android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa e200 > Sansa e200 Rockbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-15-2007, 07:53 PM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

Mencoder for me. Firstly, it works. Secondly it's MENcoder cuz I have to wear MEN's suit and eat MEN's food everyday (that's why I'm fat).
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:57 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

I personally use mencoder when transcoding to mpeg and avi container. For qt container, I use ffmeg and transcode.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:57 PM
oregon oregon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 530
Default

Mencoder seems difficult to download. So... how do you change the resolution with VLC transcode?
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:04 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oregon View Post
Mencoder seems difficult to download.
What do you mean by difficult to download? You probably can't find It because it is actually part of mplayer. Here is a link (If you don't want to use cli, try the GUI version and report back):

http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:04 PM
a12ctic's Avatar
a12ctic a12ctic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 279
Default

apt-get install mencoder
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:24 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
apt-get install mencoder
However, I don't think this will work since mencoder is part of mplayer, so it is more like:

apt-get install mplayer

To stay on the bleeding edge better do:

svn update&&./configure --enable-gui --enable-menu --enable-xmms&&make&&make install



Charles
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:26 PM
oregon oregon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
What do you mean by difficult to download? You probably can't find It because it is actually part of mplayer. Here is a link (If you don't want to use cli, try the GUI version and report back):

http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html

Charles

I referred to it as difficult because it said I needed to download three different things, and there are so many different versions of each. Then you need to unzip. I couldn't find any apllication icon even after unzipping. At this point I gave up.

I'll try the GUI version, thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:31 PM
oregon oregon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 530
Default

Okay... I've got MPlayer, but how do I convert? BTW, I downloaded the GUI version.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:56 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oregon View Post
Okay... I've got MPlayer, but how do I convert? BTW, I downloaded the GUI version.
My apologies, I look through the zip file of the GUI version and found out that mencoder is not include (it is included in the non-gui version)- the experimental mencoder GUI must still be in Alpha. Your choices now are:

(1) Download the non-gui version and learn to use the commandline.

(2) Follow my original suggestion and use the virtualdub and ffdshow combo. I originally suggested this to you because I know you are unfamiliar with the commandline.

(3) Use VLC (Videolan) as others have suggested, but the method shown is through the commandline too. I don't know enough about Videolan to know if encoding is in the GUI yet.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 03-15-2007, 10:48 PM
zivan56 zivan56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 461
Default

They posted a .bat file which you can drag and drop files onto in order to convert them hassle free. Check the rockbox wiki...
__________________
Sandisk Sansa e200 v1 w/Rockbox
Microsoft Zune 30 GB v2.3 Firmware
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 03-16-2007, 04:29 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Virtualdub is an MPEG4 editor, it can't write MPEG1 files. So you can't make videos that work on Rockbox with Virtualdub.
You are right- I withdraw my virtualdub suggestion after doing some testing. Even though it will allow me to select mpeg1 in the ffdshow config, it refuses to work (plus it can only output to an avi container). I can do it in Avidemux and since Avidemux has always been described as a virtualdub clone, I thought they will have similiar abilities. I am really rusty on my Windows programs.

UPDATE: I have since found out that there is a Windows version of Avidemux. I recommend this program whole heartedly to those who prefer a GUI. For those interested, you can read up on Avidemux here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avidemux

You can download it from here:

http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/download.html

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:36 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

TMPGEnc is another fine app that handles MPEG1 with very good video quality in the free version (and MPEG2 when you pay for it).

Unfortunately not even VirtualdubMod can output to a simple MPEG container, even though it supports MKV and OGM. I wonder why MPEG isn't supported by Virtualdub - can't be that hard, I suppose.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 03-16-2007, 09:36 AM
oregon oregon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zivan56 View Post
They posted a .bat file which you can drag and drop files onto in order to convert them hassle free. Check the rockbox wiki...
This converts it to the correct mpgeg format, but the resolution is still too large (320x240 I think). So something else would be necessary.

However, On the Rockbox page it says that Rockbox for the Gigabeat and Sansa will automatically convert video to correct resolution, and landscape mode. Anyone experience this?
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 03-16-2007, 10:02 AM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

Why don't you guys use mencoder? I was able to watch Dead Or Alive on my Sansa rockbox.
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:14 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
I wonder why MPEG isn't supported by Virtualdub - can't be that hard, I suppose.
I know, it just doesn't make sense to me either that a video processing app can't output to mpeg.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:16 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by testdasi View Post
Why don't you guys use mencoder? I was able to watch Dead Or Alive on my Sansa rockbox.
I use mencoder, but I want people to have choices. Some people are just too afraid of the cli.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 03-16-2007, 02:19 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oregon View Post
This converts it to the correct mpgeg format, but the resolution is still too large (320x240 I think).
I fixed it for you. There are 2 batch files in the archive: one for standard res and one for wide screen. Please test them out.

Charles
Attached Files
File Type: zip transcode_batch_files.zip (2.1 KB, 22 views)
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 03-16-2007, 04:36 PM
capo327's Avatar
capo327 capo327 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Dammit, none of those batches worked for me. I get the audio, but no video.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:10 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capo327 View Post
Dammit, none of those batches worked for me. I get the audio, but no video.
Strange, the only thing that I have changed is the width and height to those for the Sansa: 224x176 for standard, and 224x128 for wide screen. Does the original batch file from the Rockbox wiki work on those videos? Are you sure the problem is not not your source file? This is the comment in the batch file:

,----
| Some files will not be successfully transcoded. This is due to
| the fact that mpeg2 video only allows several specific
| framerates. If your source file frame rate doesn't comply, try
| adding fps=25 or fps=29.97 in #transcode{...,<add it
| here>}:std{...}
`----

So please check the fps in the source. I will test them out later once I install VLC.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:34 PM
capo327's Avatar
capo327 capo327 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Well the source file worked for me when I wrote my own mencoder command.

"mencoder TikiBarTV.mov -of mpeg -oac lavc -lavcopts acodec=mp2:abitrate=192 -af resample=44100:0:0 -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=192 -vf scale,harddup -ofps 25 -zoom -xy 220 -o TikiBarTV_22.mpg vf scale=220:176"

The thing is, the video's kind of blocky and out of sync with the audio. I'm not sure if it's because I used a bad setting or if it's rockbox's fault, though I assume it's mine. It also says here that the res automatically resizes to 220x176, so I just used that instead.

If the batch file from the wiki you're talking about is this one, then it won't work for me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.