android
  #1  
Old 05-03-2007, 08:29 AM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Thumbs up Just got a U3! A few Qs...

just got a U3 (im in the UK) and it looks great although have a few Qs..

1. Do you know where I can buy the official ac adapter from?

2. Is it supplied with a 1 or 2 year warranty?

3. How long does it take to fully charge, im charging it with the usb, but unlike using the ac in the manual, I dont think you can tell when its fully charged.

4. Firmware, Im getting the 1.27...

Quote:
If you have updated the firmware for your player with version 1.12 beta or lower, you must upgrade the firmware V. 1.21 first. And then, please upgrade the firmware V. 1.27. If not, your player will be damaged and need to get serviced. In this case, it is not under warranty. So you have to pay for it. The firmware version can be confirmed via [information] under [settings] menu.
That wont effect me will it cause I havent done any updates so I can just install this right?

5. why is the manual so tiny! My previous iriver came with like a 100 odd page manual (which I didnt really read anyway) and this is like 2 pages!

6. If i turn this thing off, does it stay off fully and not just go in standby mode like the samsung Z5?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-03-2007, 10:35 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

1. From Jetmall, and possibly from http://www.advancedmp3players.co.uk/

2. You got to ask the place where you bought it about the warranty.

3. & 4. I couldn't say, since I don't own an U3.

5. Cowon keeps costs low by not providing printed manuals. Either there's the full manual on the CD that came with the player, or you can get it here: http://www.cowonglobal.com/zeroboard...bmenu=download

6. It should turn off completely.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-03-2007, 12:42 PM
dossi's Avatar
dossi dossi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default

3. Depends. But you can make it signal when its fully loaded. Using Windows? Klick on the "Safely Remove Hardware"-Icon in your taskbar. Stop the U3. Now the screen shows a charging Animation and says full when full

4. When you bought your U3 recently it should come with 1.26 preloaded. So there should be no trouble upgrading. BUT: to be on the safe side - why don't you just check what firmware your U3 currently is running? Go to Settings > Information.

Have fun with your U3!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-04-2007, 02:52 PM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

does this not play mpgs? doesn't seem to.. do I need to convert to avi?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-04-2007, 03:08 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes, it only plays XviD/160x128/15fps - the easiest converter is iRiverter. Just choose the X5 profile, it's the same specs.

Better use 12-14fps, it's less choppy than 15.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-04-2007, 03:47 PM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

thanks i will try it out.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:12 PM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

It converted it using the X5 profile but when I try to play it on the iaudio its so choppy and it just stops after a second and does nothing. I dont see any option to change the fps...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:19 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Hmm... I forgot, the fps are only available in the "profiles" subfolder of iRiverter 0.16.

Go to the profiles subfolder, open x5.profile with a text editor and change maxFrameRate=12.

Also, make sure to use 128kbps MP3 audio... anything higher might also give problems.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-04-2007, 06:15 PM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

changed the audio bitrate to 128 and the max frames to 12 but its still not playing properly. Will try again tomorrow with a different vid.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-05-2007, 06:31 AM
dossi's Avatar
dossi dossi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Your U3 comes with a copy of JetAudio.
It is also able to convert videos.
Install it. Run it. Click convert Video. Choose iAudio 6/U3/F2 Output Format. And go for it.
Works quite fine.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-05-2007, 11:03 AM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

^^that works great thanks.

one last thing...whats the best/highest quality audio to convert MP3s to? OGG or flac? OGG is about the same size but FLAC is about 10 times larger..
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-10-2007, 10:05 AM
dossi's Avatar
dossi dossi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default

well, converting mp3s to some other compressed format doesn't make much sense. you will loose pretty much quality.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-11-2007, 10:18 AM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dossi View Post
well, converting mp3s to some other compressed format doesn't make much sense. you will loose pretty much quality.
but the bit rate of FLAC is much higher so wouldnt it be alot better?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-11-2007, 10:21 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You cannot restore audio information that is already lost in the MP3s. Converting it again always makes it worse, never better.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-12-2007, 08:10 AM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

so where abouts do you download ogg/flac tracks from?
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-12-2007, 01:15 PM
dossi's Avatar
dossi dossi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Default

http://www.jamendo.com/en/ offers ogg download for example.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 05-22-2007, 07:03 PM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

is there anyway to get the original movies and stuff back that was there by default? after I upgraded the firmware it wiped em all.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 05-26-2007, 08:58 AM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You cannot restore audio information that is already lost in the MP3s. Converting it again always makes it worse, never better.
what about converting mp3s into mp3s but with a much higher bitrate? will you still loose quality?
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:03 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes, the information simply isn't in the audio file anymore - converting it from a lower quality format to a higher quality one only makes the file bigger - but it can't magically add the missing audio information.

The files will get bigger and sound worse.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 05-29-2007, 05:34 PM
scotty scotty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 54
Default

k thanks one last thing...its wont damage it by leaving it charging overnight for like 7 hours will it? it cant overcharge or anything can it.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.