android
  #1  
Old 09-20-2007, 10:30 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Exclamation RockBox messed up my player

I downloaded Rockbox, just as i've been told 2, a day ago and did it like the websitr told me. Turned it on to day and messed with keys, hitting left. Now, according to the rockbox website this does something with the firmware, but all its done for me is show sum player infomation and stop my player from working. Even if i plug it into a computer it doesnt work. MAybe if any1 knows of a way of getting past this or a reset button sumwhere on the player?
thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-20-2007, 10:56 AM
Reggie Reggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 63
Default

Could you describe the error in more detail? post the error message and/or the player information that it shows you before it shuts down, without this information its hard to say exactly what is happening with your sansa.

Has rockbox ever worked for you? if so then, if anything is corrupted in rockbox you will probably need to read one of the rockbox troubleshooting docs or you will need to follow one of the recovery FAQs for the e200 series (stickied somewhere I believe).

is the hold button set to on (orange showing) when you try and boot the device? Unless you want recovery mode then this needs to be set to off (no orange showing).

Also, to boot to the original Sandisk firmware make sure the player is off, press and hold down the left button, then whilst continuing to hold the left button press the power button to start the sansa, you should see the sandisk logo, it will then turn white, then the rockbox bootloader (black screen, white text, let go of the left button now ) the screen should white out, then you will see the sandisk logo again for a couple of seconds then it should go straight to the sandisks original main menu.
__________________
____________

Cya, Reggie...
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:32 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

I think i may have only touched the left, not held it down. The sansa logo comes up, then the display goes black with white text, says 'rockbox boot loader' then sm numbers, next significant thing is 'loading origional firmware' then some othr stuff, then it says its calculating something. At this point the words start to pixilate and go black while the screen goes white. Finally everything sorta dims down to black.
btw it has worked for me ye
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:42 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

FECK
Now it wont even turn on wen its unplugged from the computer. Because it has Rockbox on, does that void the warrenty?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-20-2007, 12:27 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gebal View Post
FECK
Now it wont even turn on wen its unplugged from the computer. Because it has Rockbox on, does that void the warrenty?
What happens when you try to power on?

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-20-2007, 02:08 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Could you explain what you actually did?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-20-2007, 02:30 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Uslly mst ppl prefr that u use complete words. In addition, it'd also help if we knew some information about your player - what model is it, an e200 or an e200R? What site did you get this howto from? What exactly does the bootloader say?

Quote:
next significant thing is 'loading origional firmware' then some othr stuff, then it says its calculating something
For the most part, that's usually what it says when you try to boot to the OF. What other significant information does it say? (if you answered the "What exactly does the bootloader say" question, you may skip this one)

Quote:

Now it wont even turn on wen its unplugged from the computer. Because it has Rockbox on, does that void the warrenty?
Unless you held power for 15 seconds to do a hardware poweroff, I could bet money that you simply let the battery run down until it died. It's possible that could make it harder to recover your sansa, but I doubt it. As for the warranty, it does technically void it, but if you give us the information we need (see this post, and the last three or so) we can fix your player so you won't need to RMA it.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-21-2007, 03:53 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

It seems to have fixed itsself over night, the battery ran right down, and now ive charged it. But it still doesnt register on the computer and i cant find where to put it onto MSC mode on the (original)rockbox theme.
All i want to do is just put it back to the sansa firmware!!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-21-2007, 05:13 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

heres a picture of what the screen says if u try to boot the origional firmware
and there should b a video as well
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo-0027.jpg (77.6 KB, 120 views)
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-21-2007, 05:34 AM
CyberCitizen's Avatar
CyberCitizen CyberCitizen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Thats a normal boot loader screen. Once you installed the boot loader did you actually copy rockbox over to your player eg the folder called ".rockbox"

If you didn't do this rockbox is unable to load the firmware. You can hold down the left arrow button when you turn it on & keep holding it until you get past that screen, that should then load the original firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-21-2007, 07:57 AM
Reggie Reggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 63
Default

Actually CyberCitizen, if you look closely at line 6 you will see:
Loading original firmware

If you see that screen then you have held down the left button long enough for it to attempt to boot the original firmware, the next few lines are confirmation of size of firmware files (not sure what BL means yet, but OF = Original Firmware I think) and some CRCs to check whether the files are valid or not.

Update**:
Gebal, you might want to take a look at the rockbox forums, there is a similar thread with a few people reporting a problem, with possible fixes, might be worth your while posting there or at least reading the thread
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?topic=12762.0
__________________
____________

Cya, Reggie...
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:03 PM
frank828 frank828 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

this is jacked up

i'm having the same issues. i cant get back into the original firmware. I just got my e280 today and installed rockbox and when i try to get into the original firmware, its goes through all the checks then the screen fades out and then nothing but the blue light. WTH

i went into recovery mode and tried to run the patcher again to uninstall and the patcher now doesnt recognize the device.

The rockbox forums seem to be down too. THIS IS JACKED UP! Damn i regret trying to put this program on. ARGH
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:06 PM
theskysfalng theskysfalng is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

i am having the same problems. I see the video, and can't back to the OF.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:06 PM
theskysfalng theskysfalng is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I have no idea what to do.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:48 PM
Unforgiven Unforgiven is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I'd go check this thread out:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=16197
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=13521

It'll allow you to go back to the original boot/OF.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:48 PM
frank828 frank828 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

im gonna try this http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=11233

i hope i dont jack things up more

argh i hate rockbox
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-22-2007, 05:55 PM
Mescalero's Avatar
Mescalero Mescalero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unforgiven View Post
I'd go check this thread out:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=16197
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=13521

It'll allow you to go back to the original boot/OF.
This worked like a champ for me. Man was I sweating.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:11 PM
frank828 frank828 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

worked for me too

im not installing rockbox again ugh
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:27 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

All you need to do is use an old version of Sansapatcher/the bootloader to fix it....
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-22-2007, 07:25 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default Older Bootloader

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
All you need to do is use an old version of Sansapatcher/the bootloader to fix it....
I have older bootloaders located here:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...&postcount=809


Please follow the instructions in the README file in the package.

Charles
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.