android
  #1  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:37 PM
smeakim smeakim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 149
Default Anyway To Prevent Refresh When Loading Orig Firmware

Well now that I am hooked on Rockbox and there is no USB support anyone know of a quick way to get to the original firmware to load or change music without having to wait for the refresh everytime?

Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:46 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

It only refreshes once after you've made a change. After that, it won't refresh the database.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-12-2007, 09:03 PM
OddBob OddBob is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 513
Default

If you load music with a media manager (like WMP) in MTP mode you won't have the long database refresh wait.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-12-2007, 10:58 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

There is a hack for the BL so that you can use MSC and it'll think that no changes have been made. I'll see if I can find it
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-13-2007, 03:46 PM
muffinzrock's Avatar
muffinzrock muffinzrock is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in a muffin. duh. xD
Posts: 637
Default

hmmm... please find that!! lol
__________________
view my ultimate fix...or download as plain text for reference
my star wars theme (updated 29/Mar/07)
Switchfoot and Relient K are THE BEST!!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-13-2007, 04:44 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Found where on the hidden firmware partition it needs to be overwritten....checking on IRC for the code used to have the RB bootloader write a 0 to that on startup


UPDATE: Found that the code is already used, but only when the USB cable is plugged in. Should I make a custom BL to have it always execute that code on startup?

Last edited by chrisjs162216; 05-13-2007 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-13-2007, 07:22 PM
donutman25 donutman25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 108
Default

yes please!
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-13-2007, 09:10 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

It's compiling fine, but it won't boot the OF now. I'm not getting any messages, it's just booting into Rockbox, so I'll fool with it tomorrow and see why it's not working

edit: It seems I managed to remove access the he OF via <<|, as it still works when inserting a usb cable. Meh, I'll see if I can figure it out tomorrow

Last edited by chrisjs162216; 05-13-2007 at 09:15 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-14-2007, 04:18 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

If you don't use the OF for music, videos and photos, one way to drastically cut down on the database refresh time (without resorting to changing the bootloader) is to only/mainly use file formats that the OF does not support.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-14-2007, 06:28 PM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

I think I got it...just need to wait for the bl to finish

Didn't get it....guess I don't know enough about C. For those who wish to try, it's in bootloader/main-pp.c underr disable_rebuild.

Last edited by chrisjs162216; 05-15-2007 at 05:53 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-24-2007, 10:12 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

I was in rockbox IRC and talked to JdGordon and he said he will take a look at it this weekend.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-24-2007, 04:36 PM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

I open a feature request here http://www.rockbox.org/tracker/task/7207
If anyone uses Linux, please do what jdgordon suggested on the feature request so that he can do it. Thanks.
__________________
Rockbox quickstart guide for Sansa e200
My rockbox theme: Leo01
My Compiled rockbox with patch 6908, 6911, 6996 and 3045
Copy files in MTP mode
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-24-2007, 05:12 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,585
Default

Have you tried it under windows?

http://www.chrysocome.net/dd
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-25-2007, 05:29 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

When I talked to JdGordon he said that all he really needed was the .mi4 file and he could fix it with that, so I emailed him the EU & A versions of the 1.02.18.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-30-2007, 07:23 AM
xandl12's Avatar
xandl12 xandl12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 67
Default

So is there someone right now, who got that managed?
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-06-2007, 11:20 PM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

Does anyone know how this is working?
__________________
Rockbox quickstart guide for Sansa e200
My rockbox theme: Leo01
My Compiled rockbox with patch 6908, 6911, 6996 and 3045
Copy files in MTP mode
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-10-2007, 03:18 PM
IcerC IcerC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Be nice to skip this.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:04 PM
digerati1338's Avatar
digerati1338 digerati1338 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 337
Default

I'll have a look at that code next chance I get.

Note to self: Its under disable_rebuild

Another thread notes that it only works with 1.0.12A firmware...
__________________
Rockbox digibuild
Player: SanDisk Sansa e200
Firmware: Rockbox digibuild
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 07-11-2007, 11:40 AM
neoflame neoflame is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

One way to prevent database refresh if you don't use the OFW for anything but USB, but don't want to transcode all of your files: Use the e200R firmware for OF.bin, and have less than 6MB of free space on your Sansa. Whenever the e200R firmware boots, if you have less than 6MB free space, you recieve a warning that there is not enough disk space to create the database, and the firmware doesn't try. This only works on e200R firmware as far as I know; for 1.02.15A at least, the firmware goes through the database building process, THEN complains that there isn't enough space to save it.
__________________
Sansa e260 (Rockboxed)
UE super.fi 3/Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:18 AM
lop lop is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Default

i would love to see that feature to disable the refresh. dont want to use the workaround because sometimes i like to stick with the original firmware.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.