android
  #1  
Old 03-25-2007, 09:16 PM
KnFC KnFC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default S30 Error 5 HELP!!

Hi everyone,

Got my gigabeat a few months ago. It's been great but today I picked it up and turned it on, and it told me to contact a manufacturer, with a picture of a 5 in a yellow triangle. I've tried charging it but it won't hold a charge. Plugging it into the computer doesn't make it work either.

Is there any way to fix this? Do I have to send it in to Toshiba? If I do, can someone tell me how to do that, because I've tried looking around the Toshiba site and it's very confusing, and I can't find anything!

Thanks in advance!

Edit: I opened it up, and the hard drive cable was askew so I pushed it back into place. I turned the battery back on and got a start up screen, which is good. But I think I bent the case or something because the power button is not responding now, so it's not going past the charging icon. Is the warranty void? :-S
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-25-2007, 10:16 PM
e260's Avatar
e260 e260 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Default

Yes I think it would be if you opened it up and messed with things...
__________________
Cowon iAudio D2 4gb + OCZ 8gb sdhc+JVC HA-FX66(Portable)
Cowon iAudio D2 4gb + OCZ 8gb sdhc+ Sennheiser HD 205(Any time else)
Rap and a little Rock is all I need, throw in some pop for fun.
Hoping to resurrect an e260 from ebay soon.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-10-2007, 09:22 PM
Ellen's Avatar
Ellen Ellen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: I come from a land down under
Posts: 89
Default

I hope for your sake the warrenty isn't void, however because you've opened it up yourself it could be. I've had error 5 before on my gigabeat S60 and I sent mine away for repair, the problem was something to do with a corrupt database file i think.

Last edited by Ellen; 06-25-2008 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-27-2007, 10:32 PM
rickb928 rickb928 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

check the cable from the case to the pc board, it connects the power switch etc.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-21-2008, 11:00 AM
eemike eemike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I had the same error. "Contact manufacturer for repair" with a "5" in the yellow triangle. I called Toshiba, but since mine is out of warranty, they referred me to a 3rd party repair shop. THAT shop wanted a flat fee of $160 to repair. screw that

I decidede to just open it up since it was out of warranty anyway, and what did i find?

The hard drive flex cable had come lose. I re-attatched it and bam, working gigabeat.

If your gigabeat is out of warranty it is worth it to check cable connections!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.