android
  #781  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:17 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamnohs View Post
You mean the Battery Capacity, right? That gives me a divide by zero error also.
I cannot reproduce this one.

Charles

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #782  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:40 PM
whitestar whitestar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Question Rockbox freezing on songs

Hi I have updated today with CPChans latest build, I seem to have a problem with some songs all audio stops for about 2 secs and then restarts

I do not have a sd card and everything was fine until I Installed this latest build, I have a sansa e270 6gb and love Rockbox and only use the O/F for file transfer.

Is It possibly the new Patches!!

Sorry Iam fairly new to this and have been around here learning and reading

any Ideas would be great

  #783  
Old 07-13-2007, 08:58 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitestar View Post
Hi I have updated today with CPChans latest build, I seem to have a problem with some songs all audio stops for about 2 secs and then restarts
I can't reproduce this problem. Can you try a current build and see if you have the same problem and report back. If you don't, I will take out the dc-bias patch and see if it solves the problem.

Also, have you tried increasing the buffer size?

Charles

  #784  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:32 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Strange I can't reproduce any of it. My audio is fine and << goes to the previous track. I suggest deleting the .rockbox directory and doing a fresh installation.

Charles
No, but you can hear what it's doing
Here's a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ecZpwG251E
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m

  #785  
Old 07-13-2007, 09:33 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

For those who haven't tried the sncviewer out. Here are are 2 screen dumps. One is with a track with lyrics and the other one, without.

sncviewer_1.jpg Track with lyrics. sncviewer_2.jpg Track without lyrics.

Charles

  #786  
Old 07-14-2007, 02:43 AM
Jeton's Avatar
Jeton Jeton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sėrmnovė, Macedonia
Posts: 326
Default

Now that is something i have to try and see and have on my Sansa!
Looks really nice.

Jeton

  #787  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:55 AM
whitestar whitestar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
I can't reproduce this problem. Can you try a current build and see if you have the same problem and report back. If you don't, I will take out the dc-bias patch and see if it solves the problem.

Also, have you tried increasing the buffer size?

Charles

Seems to be the Dc Bias Patch I tried what you suggested and It didn't do it and did you mean anti skip buffer which was 5 secs and Is now 30s Could you Please remove the Dc bias Patch Or post a link to the build before you applied this patch

Wonderful build charles thanks for all your hard work

Whitestar

Last edited by whitestar; 07-14-2007 at 06:18 AM. Reason: messed up

  #788  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:59 AM
disorganizer disorganizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 141
Default

@charles: the new build works perfect for me.
thanks for your work.

i now only need someone to patch the bootloader so the sansa OF does not refresh the database on usb-connect *g*

but maybe some other questions first:
* would it be possible to somehow make the "main menu" of rockbox configurable, meaning that i can disable some of the menus i never use anyways? this could help "declutter" the main menu a bit.

* which font did you use on your screenshots of the lyrics screen?

  #789  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:14 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitestar View Post
Hi How do I increase the buffer size I can't find this setting
"Settings"-> "General Settings"-> "Playback"-> "Anti-Skip-Buffer". You might also want to do a chkdsk, just to rule out filesystem errors.

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 07-14-2007 at 08:16 AM.

  #790  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:23 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disorganizer View Post
@charles: the new build works perfect for me.
Good.

Quote:
thanks for your work.
No problem.

Quote:
i now only need someone to patch the bootloader so the sansa OF does not refresh the database on usb-connect *g*
I will try and find out how to do it.

Quote:
* would it be possible to somehow make the "main menu" of rockbox configurable, meaning that i can disable some of the menus i never use anyways? this could help "declutter" the main menu a bit.
No, not without editing the source. The Rockbox developers are not interested in such a feature- it is a support nightmare . IIRC, there is a patch, but it is horrible out of sync- I will try to find it and see.

Quote:
* which font did you use on your screenshots of the lyrics screen?
Nimbus (SANS) 12 by URW. Part of the Rockbox font pack.

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 07-14-2007 at 09:23 AM.

  #791  
Old 07-14-2007, 07:42 AM
Jeton's Avatar
Jeton Jeton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sėrmnovė, Macedonia
Posts: 326
Default Concidence

It seems we changed the signature at the same time Charles

  #792  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:18 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitestar View Post
Could you Please remove the Dc bias Patch Or post a link to the build before you applied this patch
Here is a link to a version without the Dc-Bias patch:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...&postcount=395

Please test. If this doesn't work, try a current build from the Rockbox site and see if the problem persists. Also, have you doing a chkdsk like I suggested? You can also try removing the ".rockbox" completely and do a fresh installation.

Since I seldom use MP3's, I encoded a whole bunch and did a test. I can't reproduce the problem.

Quote:
Wonderful build charles thanks for all your hard work
No problem.

Charles

  #793  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:22 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetonia View Post
It seems we changed the signature at the same time Charles
What synchronicity . Your logo is in the new build- it looks nice. Thanks for making it.

Charles

  #794  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:58 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
I will try and find out how to do it.
It's the disable_rebuild function in (looking for file) bootloader/main-pp.c

I tried a few times to get it working in the past, but I don't have enough C experience yet to get it working.

  #795  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:01 AM
ManCas ManCas is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 19
Default

Well, another fine release by cpchan.... It's working great, I must try that sncviewer with the album art.... looks sweeet. But first I must download my album art in BMP... I had it on JPG.

I still have the weird pixel line on the top of my screen, but that has absolutely nothing to do with your branch ... or any branch.

Thanks again for sharing your time and knowledge.

Last edited by ManCas; 07-14-2007 at 04:49 PM.

  #796  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:03 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

That pixel line issue is discussed in the Rockbox FAQ on this forum

  #797  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:10 AM
ManCas ManCas is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 19
Default

Hey that's awesome... I haven't seen the FAQ... I'll vote for a newsletter. There isn't one.. or is it?.

I read somewhere that this line happens only with version 1.1 of the hardware... wich is on the newer Sansas (unless there are some newer newer now). Maybe you could confirm this and put it on the FAQ.

I think we (the pixel-line-affected-people) should gather some money and buy some af this sansas for the rockbox developers... hehehe...

Thanks a lot Jack.

  #798  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:16 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjs162216 View Post
It's the disable_rebuild function in (looking for file) bootloader/main-pp.c
Thanks for the info, Jack. Wow, that was easy- building one right now to try it out.

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 07-14-2007 at 10:32 AM.

  #799  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:30 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManCas View Post
Well, another fine release by cpchan....
Thanks.

Quote:
It's working great, I must try that scnviewer with the album art.... looks sweeet. But first I must download my album art in BMP... I had it on JPG.
Have fun.

Quote:
Thanks again for sharing your time and knowledge.
No problem.

Charles

  #800  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:34 AM
chrisjs162216 chrisjs162216 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Thanks for the info, Jack. Wow, that was easy- building one to try it out right now.

Charles
You sure it was that easy? I forgot to mention that you need to add a line in OFDatabaseOffsets for the latest firmware, as it only lists 1.00.12[A|E] and 1.01.11A. I haven't had time to dump the firmware a few times to figure out where that one byte change is, but I'll see if I can find it later today. Good luck

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.