android
  #21  
Old 09-01-2007, 04:58 PM
crazyeye crazyeye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Yeah i'm no programer, i just have alot of computer knowledge.

I notice whenever I plug in e200r rhapsody updates the firmwire (it asks) so I assume it must know the directory to the bootloader. Is this possible?
__________________
I got jumped by some black people and they jacked my Sansa, fags.

I'll still be active =]

I promise.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:11 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Directories are things in a file system. Theres no file system here. Its just bytes in a ROM.

And no, the rhapsody software does not update the boot loader as far as I know, and I can think of no reason to think it knows anything more about it then we do.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:34 PM
crazyeye crazyeye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

hmm, then where can it be =S
__________________
I got jumped by some black people and they jacked my Sansa, fags.

I'll still be active =]

I promise.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 09-01-2007, 08:22 PM
Guymann Guymann is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 56
Default

We need something to scan the entire disk, and ignore file-system properties, and any other attributes (i. e. hidden, write protected). Then we may be able to find what we're looking for.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 09-01-2007, 09:00 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga
Theres no file system here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guymann View Post
We need something to scan the entire disk, and ignore file-system properties, and any other attributes (i. e. hidden, write protected). Then we may be able to find what we're looking for.
If you're going to try and give advice, at least read the thread.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 09-01-2007, 10:13 PM
USS Sovereign NCC-73811's Avatar
USS Sovereign NCC-73811 USS Sovereign NCC-73811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Starfleet Academy, San Francisco
Posts: 256
Default

Crazyeye, glad to see you're hard at work. What have you tried so far?
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 09-01-2007, 10:25 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyeye View Post
I notice whenever I plug in e200r rhapsody updates the firmwire (it asks) so I assume it must know the directory to the bootloader. Is this possible?
It most likely just reads the VERSION.TXT file that's on the Sansa. You could always do some sort of USB dump and see what exactly it does.

Quote:
hmm, then where can it be =S
I think that's what we're all trying to figure out
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 09-01-2007, 11:02 PM
USS Sovereign NCC-73811's Avatar
USS Sovereign NCC-73811 USS Sovereign NCC-73811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Starfleet Academy, San Francisco
Posts: 256
Default

USB Dump? Forgive me for a juvenile question but what is that?

UPDATE: I'm running e200tool on WIndows with its binary, but even though I've installed drivers for it, it cannot be detected!
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 09-02-2007, 09:52 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Although the code compiles for Windows, I think e200tool has to be run from linux.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 09-02-2007, 05:47 PM
Guymann Guymann is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 56
Default

You need libusb for it to work under Windows. But even if you do get everything all set, there's still only a 30% chance that it might work.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:22 PM
crazyeye crazyeye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USS Sovereign NCC-73811 View Post
Crazyeye, glad to see you're hard at work. What have you tried so far?
I've tried a entire format of the entire MP3 player, and just alot of random crap that failed, I even tried norton partition magic to see if it could magically find the hidden partition, but norton didn't pick up the player.


Maybe flashing the device?

^^^ i'm not to sure what that means but I heard that u can get into any part of the device and just erase everyhting and have it still recognize on computer so u can add files -edit
__________________
I got jumped by some black people and they jacked my Sansa, fags.

I'll still be active =]

I promise.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 09-02-2007, 10:07 PM
USS Sovereign NCC-73811's Avatar
USS Sovereign NCC-73811 USS Sovereign NCC-73811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Starfleet Academy, San Francisco
Posts: 256
Default

It's good to see the project going again. I need to figure out how to run the e200tool on Linux now! How do I get it running? Hint: I'm bad at Linux commands.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 09-03-2007, 10:49 AM
crazyeye crazyeye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

i'm going to install linux, learn the commands and try to run it too. I'm going to use Ubuntu
__________________
I got jumped by some black people and they jacked my Sansa, fags.

I'll still be active =]

I promise.
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:52 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

I feel bad for you....I just turned my e200 into an R series (with bootloader) and back. It wasn't that hard either - I got to be a lab rat to see if the modified R bootloader would boot Rockbox - and sadly, it didn't. Regardless, I was able to do a complete switch, and was also able to confirm that it is possible to convert the R series back into the non R, even if you are using the R bootloader. So much for very, very, very impossible...

Last edited by chrisjs162216; 09-03-2007 at 11:59 AM. Reason: forgot a very
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 09-03-2007, 12:02 PM
crazyeye crazyeye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I feel bad for you....I just turned my e200 into an R series (with bootloader) and back. It wasn't that hard either - I got to be a lab rat to see if the modified R bootloader would boot Rockbox - and sadly, it didn't. Regardless, I was able to do a complete switch, and was also able to confirm that it is possible to convert the R series back into the non R, even if you are using the R bootloader. So much for very, very, very impossible...
With the R bootloader, How can you do this?
__________________
I got jumped by some black people and they jacked my Sansa, fags.

I'll still be active =]

I promise.
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 09-03-2007, 12:15 PM
USS Sovereign NCC-73811's Avatar
USS Sovereign NCC-73811 USS Sovereign NCC-73811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Starfleet Academy, San Francisco
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I feel bad for you....I just turned my e200 into an R series (with bootloader) and back. It wasn't that hard either - I got to be a lab rat to see if the modified R bootloader would boot Rockbox - and sadly, it didn't. Regardless, I was able to do a complete switch, and was also able to confirm that it is possible to convert the R series back into the non R, even if you are using the R bootloader. So much for very, very, very impossible...

I hate to be rude, but Spill it! You might have found the key to using RB on the R series!
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 09-03-2007, 01:05 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyeye View Post
With the R bootloader, How can you do this?
I plan on writing a howto shortly.
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 09-03-2007, 01:08 PM
crazyeye crazyeye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I plan on writing a howto shortly.
Alrihgt, thank you.

I want to be able to run Rockbox on the R series and be able to switch from NON-R to R. =]
__________________
I got jumped by some black people and they jacked my Sansa, fags.

I'll still be active =]

I promise.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 09-03-2007, 01:34 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
I plan on writing a howto shortly.
Chrisjs has already said that he'll post a how to, please stop posting off topic into this thread.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 09-03-2007, 02:08 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyeye View Post
Alrihgt, thank you.

I want to be able to run Rockbox on the R series and be able to switch from NON-R to R. =]
Please read carefully, he wasn't able to run the Rockbox. You won't have any benefits, at least for now.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.