android
  #1  
Old 06-08-2007, 09:20 PM
desirascal desirascal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Default A Guide to MPEG on Rockbox

Hey a new use here..I have successfully installed,uninstalled and some other things with my sansa and thought i will add my 25 cent advise

How to Make MPEGs for Ur Rockbox e200 series.
**Before i start, i have to tell you that i am working with a e250.

Now lets get started....

1.Install Super (Do not ask for the software .GOOGLE it...HINT= eright soft)

2.At the top left hand corner of the super software you will see something called "Select the output container"
Drop down the menu and select "mpg(MPEG l)"

3.At the "output Video Codec" Make sure it says MPEG-l
4.Output Audio codec = mp3
5.Videoscale = 240:192 (YES, IT WILL STILL PLAY..NO,IT DoesNOT look bad)
6.Aspect Ratio = 4:3
7.Frame/sec = upto 29.97 (30 = waste of space)
8.Bitrate Kbps = 1152 (lower = ur choice..Upper = do not excees 1440)
9.Play around with options if u want to or leave it alone
10.sampling frequency = 44100
11.channels= 2
12.Bitrate = 128

Now drag and drop the file u want to convert into the space (the one that says active l Filename l streamlink)

Now right click and go to "specify output folder and make sure it is sumwhere u could get into later on"

Now after it is done Copy the file from output folder and put it into ur sansa video section and Viola U have Mpeg video with no sound skipping or video lagging....

Please PM me, if u have anyquestions.....

Desirascal Out

PS: A Noob QUestion..How do u put photos in rockbox??? (hehe)
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-08-2007, 10:05 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

I think it'd be much easier just to use WinFF instead
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-09-2007, 01:15 AM
oregon oregon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 530
Default

Wow, thanks so much. I tried a few other programs, but I kept having issues. This will help alot!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-09-2007, 06:31 AM
Niceguy Niceguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
I think it'd be much easier just to use WinFF instead
WinFF+MPEGSplitter
In WinFF settings framerate should be 15fps, otherwise (default settings from rockbox.org) it can bring to unnecessery frameskipping and the movie won't be so smooth. And the sound is much better with 96 kb/s.
When video is converted, standart 90-minute movie = 300 Mb (+/- 30).
P.S. MPEGSplitter makes movie easy to navigate.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-09-2007, 08:43 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

I just use mencoder, although 30 fps and 1152 vbitrate seems to get out of sync. play a lot smoother than what's suggested on the Rockbox Wiki (tried playing the video again and it was in sync)

Also, I found a little formula for calculating the video bitrate for those interested: http://www.videohelp.com/calc.htm
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-10-2007, 06:08 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

I use mediacoder to encode my videos and they come out pretty good. Below is my preset file I use, just delete the .txt its supposed to be a xml file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt My Sansa.xml.txt (2.6 KB, 242 views)
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-23-2007, 04:14 AM
@za @za is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Default

fingers crossed, oh and jac0b ur xml file stuffs up the video by the way.
__________________
Uses:
Iriver X204, Skullcandy

cheer up - damn emo kid
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-23-2007, 09:34 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

What do you mean by "stuffs up"? It plays on mine fine.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-27-2007, 08:33 PM
blank_blank blank_blank is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Default

hi, i have a question for this.
I tried to encode a movie (LOTR) and the video skips every 3 seconds, but the audio is fine.
I also encoded an anime movie with a subtitle, but the finished video did not have the subtitle anymore.

how can i go around both problems? no video and audio problem on anime though.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-27-2007, 08:56 PM
donutman25 donutman25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 108
Default

most likely the subtitle is still there, its just that you cannot see it on such a small screen
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-27-2007, 09:19 PM
blank_blank blank_blank is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Default

unfortunately no, i happened to see just one line of subtitle at the start (very readable) but then that was it. no more subtitles after that
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-11-2007, 08:09 PM
ensile ensile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I realised after following your tute word for word, that my player is a dud.

