android
  #1  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:12 PM
rust in peace rust in peace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Default Theme not loading

I just installed Rockbox on my Sansa e270. I realize the interface is not very pretty, so I downloaded some themes and unziped them directly to my Sansa. Even after several tries, I only have the default themes to choose from on my Themes menu. Someone plz help me? What am I doing wrong here? Also, does the sound quality suppose to be bad when using Rockbox firmware?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:37 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rust in peace View Post
I just installed Rockbox on my Sansa e270. I realize the interface is not very pretty, so I downloaded some themes and unziped them directly to my Sansa. Even after several tries, I only have the default themes to choose from on my Themes menu. Someone plz help me? What am I doing wrong here? Also, does the sound quality suppose to be bad when using Rockbox firmware?
Where are you unzipping the themes to? When unzipped, the file /.rockbox/themes/[themename].cfg should exist, as well as /.rockbox/wps/[themename].wps

Testing in the past has shown the sound quality is as good as the original firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:40 PM
rust in peace rust in peace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Default

Also the song titles appear as the name of the file, not the tag. Any way to solve this other than changing the file name?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:47 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

How are songs related to themes not loading? To answer your question, you can use the database in Rockbox to list songs by their tags. The first time you choose Database from the main menu, it'll need to be initialized, but after that it won't. After it initializes, it'll need to restart, but before you do that, you should turn on Auto Updating, either by highlighting the Database option (not selecting, just 'highlighting') and press down, select Auto Update, and select "Yes", or by going to Settings -> General Settings -> Database -> Auto Update -> Yes. Both ways will work, the first is just a shortcut. After you turn on Auto Updating, you can restart, and after it commits the database, all your songs should appear in the Database.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-21-2007, 04:55 PM
rust in peace rust in peace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Default

I wasn't stating that the songs weren't loading, just that the song title does not appear as the song title, rather the mp3file name. My question was rather off topic, so I apologize. Thanks for the advice anyways. I
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-21-2007, 05:25 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

It didn't bother me, I just kind of got thrown off by it. Did the database work for you?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.