android
  #21  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:02 PM
major_works's Avatar
major_works major_works is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Nano? Doesn't Cywin came with vi?
If it does, I couldn't find it. I looked for it in the binaries folder, where the other executables seem to be, and it's not there. Perhaps it's hiding somewhere else. I'll try searching the whole Cygwin directory for vi.exe.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:07 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by major_works View Post
If it does, I couldn't find it.
It was meant as a joke. If you have never used vi before, you would never be able to figure it out.

Charles

  #23  
Old 03-29-2007, 06:13 PM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

You can download the latest copy of the source code at the build website so no need to work with SVN.
__________________
Rockbox quickstart guide for Sansa e200
My rockbox theme: Leo01
My Compiled rockbox with patch 6908, 6911, 6996 and 3045
Copy files in MTP mode

  #24  
Old 03-29-2007, 06:28 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by testdasi View Post
You can download the latest copy of the source code at the build website so no need to work with SVN.
major_works have gotten the source tree with svn already. So all he has to do is to go into the rockbox top level directory and do a:

svn update

Much quicker than going to the Rockbox site.

Charles

  #25  
Old 03-29-2007, 08:05 PM
altidude altidude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
It was meant as a joke. If you have never used vi before, you would never be able to figure it out.

Charles
My favorite vi command is ":q!". I use it a lot!

  #26  
Old 03-29-2007, 08:30 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by altidude View Post
My favorite vi command is ":q!". I use it a lot!
LOL

Being a member of Church of Emacs, I can pass on this ultimate tutorial for the evil vi vi vi :

Editors 101 - The vi Menace

Let the Holy War begin.

Charles

  #27  
Old 03-30-2007, 06:44 AM
subdrum47 subdrum47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by testdasi View Post
@subdrum47: I just realize one thing. It may be possible that you were downloading the files when I was updating. In that case, one of the zip file is older than the other one so problems are quite certain to happen.
I don't know what happend, maybe I was just too frantic with the buttons
Anyway I downloaded your archives again today and it seem they work fine. Thanks man and keep updating .)

  #28  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:59 AM
major_works's Avatar
major_works major_works is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
major_works have gotten the source tree with svn already. So all he has to do is to go into the rockbox top level directory and do a:

svn update

Much quicker than going to the Rockbox site.

Charles
Charles:

What you've alluded to here sounds like the way I'd want to go, but again, I'm unclear as to how to accomplish it. It seems that there's a command in SVN that would let me perform incremental updating to the source code I've downloaded... can you please tell me a bit more about how to do this?

  #29  
Old 03-30-2007, 05:51 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by major_works View Post
It seems that there's a command in SVN that would let me perform incremental updating to the source code I've downloaded...
Yes, Subversion (svn) is a version control system. You should:

(1) Select a top level directory where you want the source tree to live and "cd" to it.

(2) Get the Rockbox source code with the command:

svn co svn://svn.rockbox.org/rockbox/trunk rockbox

the first first time.

(4) To update the source tree, all you have to do is to use the "update" command. For example, if your source tree lives in "\foo\bar" (I am using Windows conventions here), do:

cd \foo\bar\rockbox

svn update

As a user and not a developer and since you will be patching the source, you should copy the source tree somewhere else for compiliation.

Charles

  #30  
Old 03-31-2007, 05:12 PM
Fokker's Avatar
Fokker Fokker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 11
Thumbs up Thks

Hi, just stoppig by to say thanks.
I've been following this ABIi forum silently since y bought my Sansa e250 last May (btw, I'm in Argentina, it was quite hard for me to get it at that time, and I guess it still is), and had the same problems as everyone else because of the firmware, and have been also very excited about the chance of Rockbox being ported to sansa. Just signed in as a member to download testdasi compiled version, and it works GREAT!
Now I only boot to the original firmware to listen and record FM.
So thank you to all who develops and improves Rocbox. I love my Sansa, now even more!
Maybe I'll drop a few lines once in a while now that I'm member, bye

Luis

  #31  
Old 04-02-2007, 11:13 AM
major_works's Avatar
major_works major_works is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Yes, Subversion (svn) is a version control system. You should:

(1) Select a top level directory where you want the source tree to live and "cd" to it.