Thanks for the effort, if only mine could work it out as easily as you put it.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-11-2007, 08:20 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Might as well consolidate things. Here is my batch transcoder for any system with Bash (it should work with any sh compatible shell) and Mencoder (part of Mplayer) installed:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=11578

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 07-11-2007 at 08:31 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:09 AM
ensile ensile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

are you guys 'really' getting these vids silky smooth?, i've tried all the settings, and other peoples settings, and my vids are always choppy or out of sync, am I missing something, i can check settings more in depth even, cheers
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:20 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ensile View Post
are you guys 'really' getting these vids silky smooth?, i've tried all the settings, and other peoples settings, and my vids are always choppy or out of sync, am I missing something, i can check settings more in depth even, cheers
Yes, if the source is not out of sync in the first place. Which program are you using?

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 07-13-2007, 12:51 PM
ensile ensile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I've only really tried with y0utub3 grabs, and 'sup3r' enc0der.

as I said before, i've tried other peoples methods, every now and then the frames jump, the audio is out of sync from the beginning, in time for maybe 10 seconds then just slowly loses sync until the video is way out.

The video is choppy random intervals of a second or two at a time, the audio is never glitchy, it's superb quality, and the actual video quality is good too.

in brief, the video slows right down, to nearly slow mode, and the sound powers along at normal speed.

Any help greatly appreciated, or i keep testing
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-18-2007, 01:36 AM
lexikos lexikos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Yes, if the source is not out of sync in the first place.
I tried the VLC, Mencoder and MediaCoder guides on the rockbox wiki, but every attempt resulted in video that freezes/lags occasionally, putting the audio and video out of sync. AND my source videos were perfectly fine. What's more, the encoded videos worked fine on my PC, just not on my Sansa.

The closest I came with Mencoder was using most of the parameters in the guide (on the wiki), but setting the output framerate to ~15 fps. The video played "smoothly" most of the way (despite the frequent "Error decoding frame" messages), and never got out of sync, but it did freeze for a few seconds at one point - like a chunk of video data was somehow missing. It did complain that it couldn't load wmv9dmod.dll (though I DO have it), so I guess it's a miracle that most of the video worked.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyr0sphere View Post
I think it'd be much easier just to use WinFF instead
Absolutely. After reading your suggestion, I tried WinFF with the default options (same video as before), and it played adequately all the way through, if not as smooth as I'd like. (Didn't lag/freeze/fall out of sync!)

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niceguy View Post
In WinFF settings framerate should be 15fps, otherwise (default settings from rockbox.org) it can bring to unnecessery frameskipping and the movie won't be so smooth.
I'll have to try that; the video was a bit choppy with the default settings.
Quote:
And the sound is much better with 96 kb/s.
Argh, I know what you mean. The default settings sound shocking (given that sound is important for an MP3 players .)
Quote:
P.S. MPEGSplitter makes movie easy to navigate.
Good idea! Almost makes up for the lack of seek support...

Edit2: I suppose ensile's post (above this one) also describes my problem fairly accurately.

Last edited by lexikos; 07-18-2007 at 01:47 AM. Reason: missed a post; forgot something
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-18-2007, 03:23 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexikos View Post
The closest I came with Mencoder was using most of the parameters in the guide (on the wiki), but setting the output framerate to ~15 fps.
Try my command line:

Code:
mencoder "<in_file>" -of mpeg -oac mp3lame -lameopts vbr=2:q=2 -af resample=44100:0:0 -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=320:vhq -vf scale,harddup -ofps 15 -zoom -xy 224 -o "<out_file>"
Unfortunately you are not using Linux, or else you can just use my batch transcoding script.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 07-18-2007, 08:32 AM
mantekka's Avatar
mantekka mantekka is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jac0b View Post
I use mediacoder to encode my videos and they come out pretty good. Below is my preset file I use, just delete the .txt its supposed to be a xml file.
Cheers Jacob, I used mediacoder and converted a couple of videos. They play great on the sansa. My first time trying video in rockbox. Got through just over 2hrs of video before battery drained.
__________________
The hole's only natural enemy is the pile.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 07-20-2007, 12:52 PM
Ctcabmm Ctcabmm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I used Wff and the presets provided at the Rockbox website but i changed the fps to 10 in order to make the video smooth because at 23.973 fps the video froze every second

Also is there any way to increase the bitrate to eliminate the low quality in dark spots?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.