android
  #1  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:25 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default first charge u3

today i got my iaudio u3 and I wanna make the best of its battery life.. so my question is:

once I read that you have to use it till it is empty the first time, because the player comes already with a certain state of charge,
the user guide though advises to charge it fully before first use..

so what's better then? is it a grave mistake if i tested the player for 2 minutes if point two is the right way?

thank you guys
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:32 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Charge it till it's full, then use it till it's empty again. After that the charging circuit should be calibrated.

It's said to be best for Li-Ion batteries to be topped off constantly, and discharge them completely once a month, or every 30 charging cycles.

Read more here: http://www.batteryuniversity.com/
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:36 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

ok.. any damages due to my euphoric first 3 minutes test session?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:38 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

If the U3 didn't explode right away, you're good to go.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:40 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

lol no still there is the whole thing.. but you know I meant the thing with the first charge - like propably many other I couldn't resist of trying it for some minutes..
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:42 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

That sure is no problem. The full charge/discharge cycle on first use is mostly to make sure the battery icon shows the correct charge and is calibrated right. It won't hurt if you listen a bit, with the U3 right out of the box.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:44 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

thank you
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:47 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

btw.. should I charge it now up to 15 hours or just "fully"?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-09-2007, 07:50 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

15 hours sounds a bit extreme... I guess it shouldn't take more than 3-6 hours to complete the first charge.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-09-2007, 08:06 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

so the 10+ hours of battery-training are just gossip..?
Quote:
" Lithium-ion is a very clean system and does not need priming as nickel-based batteries do. The 1st charge is no different to the 5th or the 50th charge. Stickers instructing to charge the battery for 8 hours or more for the first time may be a leftover from the nickel battery days."
by batteryuniversity
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-09-2007, 08:09 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Well yeah, there's a lot of esoteric assumptions around the whole charging issue... I'd go with the stuff Batteryuniversity says - they seem to know what they're talking about.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-09-2007, 08:55 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

while charging, is it normal that the player shows the charging-display for charging via PC and not the symbols for AC-charging? (maybe they are just shown using the original adapter? - I'm using the Artwizz Plugg)
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:13 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I didn't know that there are two different charging icons on the U3. My X5 shows the same icons for AC and USB charging. But then again, the U3 can only be charged over the USB plug - there is no dedicated AC input, right?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:18 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

no, there isn't any seperate slot.. funny that the manual shows a picture of a charging u3 using AC-to-USB slot with different symbols than via PC.. but as you already noticed, there isn't anything but USB port..
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:20 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Guess it's just a mockup then, by an eager manual designer.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:21 AM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

when connected to the PC its, well, connected as well.... when using ac usb adapter there is no data transfer going on, only power
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:24 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

well, I guess the specific symbols are only dedicated to the original AC-plug, like a kind of loyalty bonus
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:33 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quick - get that plug while you can!
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:36 AM
Austrian Austrian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz/Styria/Austria/Europe
Posts: 26
Default

but btw.. what will the display show when it's finished? or better consider the diode of the plug?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 07-09-2007, 09:38 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Patience, young Jedi - you'll see soon.

It's a surprise!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.