android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa e200 > Sansa e200 Rockbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2007, 07:45 AM
subdrum47 subdrum47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Default SanDisk intros 6, 8GB microSDHC cards, 4GB M2 card - Will it work with Rockbox?

http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/27/s...s-4gb-m2-card/

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-29-2007, 10:52 AM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

The M2 won't work because it's Memory Stick. AFAIK SDHC cards are not supported.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:48 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,625
Default

Theres no SDHC support (yet).
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:44 PM
subdrum47 subdrum47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Theres no SDHC support (yet).
I understand that there is no software support yet, I am interested if it could be possible on the hardware side of thing.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-29-2007, 12:49 PM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

If your concern is only if it "fits" or not, yes I will be able to insert a MicroSDHC card in your Sansa but it won't work.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:10 PM
metalslug16's Avatar
metalslug16 metalslug16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 32
Default

Try telling the people at rockbox, might be able to conjure up some patch to support micro SDHC cards, if they do, then that'll be really good. Hey, with rockbox, anything can happen .
__________________
Sansa, Ripped off$But so totally worth it!
Sansa e250v1
Rockbox - cpchan's build
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:39 PM
AZImmortal AZImmortal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalslug16 View Post
Try telling the people at rockbox, might be able to conjure up some patch to support micro SDHC cards, if they do, then that'll be really good. Hey, with rockbox, anything can happen .
I'm pretty sure that the ability to use SDHC is a hardware limitation, not a software one.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-29-2007, 03:45 PM
kratonator's Avatar
kratonator kratonator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 707
Default

No, it's a software limitation. Search on the forums (I don't remember which one) and you'll get an answer from EnzoTen.
__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein
Currently Using
Player: Cowon D2 | Rockboxed SanDisk Sansa e250
Headphones: Technics RP-HT300 | Panasonic RP-HT202|JVC HA-FX55
Sansa Rockbox Themes: KratoGlass|KratoSky|KratoJet|JetoKrat
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-29-2007, 08:50 PM
OddBob OddBob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 513
Default

Well, an 8GB Pro Duo (for the PSP and Sony cameras) goes for about $250, last I heard. The MicroSD equivalent will probably cost significantly more.

I thought those Pro Duo cards were small and cute until I got a MicroSD. Now they seem gigantic...
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-30-2007, 05:47 AM
disorganizer disorganizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZImmortal View Post
I'm pretty sure that the ability to use SDHC is a hardware limitation, not a software one.
it depends. if the sd-controller already supports sd 2.0 specification, it will also be able to implement micro-sdhc support (for the size, not the speed, of course. the speed used depends on the sd-controllers hw).
if not then its not possible afaik.

does anyone know the sd-specification the sansa hw supports?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-25-2007, 06:01 PM
wapz wapz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Default

We should find this out asap. In the future there will surely be big improvements here, and I would fancy putting 8 gigs in my e260 :P
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-25-2007, 07:26 PM
terrence1019 terrence1019 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 223
Default

I second that.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-25-2007, 09:56 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Well, I'm sure the Rockbox devs will tell you the same thing....if you want it, why not research it?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 02-22-2008, 06:58 AM
Stickmån Stickmån is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Default

For future reference, I have just tested a SanDisk 8GB MicroSDHC card (class 4) successfully with my e270v1 (using Rockbox -- of course it's invisible to the OF). So now I have 14GB capacity!
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:32 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Stickman that was all last year before it was supported.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:46 AM
Stickmån Stickmån is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Default

I know. I hadn't seen any explicit confirmation that specifically an 8GB class 4 MicroSDHC card would work, so I thought I'd put it here for anyone searching the forum. I didn't think there was much point starting a new thread.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:50 AM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Well now they have 12GB microSDHC cards that will work.
__________________
Players: Zune 30GB (Music), iPod Touch 8GB 2g (Apps/Podcasts), Zune HD 32GB (sold to brother)
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:38 AM
Stickmån Stickmån is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Default

Well they've been announced, but you can't buy them yet (they're not even listed on SanDisk's own site). The upside is, 8GB cards have dropped massively in price over the last few weeks.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:44 AM
rtech rtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickmån View Post
Well they've been announced, but you can't buy them yet (they're not even listed on SanDisk's own site). The upside is, 8GB cards have dropped massively in price over the last few weeks.
What's the best price you've seen? I'm torn between getting one & waiting for the 16gb (as I understand it, the 12 was just a midpoint & won't actually be released) to be released. Does having the extra gb's slow the player down in any way?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:51 AM
Stickmån Stickmån is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Default

I was given an Amazon voucher so didn't really shop around -- it cost me £32 with postage. I've seen them for slightly less on eBay. I found a 'pre-order' price listing for the 12GB of £75, but I'm sure that'll drop quickly, especially after higher capacities are announced. Really it all depends on how long you want to wait.

The only slow-down I've noticed is in initialising the database, which unsurprisingly takes somewhat longer when it has more tracks to scan. The post-initialise restart takes about 20 seconds with approx 12GB of tracks (normal restart is probably slightly slower too, but not enough for me to notice). Apart from that, it's business as usual.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.