android
  #1  
Old 10-22-2007, 10:57 AM
americasfuture2k americasfuture2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default listen to radio on computer through SE?

RADIO, NOT RADION. MY BAD. TYPO......

i am wanting to use my express as a fm tuner. but to be played and controlled through the computer. is there any suck program that someone has written to work like this?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:16 AM
FURR's Avatar
FURR FURR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 531
Default

i don't think this can be done sorry.
__________________
S9 16GB Chrome
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-24-2007, 10:05 PM
Ngtflyer Ngtflyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5
Default Technically you could...

But not through the USB connection.

If you are wanting to record broadcast on your computer, run a 1/8" stereo male to male cable from the headphone output of your Express into the LINE-IN jack of your computer. (Some laptops do not have a line-in). Adjust volume on the Express to about 3/4 so it doesn't clip and record using your favorite application. Or just listen through your computer's speakers.

Alternately, some speakers have secondary line-in connections. You could connect the Express to that and listen if your speakers are so equipped.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-25-2007, 08:14 AM
Peyotero Peyotero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default

Yes it can be done. Even if you don't have a Line-In, plug the Express to the microphone jack.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-02-2008, 12:36 AM
Ngtflyer Ngtflyer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peyotero View Post
Yes it can be done. Even if you don't have a Line-In, plug the Express to the microphone jack.
Correct, but there is a condition for this. Microphone input levels are much lower, so as long as your soundcard or onboard sound detects the presence of a line level signal, you are good. Some are fixed at the very low dba input of a microphone which can cause excessive clipping. Experimentation is key.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-01-2008, 11:15 AM
americasfuture2k americasfuture2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

i dont want to record anything from the radio. i want to use my express as a tuner for my carputer.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-01-2008, 11:30 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

No, it's certainly not possible to control the Sansa from the computer. Just get a cheap USB FM tuner stick, something like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/Digitus-USB-FM-T...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.