android
  #1  
Old 06-09-2007, 07:51 PM
brookefox brookefox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 62
Default MuVo - file number/load probs

I am unable to load more than 96 tracks on to my new 512 MuVo though it says there is 310 MB used and 95 MB available. I read elsewhere about the lousy file name limitations / implications and I do have long, mixed case file names. When I try to create folders to work around these limitaions, XP sp2 explorer and MuVo Media Explorer crash without creating the folder. Disk error checking shows nothing.
Please advise.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-09-2007, 11:22 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Is your MuVo formatted as FAT or FAT32? It sounds like a reformat might be needed. If you do so, be sure to format as FAT32, as it has nowhere near the restrictions FAT16 has.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:35 PM
brookefox brookefox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 62
Default

Since XP properties only says "FAT," can I assume it is FAT 16? It is as it came from Creative; never reformatted. It has been loaded twice, full deletion after the first.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:35 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Yep, I'd assume that to be FAT16.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:23 PM
brookefox brookefox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks. Will try reformat.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:56 PM
brookefox brookefox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 62
Default

Reformatted FAT 32, and, lo, you (apparently) right, Zen Chick!!

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.