(2) Get the Rockbox source code with the command:

svn co svn://svn.rockbox.org/rockbox/trunk rockbox

the first first time.

(4) To update the source tree, all you have to do is to use the "update" command. For example, if your source tree lives in "\foo\bar" (I am using Windows conventions here), do:

cd \foo\bar\rockbox

svn update

As a user and not a developer and since you will be patching the source, you should copy the source tree somewhere else for compiliation.

Charles
Ah, it's *that* simple... thank you! I'll start doing it this way from here on out.

  #32  
Old 04-05-2007, 01:14 PM
subdrum47 subdrum47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Default

WOW I must admit that testdasi's rockbox rulez!
I have downloaded current build of rockbox and that sound was horrible. I haven't noticed the difference before but going back is no no...
Only bad thing about testdasi's firmware is that it drains my battery REALLY FAST, its like two times faster than with normal rockbox, I cannot belive that it is due to higher volume only
Anyway I am really grateful for your rockbox and I pray for new version .)

  #33  
Old 04-05-2007, 02:26 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subdrum47 View Post
I pray for new version .)
Ask and ye shall receive. This was build last night, but it does not include the album art patch (I don't use it).

Charles
Attached Files
File Type: zip rockbox_1.zip (1.00 MB, 16 views)
File Type: zip rockbox_2.zip (657.7 KB, 10 views)

  #34  
Old 04-05-2007, 05:46 PM
subdrum47 subdrum47 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Thank you Charles!

  #35  
Old 04-05-2007, 09:52 PM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

There is a new update on the first post.
__________________
Rockbox quickstart guide for Sansa e200
My rockbox theme: Leo01
My Compiled rockbox with patch 6908, 6911, 6996 and 3045
Copy files in MTP mode

  #36  
Old 04-05-2007, 10:14 PM
muffinzrock's Avatar
muffinzrock muffinzrock is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in a muffin. duh. xD
Posts: 637
Default

thanks a ton for the compilation, testdasi!
audio is MUCH better now
__________________
view my ultimate fix...or download as plain text for reference
my star wars theme (updated 29/Mar/07)
Switchfoot and Relient K are THE BEST!!

Last edited by muffinzrock; 04-08-2007 at 07:05 PM.

  #37  
Old 04-12-2007, 01:17 AM
skyghene skyghene is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6
Default

I can't get the album art to work in this for the life of me. Starting from my sansa with no rockbox to start with I have: - Extracted both of the archives on my computer (merged the directories) - Got all my album arts in the same directories as the mp3 tracks they go to on my sansa (they are named cover.bmp, 75x75 res, and 24 bit color) - Moved the .rockbox dir onto my sansa - Ran sansapatcher to install rockbox - Boot into rockbox fine, change theme to leo01_aa (seems to load up fine, i see monalisa backdrop and font change) - Update database and start playing an album. I can hear that the sound is better than the latest official release of rockbox but no album art is displayed for any album in my collection. I did notice that Cl3656 is displayed in the upper left hand corner of the screen which leads me to believe that the %Cl command isn't being recognized by rockbox. Did I miss anything here?

  #38  
Old 04-12-2007, 01:18 AM
EricRN's Avatar
EricRN EricRN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 122
Default

Is it safe to put RB on Sansa yet?
__________________
"Life's a bitch... Buck up!"

  #39  
Old 04-12-2007, 08:36 AM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

@Skyghene: Album arts should be 100x100 but the reason the album arts not showing is that I have taken 3045 off because there were some conflicts with the new tokenizer system. It has been updated but I'm very busy right now so maybe I'll get the working one over the weekend.

@EricRN: yes, it's safe IF you can follow instructions.
__________________
Rockbox quickstart guide for Sansa e200
My rockbox theme: Leo01
My Compiled rockbox with patch 6908, 6911, 6996 and 3045
Copy files in MTP mode

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.