconds late. I used an algorithm quality of 2 and video frames at 30. Any suggestions on changes for my next test?
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 01-05-2008, 11:10 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Just use the extension. You have to resample the audio. If you don't resample it (preferably at 44100 Hz) the encoder leaves the audio at the original framerate which no longer syncs with the video. Try that.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 01-06-2008, 08:46 PM
DaddySasquatch DaddySasquatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default OH Snap!

Worked like a charm. I noticed there is even a tab for adding subtitles and since I have a ton of Hong Kong subtitled avi files I will be testing that feature next. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 01-06-2008, 10:54 PM
crazyfred02's Avatar
crazyfred02 crazyfred02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 126
Default

I tried the extension in the latest version of MediaCoder and I find it great.
For people who dont know much about video its great but for people who want to tweak the settings to the max, its not the best. You have way more freedom in settings (bitrate for audio, video etc...) if you use a preset or build one yourself.
Congrats to the person who built the extension, itll make the lives of many people easier in converting video
__________________
P2 FTW
Owner of YP-P2 (Main), Zen V Plus (Podcast-only 'cause of dead screen), iPod Mini 4GB (HATE it!) and Sansa m230


Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 01-07-2008, 02:43 PM
Soaa Soaa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 251
Default

Hmm... I tried MediaCoder, it just stalls when I convert something. Maybe it doesn't like FLVs?
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 01-07-2008, 02:45 PM
crazyfred02's Avatar
crazyfred02 crazyfred02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soaa View Post
Hmm... I tried MediaCoder, it just stalls when I convert something. Maybe it doesn't like FLVs?
They fixed .flv problems in the new versions
__________________
P2 FTW
Owner of YP-P2 (Main), Zen V Plus (Podcast-only 'cause of dead screen), iPod Mini 4GB (HATE it!) and Sansa m230


Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 01-07-2008, 02:57 PM
Soaa Soaa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 251
Default

Odd, I think I have the latest? Or I should get an extra codec pack?
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 01-07-2008, 07:21 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Quote:
I tried the extension in the latest version of MediaCoder and I find it great.
For people who dont know much about video its great but for people who want to tweak the settings to the max, its not the best. You have way more freedom in settings (bitrate for audio, video etc...) if you use a preset or build one yourself.
Congrats to the person who built the extension, itll make the lives of many people easier in converting video
I agree. I love the extension because it's essentially a medium-high quality oneclick solution to put video reliably on your P2. I wasn't saying it was the best option. Hell, as much as I tout the MediaCoder extension I never use it to convert video for my P2. I use AviSynth and VDub, which if even know what they are, you probably aren't on here asking how to convert video for the P2

Quote:
Odd, I think I have the latest? Or I should get an extra codec pack?
You should make sure you have a .FLV decoder codec pacl. You have to understand that .FLV is just a container like AVI or MKV. Most likely the video in the .FLV is encoded with VP6 codec. If you don't have a VP6 decoder, you won't be able to open it to re-encode it. Does your .flv play in Media Player Classic (A DirectShow player)? If not, get the VP6 decoder.
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 01-07-2008, 07:59 PM
Soaa Soaa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 251
Default

VirtualDub can't convert Youtube videos though, no?

Oh, and MediaCoder says the video is encoded in FLV1. When I try to play it in MediaCoder, the audio plays, but the video stays black.
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:10 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

Make sure you have ffdshow (decodes FLV1).

VirtualDub can encode anything that AviSynth will load because you can load .avs files right into it.
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:45 PM
Soaa Soaa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 251
Default

I just got the CCCP, for my MKV transcoding needs. I guess I'll stick to SUPER (+ DirectShow) for my conversions.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:21 PM
quickvid quickvid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyfred02 View Post
Congrats to the person who built the extension, itll make the lives of many people easier in converting video
Thanks! 'Twas me. Stanley did a great job on MediaCoder, and I couldn't resist using his extension framework to build an extension for the P2.

Even with the current limitations for the video on the P2 (e.g. hobbled AVI format - 480x272, .svi extension, etc), it was a breeze to make. I hope the next P2 firmware versions allow standard .avi files and a wider range of resolutions.

I tried to add WMV support, but Stanley was saying that he finds the WMV API a bit of a pain to work with. If anyone has any tips, let me know and I'll include it in the extension.

Now what I REALLY want to know is:

Offset 00013ba0h in V2.08 YPP2.rom of 12/20/07 contains "TV Out Mode"

I just wonder what we can expect out of the P2? Are they going to have a TV Out connection from a dongle? Or is the current headphone connector a triple output which they may let us know later that we can hook up to our TV?

I also see a lot of other things in the firmware that aren't currently available like: copy, delete, formatting and other goodies. There even looks like some way to set MTP/UMS mode in the firmware (without having to reload the firmware). Anyone else see these things?

Enjoy your P2.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:29 PM
Soaa Soaa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 251
Default

What I'm really interested in is reverse engineering of the firmware itself. If you can read plain text, it probably isn't encrypted. It also seems to be Linux based, like some other Samsung players... If the source code is released, I would certainly be pleased.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.