android
  #1841  
Old 11-22-2007, 04:19 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dap_pad View Post
I tried the delete database files thing. It worked for the first few hours and then after the database refresh bug came back. I don't know what's wrong. It worked with your last build
Strange, I have no problems updating the db. Can you describe it further. Have you added any now songs? Did you check the tags?

Charles

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #1842  
Old 11-23-2007, 10:39 AM
lop lop is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Default

this is not working for me at all. album art sometimes working sometimes not. random reboots. database not working 80% of the time, everytime another error message, and why is it only playing one track and not hopping to the next in the directory. if i press skip forward it works, if i just let it play it either stops or it repeats.

  #1843  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:53 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lop View Post
this is not working for me at all. album art sometimes working sometimes not. random reboots. database not working 80% of the time, everytime another error message, and why is it only playing one track and not hopping to the next in the directory. if i press skip forward it works, if i just let it play it either stops or it repeats.
Try deleting the ".rockbox" directory (folder) and do a clean installation.

Charles

  #1844  
Old 11-25-2007, 11:02 PM
yueonyrl yueonyrl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dap_pad View Post
I tried the delete database files thing. It worked for the first few hours and then after the database refresh bug came back. I don't know what's wrong. It worked with your last build
Since whenever it refreshes it fails, you might want to turn the "auto update" off.

  #1845  
Old 11-27-2007, 07:36 PM
dap_pad dap_pad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Default

Auto update is off. The tags are fine, they read fine and I can play them via the database (when it's working) in album form, but once I load the same album via a saved playlist, the database screws up again.

  #1846  
Old 11-27-2007, 09:27 PM
ricocarlos ricocarlos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Default

I had that problem that dap pad had. I basically wiped out my unit. Reinstalled everything from scratch and everything has been hunky-dory since then.

  #1847  
Old 11-28-2007, 12:27 AM
ONE_HUMAN's Avatar
ONE_HUMAN ONE_HUMAN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Revert keybindings changes in SVN to old key bindings.
It appears your build clearly uses the old keymap and not the new one committed for Rockbox on the Sansa. Good to know. I hate the keymap changes and continue to use an older builid of Rockbox to avoid them. At least if I want to upgrade to a newer build, I have the option of using your custom build.

  #1848  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:02 AM
Tsume Tsume is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Any updates on the new build, cpchan?

I'm having a few minor issues with the older one that I hope are fixed with a sync to a more recent SVN.

Ex. with crossfading on, if I change tracks a bit too fast it will stop playing until I force shutdown it and turn it back on.

Ex2. with crossfeeding on (and crossfading + dithering off and a relatively not graphically intensive theme) the music will occasionally stop because the cpu can't keep up, and forget about using the menus while listening to music because the music will start to cut out a lot.

Ex3. (and I'm not aware if this is / will be fixed anytime soon) I cannot charge the player while listening to music because the USB icon of death stops everything and takes up the whole screen.

I must say however, my parents both bought the Sansa from woot.com recently for $30 (one of them accidentally got a e260 instead of a e250... lucky!) - my mom could not figure out the default firmware, and my dad was frustrated that the music folder kept getting hidden so he had to use their dumb program. They absolutely love your custom menu build of Rockbox, as do I Thank you for all of your hard work, it is most appreciated.

  #1849  
Old 11-28-2007, 03:18 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsume View Post
Any updates on the new build, cpchan?
I plan to do one sometime this week. I was waiting for a couple of things to settle.

Quote:
Ex. with crossfading on, if I change tracks a bit too fast it will stop playing until I force shutdown it and turn it back on.
I can't reproduce this. Which codec are you using?

Quote:
Ex2. with crossfeeding on (and crossfading + dithering off and a relatively not graphically intensive theme) the music will occasionally stop because the cpu can't keep up, and forget about using the menus while listening to music because the music will start to cut out a lot.
Strange, I have both crossfeed and crossfade on (much more CPU intensive) and I can't reproduce this, I also have no problems with the menu. Try deleting the ".rockbox" directory (folder) and do a fresh installation.

Quote:
Ex3. (and I'm not aware if this is / will be fixed anytime soon) I cannot charge the player while listening to music because the USB icon of death stops everything and takes up the whole screen.
Hold the "Select" button while plugging in the USB cable into the Sansa. You will be using Rockbox for charging, so it will be slower than the OF at this point.

Quote:
and my dad was frustrated that the music folder kept getting hidden so he had to use their dumb program.
There are 2 solutions to this. Either set Rockbox to "Show All Files" or better yet move your music files somewhere else- I personally use "Musica". This will not affect the OF is finding the files, but the OF will only hide the directory named "Music".

Quote:
They absolutely love your custom menu build of Rockbox, as do I
Thanks.

Quote:
Thank you for all of your hard work, it is most appreciated.
No problem.

Charles

  #1850  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:03 PM
DizzyTech's Avatar
DizzyTech DizzyTech is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 58
Default

I got the same problem today when trying to skip between two Queens of the Stone Age songs two fast once I loaded an album. An exception error showed up at the top of the screen.
__________________
I love my Sansa!

Help me win an PS3, or maybe a Wii!

  #1851  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:12 PM
USS Sovereign NCC-73811's Avatar
USS Sovereign NCC-73811 USS Sovereign NCC-73811 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Starfleet Academy, San Francisco
Posts: 256
Default

It seems like there are a lot of problems with the SVN, so as they say, "Patience is a virtue." Keep up your good work. I must wonder, however why I am having (seemingly) the fewest problems with your latest build.

