android
  #1  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:34 PM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default Why does 8Gig E280R only have 6Gig available?

Hello all,

Just got a new E280R and so far so good. My only issue is available space. I have deleted all the example pic, audio and music files that came on it, leaving only the directory tree. My sole use for this is as an mp3 player in my car, so I want all available space for music files.

When I do a properties (in windows explorer) on the PPI NAND directory (appears to be the unit root directory) it shows used space as 2,044,358,656 and free space as 5,953,684,5087.

Is this normal? Does the "system" take up this much of the units memory? Or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance for any insight you can provide.

Mike V
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:56 PM
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander's Avatar
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,283
Default

The total amount of writeable space is used space is the used space + free space, 7.997GB. If you would like to remove the 2GB or so of used space and completely clear the memory then format the device in My Computer (right click on device, format, ensuring that FAT32 is selected).
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-05-2007, 11:06 PM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default Why does 8Gig E280R only have 6Gig available?

Thanks for the very quick reply.

I actually tried this. I could not get to format on the device itself, but one step below on the PPI NAND directory. But when I did a format there, it left all the sub directories and still had the same amount of used space. Any idea of what I am doing wrong?

And, if I do get it to work the way you have stated, what will I lose by freeing up that 2Gig?

Thanks again.

Mike V

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander View Post
The total amount of writeable space is used space is the used space + free space, 7.997GB. If you would like to remove the 2GB or so of used space and completely clear the memory then format the device in My Computer (right click on device, format, ensuring that FAT32 is selected).
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-05-2007, 11:37 PM
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander's Avatar
Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V View Post
And, if I do get it to work the way you have stated, what will I lose by freeing up that 2Gig?
I would assume that a file corruption has left a section of 'used' space, which remains even after deleting the contents of the drive, and that a format can remove this so that the space is usable once more...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V View Post
Any idea of what I am doing wrong?
No actually, maybe this is a problem someone with an e200 will know more about though.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-06-2007, 12:11 AM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default Why does 8Gig E280R only have 6Gig available?

Thanks again for your assistance. I'll keep trying.

Mike V
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-06-2007, 12:15 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

There is 2GB of Rhapsody Channels on the player.

Edit: It is not file corruption that caused it.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-06-2007, 12:25 AM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Is there a way to remove them? I do not intend to use Rhapsody and would rather have the space for music files? Or do I need to return it and get a non-R model?

Thanks for your help.

Mike V
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-06-2007, 01:12 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Your player needs to be in Rhapsody mode and you need to unhide hidden files and folders. Look in the System folder on the player and then Music folder. You will see a lot of RAX files. You can just delete all that Music folder that is inside of the System folder.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-06-2007, 03:10 AM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks. It worked, somewhat. It now shows 3.99G space used and 3.46 space free. But, I have only loaded 2.65G of music files. Something is still taking up quite a bit of space.

The way I understand it, there are total 7.44G available. With 2.65 in loaded music files and the system saying there are 3.99G of used space and 3.45G of unused space, that leaves 1.35G of spaced used by something. Is this normal for this unit and is it now at maximum available space? Any ideas?
Mike V
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-06-2007, 03:46 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

There is a movie and a few photos on it, too.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-06-2007, 03:55 AM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

First, let me say how much I appreciate your help tonight.

Now, I have deleted just about everything except the directory tree which has nothing in it and the System directory with its subdirectories and it totals 33.1M.

I guess my question is does this unit use about 1.35G for its operation that is not available to the user? and if so, does the non-R E280 do the same, or would it all be available? If so, it would be woth returning this and getting a non-R unit to gain an additional 1.35G of space.

What are your thoughts on this?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:00 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Did you delete the stuff in the Photos folder and Video folder on the root of the player? The photos are BMPs and the videos are converted to a large file size. I do not remember how big they are tho.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:11 AM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Yes. I have cleaned it up pretty well. the only thing I can see is the 2.65G of music files I put on and 33.1M in the system directory. This would make about 2.66 or 2.67G that I can see on the unit, but it says that there are 3.99G used. This is leaving about 1.35G unaccounted for, and this is what I am trying to figure out. If it has to do with this being an R model, I think it will go back. But, if this is what any e280 would use as internal resources, I will keep what I have. I just clearly do not have the ability to figure it out.

But, I have 30 days to try and figure it out, so I will keep looking.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:21 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Try going into Recovery mode and put a blank file called "sansa.fmt" because this will reformat the whole player. You will loose the songs you had put on there, but I will know it is not anything hidden in a different location on the player. I have the Sansa e280R, too. The system is taking only about 2MB on my player.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:50 AM
Mike V Mike V is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default

This appears to have worked. I now have almost the entire 8G available for music. As a side note, when I plug the unit into the computer it no longer recognizes it as an E280 but now it is just a removable disk (F, but this is not an issue considering it freed up all the memory for what I want there.

Thank you very much for your help. I hope it is not almost 6 in the am where you are. Time to get some rest.

Thanks again.

Mike V.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-06-2007, 04:57 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Glad to help. It is like 5AM where I am at.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 10-01-2007, 05:03 PM
kennyj kennyj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 303
Default

Normally you can just format in Rhapsody mode using the steps described in the 2nd post of this thread. You should only need to resort to using a Sansa.FMT file in Recovery Mode if the player can't boot at all.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-10-2009, 11:10 PM
hilinda hilinda is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

If it has to do with this being an R model, I think it will go back. But, if this is what any e280 would use as internal resources, I will keep what I have. I just clearly do not have the ability to figure it out.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.