android
  #681  
Old 06-26-2007, 12:00 AM
cmaines cmaines is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I'm pretty sure I wasn't using any font that supported CJK while I was having all the crashes (nimbus-10, nimbus-12, snap). The database crashes only stopped when I cleared out backdrops from the themes I use.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #682  
Old 06-26-2007, 02:50 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

I think I have fixed the "db commit" and "battery meter" problem. It was a strange interaction between the "LCD Fade" patch and "MicroSD card" patch under certain conditions (such as using a unicode font with cjk characters). Please test the new version.

@godess: Sorry, MicroSD card support is more important than eye candy.

Charles

  #683  
Old 06-26-2007, 05:55 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
I think I have fixed the "db commit" and "battery meter" problem. It was a strange interaction between the "LCD Fade" patch and "MicroSD card" patch under certain conditions (such as using a unicode font with cjk characters). Please test the new version.

@godess: Sorry, MicroSD card support is more important than eye candy.

Charles
Hmm ok. I understand that. I never had problems with battery meter or database though!

  #684  
Old 06-26-2007, 06:11 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godess View Post
Hmm ok. I understand that. I never had problems with battery meter or database though!
Neither did I until I tried it with a unicode font that contains cjk characters on a Rockbox with only these 2 patches applied. These 2 patches are fine by themselves, but once combined will cause the db commit problem under certain conditions- I can reproduce it any time.

Charles

Last edited by cpchan; 06-26-2007 at 06:20 AM.

  #685  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:25 AM
yueonyrl yueonyrl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 13
Default

Excellent, problems solved. And now the database shows the right
characters.

  #686  
Old 06-26-2007, 10:03 AM
Vortex Vortex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Unifont is a terrible font. I suggest you switch to nimbus+uming:
Actually I like Unifont because it is very readable.

Nimbus+uming would be nice but it's missing some characters.

  #687  
Old 06-26-2007, 11:30 AM
ricocarlos ricocarlos is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Default excellent

This latest release (6-26-07) fixed the battery problem for me. Excellent. I love this build !!!

  #688  
Old 06-26-2007, 11:42 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Well, it really seems that the LCD patch caused the problems. I'll stick to your last LCD patch build, until anything hot is introduced.

  #689  
Old 06-26-2007, 03:16 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Yes, this is planned. However, I want to get the "Recording enhancements" integrated first, which should happen in the next day or so.
Everyone using this build, please test the new release. If things are working fine for people, I will be moving on to some wps patches.

Charles

  #690  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:07 PM
Vortex Vortex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 51
Default

No battery level or database commit problems anymore with your latest release.

  #691  
Old 06-26-2007, 06:01 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

To take benefit of the new rockboy fix, do I just need to copy over the rockboy plugin file? I don't want to install a new build right now...

  #692  
Old 06-26-2007, 06:13 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godess View Post
To take benefit of the new rockboy fix, do I just need to copy over the rockboy plugin file? I don't want to install a new build right now...
You can try, but there is no guarantee that it will work (they are designed to work together). If it doesn't work, I can build you a special version for this one time.

Charles

  #693  
Old 06-27-2007, 12:01 AM
m3metix m3metix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default Stops at RockBox splash screen

I'm sure that I'm just doing something wrong but I tried loading the latest (as of June 26) build on my Sansa e250 and once it gets to the screen with the RockBox logo (right after the SanDisk logo) it just stops and I have to hold down menu and select to turn off the player. I had the same problem with the chrisjs branch, but I tried the digibuild branch and it worked perfectly. Any thoughts?

  #694  
Old 06-27-2007, 01:10 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3metix View Post
I'm sure that I'm just doing something wrong but I tried loading the latest (as of June 26) build on my Sansa e250 and once it gets to the screen with the RockBox logo (right after the SanDisk logo) it just stops and I have to hold down menu and select to turn off the player. I had the same problem with the chrisjs branch, but I tried the digibuild branch and it worked perfectly. Any thoughts?
Backup your config.cfg, delete it and see if you can get into Rockbox. Which theme and font are you using?

Charles

  #695  
Old 06-27-2007, 12:56 PM
Vortex Vortex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
To take benefit of the new rockboy fix, do I just need to copy over the rockboy plugin file?
That probably won't work since it will only display you an "incompatible version" error message. The different parts of Rockbox are not meant to be updated separately. Besides it's not so much of a hassle to update the whole build, is it?

  #696  
Old 06-27-2007, 12:59 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vortex View Post
Besides it's not so much of a hassle to update the whole build, is it?
Godess wants to keep the "LCD Fade" patch that was causing you and others problems.

Charles

  #697  
Old 06-28-2007, 11:11 PM
i speak in math i speak in math is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I have a nooby question that i can't find the answer to.

Do i need to install rockbox cleanly first, or can i install using the two files in the front of this thread?

Also, how much room will be used? Will I need two copies of my songs (1 in orig firmware and 1 for rockbox) or will rockbox use the music folder of the orig firmware?

Thanks

  #698  
Old 06-28-2007, 11:15 PM
pyr0sphere's Avatar
pyr0sphere pyr0sphere is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 727
Default

You can't just drag the two files into the Sansa. You need to install the bootloader first. What you should do is follow the instructions as they are on the Rockbox site, and then overwrite the .rockbox folder with the two files provided in this thread

The size of the .rockbox folder is approximately 1.8mb

You only need one copy of your songs. Both firmwares use same database
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  #699  
Old 06-29-2007, 06:18 PM
avlanden avlanden is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Default

How to get the Menu look like Cpchan branch menu?

I've installed all the files and it works well, i just can't get the same nice graphics as on the link. I've also tried all the themes but, that dosen't seem to give a result.

-Please help

Last edited by avlanden; 06-29-2007 at 06:26 PM.

  #700  
Old 06-30-2007, 05:45 AM
disorganizer disorganizer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 141
Default

did you notice that the official build now has working sd-card support? so propably the sd-patch can be removed.

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.