  #1852  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:39 AM
Tsume Tsume is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
I can't reproduce this. Which codec are you using?

All of my music with the exception of one track is in mp3 format. That one track is ogg. I have nothing higher than 192kbps.

I wonder if part of the problem is having shuffle on? I'm also not using a playlist, I play all the music within a folder instead. I am actually experiencing the same problem with crossfade off right now, but to a lesser degree. All of my music just sits at 0:00 until I hold power off, at which point it will say shutting down, sometimes the screen shows a lot of corruption as it shuts down. When I turn it back on, it works fine until it happens again. This has never happened with the unit switching the tracks by itself at the end of a track, only with me skipping from track to track too quickly (less than two seconds between presses).

I'll try a reinstall when I get home and let you know how it goes. I do believe that may solve the problem, as I copy + pasted this build over the chrisjs169 build (so I would already have certain files there like the doom and pacman files).

  #1853  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:54 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsume View Post
All of my music with the exception of one track is in mp3 format. That one track is ogg. I have nothing higher than 192kbps.
OK, these are well supported codecs.

Quote:
I wonder if part of the problem is having shuffle on?
I also have shuffle on.

Quote:
I'm also not using a playlist, I play all the music within a folder instead.
You are always using a playlist in Rockbox. When you play from a directory, it creates a dynamic playlist.

Quote:
I am actually experiencing the same problem with crossfade off right now, but to a lesser degree.
I also have crossfade on. Other sound options that I have enable are crossfeed and replaygain.

Quote:
I'll try a reinstall when I get home and let you know how it goes. I do believe that may solve the problem, as I copy + pasted this build over the chrisjs169 build (so I would already have certain files there like the doom and pacman files).
Most likely this is the problem. Please report back after doing some testing with a clean installation.

Charles

  #1854  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:40 AM
Tsume Tsume is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, I just redid the whole thing. I use the Dockpod Aqua Large (Red) theme, BTW.

It is still doing it. I thought to myself what setting I setup could be different, and I'm thinking it could be that I have the "beep" when you switch tracks turned on. I turned it off, and went to playback mode again. I hit next a few times real fast and got an error flashed on the screen for a millisecond, and then the screen turned into an angry blend of reddish pixels that required me to hold the power button for 30 seconds to fix. I turned it back on, hit play, and hit next... it froze. Did the hard power off, turned it back on again, hit play, "Codec Failure" - hit it again "Nothing to playback" so I browsed to my music and selected a song to play and spammed fast forward. It still does it. Sits at 0:00 on any song until I power it off the hard way and restart it. I've uploaded my rockbox folder if you want to take a look at it, maybe you can see if I set a setting stupidly. The first thing I did upon reinstallation of the firmware was put the themes and fonts on, and put my settings. Can't stand to use it any other way =P If I had my wit about me I would have tested it before I did that.

Edit: Figured it out. My player really dislikes having database enabled.

  #1855  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:20 PM
ampakal ampakal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default a newbie

I am completely new to this. I have so many questions. I have this build of rockbox installed but don't know where to go from there. I don't get any nice icon images and fonts look like ____. Also, now when I plug in my e260 to the computer, it isn't recognized. I know this may be beneath all of you but I want to learn and could use the help.

Thanks

  #1856  
Old 12-04-2007, 10:45 AM
Tsume Tsume is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampakal View Post
I am completely new to this. I have so many questions. I have this build of rockbox installed but don't know where to go from there. I don't get any nice icon images and fonts look like ____. Also, now when I plug in my e260 to the computer, it isn't recognized. I know this may be beneath all of you but I want to learn and could use the help.

Thanks
The USB in Rockbox is not implemented all the way yet. To use USB, shutdown the player- then plug it in. It will autoboot into the original firmware, and when you disconnect it will reboot into rockbox.

Also... cpchan, I have huge problems with this build with crossfade on. Any idea why? I figured out that the player does a lot of data abort freezes with database on, and also with crossfade on... but more commonly with crossfade it will just stop playing music at all until I reboot (and usually shutdown takes forever when this happens).

  #1857  
Old 12-04-2007, 10:59 AM
maddler maddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default "Random" list always empty

Whenever I try to nuse "Random" selector I always get no results/emtpy playlist. Any clue? Already tried updating/initializing DB.

Thx

  #1858  
Old 12-04-2007, 02:45 PM
D0ug's Avatar
D0ug D0ug is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 71
Default

I've got a bit of a problem with me e280. I just put rockbox on it last night, works perfectly except for one thing -- Software shutdown doesn't work. I've got to hold down the menu button for 15 seconds, like on the old version of rockbox. I've used your build before on me now deceased e250 without this problem popping up. Any advice as to free my thumb for this torture?

  #1859  
Old 12-09-2007, 10:26 PM
walks walks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Default

New to Rockbox, I've found I like this build the best. I'm having a minor issue - tried searching, but no luck. On some themes, the clock seems to be "stuck" in 24 hour mode, despite switching to 12 hour mode. Anybody have any thoughts?

  #1860  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:20 AM
Nemesis02 Nemesis02 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walks View Post
New to Rockbox, I've found I like this build the best. I'm having a minor issue - tried searching, but no luck. On some themes, the clock seems to be "stuck" in 24 hour mode, despite switching to 12 hour mode. Anybody have any thoughts?
I believe the time modes are theme specific, if you wanna change them look at this:
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...eal_Time_Clock

Also, is there an ETA on when the new CPChan build will be done?

Great work on it btw!

Thanks.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.