android
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 08:42 AM
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander's Avatar
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,283
Default YP-Z5 Firmware V2.51

Direct download of v2.51. This firmware certainly took me by surprise, I think most of us didn't believe Samsung would release another firmware. I haven't had a chance to install it yet so there could be a few new additions, but this will add a text viewer function to display .txt files.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:33 AM
Don Galleto Don Galleto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default I have just upgraded

Upgrade went smoothly and fast. I copied a text file. It adds "Text Files" in the main menu. You click that and then it shows "(Text Files)", click that and then it gives you a list of your text files. Click on it and it displays text.
Finally!

Thanks for sharing the link.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:54 AM
Don Galleto Don Galleto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Default

And you can hear music while reading text files. So you can view your lyrics while hearing a song.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:40 PM
Tartan's Avatar
Tartan Tartan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35
Default

wow. It's been so long I've forgotten how to put the firmware on my player. Any help please?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-10-2007, 05:58 PM
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander's Avatar
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,283
Default

Firmware installation instructions from Samsung.com:

Quote:
- The update requires at least 50MBs of free space on the Z5. The battery should be fully charged.

- When connected in MTP mode, copy the file Z5Update.dat to the Data directory of the device,
disconnect and follow the on-screen instructions.
(*) WMP11 user should copy the file on the root directory
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-10-2007, 07:38 PM
DeusEx's Avatar
DeusEx DeusEx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 125
Default

I downloaded firmware, c/ped it intothe z5, unplugged it, pressedupgrade, but the screen blacks out, I wait for a minute, and I have to restart it again - upgrade in progress....then failed.....?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:57 PM
Tartan's Avatar
Tartan Tartan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Ummmm... well it won't let me paste the file, it will let me paste the folder, but not the file. And even then, when I disconnect, it just goes as normal.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-11-2007, 05:32 PM
NobeyamaGP NobeyamaGP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Try connecting in UMS mode and make sure you have sufficient space on your Z5.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-11-2007, 06:24 PM
DeusEx's Avatar
DeusEx DeusEx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 125
Default

Oh yeah - I have a Yp-z5fzb


this update still work?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:49 AM
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander's Avatar
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
Ummmm... well it won't let me paste the file, it will let me paste the folder, but not the file. And even then, when I disconnect, it just goes as normal.
As suggested by NobeyamaGP, make sure you follow all steps posted above and try connecting in UMS as well as unzipping the file before transferring it, which could make a difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusEx View Post
Oh yeah - I have a Yp-z5fzb


this update still work?
This update will work for any Z5, so I suggest you try again making sure you follow each step above.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:10 PM
Torii Torii is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Alright, new firmware, awesome. (:

Thanks for posting it up, I wouldn't have bothered to check the site for firmware cause I thought they had thrown the whole Z5 idea away~
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:42 PM
Slaughthammer Slaughthammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

what am i supposed to do with the downloaded file "YP-Z5F_2.51[20070910152800].exe" ? i copied it to the root directory of my z5, but nothing happens... the other firmware updated were .dat-files. is there anything i have to do with the .exe-file before i can upgrade?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:55 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Page

Isn't it a self-extracting ZIP file? Try running it on your computer.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:58 PM
Slaughthammer Slaughthammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

allreay tried... it just opens a cmd-window that closes after a while. no text appearing.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:03 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Page

Do you have the link for the original file? Mind posting it?
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:07 PM
Slaughthammer Slaughthammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

look in the start post... just got that link.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:10 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Page

It's not an .EXE file, but a .ZIP file. Don't know why you're getting it as .EXE. Try renaming it to .ZIP and opening it in Windows Explorer.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:15 PM
Slaughthammer Slaughthammer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default

hmm... was a problem with opera. when downloading with IE i get a zipfile as well... thx for fast reply
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:18 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Smile

Not at all!
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-16-2007, 12:08 PM
lolap lolap is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default

You can now also remove songs from your Mobile Playlist
that is great!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.