android
Old 11-17-2007, 05:34 AM

Smile Beginners Step by Step to UN-Brick Sansa

I am writing this guide as i feel it could help a few people who was like me, unsure, lost in all those text and technical notes on how to fix a bricked sansa using the e200tool.

Please understand that I am a noob in all tweaks and hacks, so it is obvious that you use the information I detailed only as a advice. I do not accept any responsibly for harmful advice I give on this forum, I trust you not to be an idiot. Please know the information is based on the method that I took, and may not match the process set by Mr.H or other posters on this forum. Its my first post trying to help people. USE IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!

I Write the process in lay man’s term, so its easy to understand, here it goes:

What you need:
1. A Bricked Sansa

2. A computer with a fully working USB port keyboard mouse (Easy)

3. 3 files to download mostly from nice poster on this forum: http://chrisjs.com/?page_id=57
A) PP5022.mi4
B) BL_SD_boardSupportSD.rom
C) The e200tool (get the complied version, http://daniel.haxx.se/sansa/e200tool/e200tool)

D) Optional (recommend it): sansa.fmt (it will format the drive when it boots, It removes other stuff that you might have on your sansa which may cause it not to boot. This file will force the sansa to format and clean your sansa memory.
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=11233

if you use this option, file A and B can be replace from download above, otherwise, we only need the fmt file from that link.

4. Ubuntu Live CD, I think all version will work. I used version 6.10. just get one from: http://www.ubuntu.com/ you need to burn the ISO onto a CD, should be easy to do. EASY.

What to do:
  • Burn a working Copy of Ubuntu on CD, using Nero or whatever you use.
  • Copy the 3 files listed above (and the optional one if u want to overkill the process) on to a USB drive or something similar.