android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa e200 > Sansa e200 Rockbox

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2007, 12:29 AM
oregon oregon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 530
Default What video converter/resizer do you use for Rockbox?

Are there any freeware programs that can convert or resize videos so they'll play with Rockbox? Any ideas?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-15-2007, 12:44 AM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oregon View Post
Are there any freeware programs that can convert or resize videos so they'll play with Rockbox? Any ideas?
I know you are on Windows. The best program is Virtualdub:

http://www.virtualdub.org/

You should also install ffdshow:

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/FFDShow.htm

This will allow virtualdub to use and your computer to play almost any codecs.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-15-2007, 07:37 AM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

Read this
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...uginMpegplayer
Everthing is there.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:52 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
I know you are on Windows. The best program is Virtualdub:

http://www.virtualdub.org/

You should also install ffdshow:

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/FFDShow.htm

This will allow virtualdub to use and your computer to play almost any codecs.

Charles
That won't work at all.

Rockbox is in the early stages of supporting MPEG1 - and it still isn't exactly what you call "stable" (sync problems between audio and video, etc).

Virtualdub is an MPEG4 editor, it can't write MPEG1 files. So you can't make videos that work on Rockbox with Virtualdub.

You don't need FFDShow either, because MPEG1 is already supported in Windows right out of the box.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:03 AM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

Rockbox supports MPEG2, not just MPEG1. In fact MPEG1 is only there because 2 is backward compatible. Just a clarification, as misinformation seems to spread like wildfire.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:04 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Does it already support MPEG2 playback? I read only MPEG1 is (kind of) working at the moment.

Still, MPEG4 editors are no use for converting stuff to Rockbox...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:17 AM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

Quote:
It is currently capable of playing back MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 video streams with MPEG audio multiplexed into .mpg files (MPEG Program Stream).
This can be found on the PluginMpegplayer wiki page. It's been able to play MPEG2 since the very first version. If there's official documentation somewhere that says otherwise, I'd be very grateful to you if you'd point it out so that I can correct it.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:43 AM
testdasi's Avatar
testdasi testdasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 432
Default

Didn't I say read http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/vie...uginMpegplayer?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:49 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I'm sorry - I should have read the new Wiki page... I was too caught up in debunking the MPEG4 stuff.

I better get me another coffee.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:54 AM
Llorean Llorean is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 397
Default

New? It's been there and said that since Aug 09 last year.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-15-2007, 01:07 PM
Amblin's Avatar
Amblin Amblin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 291
Default

Uh...ok.



......


Ive been experimenting with creating videos in TMPGEnc 4, and I believe I have found a good combination. With the video limited to 15 FPS, 150 Kbps video bitrate, 64Kbps sound bitrate, encoded in MPEG2. you get nice and clean video comparable to what SMC2 made, fairly decent sound, at about a 1/4th the size. And with Limit FPS and Skip Frames enabled, the A/V stay in sync pretty well. Only downside: Mpeg Player does not bother to refill the buffer, so it packs as much video as it can into the 30 MBs of ram available to it, and quits.One solution Ive found is to cut the video into 20 MB pieces. Play one clip, go onto the next. Overall for a plugin that isnt even finished, in my opinion it works pretty well.
__________________
Microsoft Zune w/ Victor FX-77s| Previously used:Meizu M6/Sansa e130/e260|JVC FX-55s
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-15-2007, 01:23 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
That won't work at all. :rolleyes]Virtualdub is an MPEG4 editor, it can't write MPEG1 files. So you can't make videos that work on Rockbox with Virtualdub.
Yes, it can, mpeg1 is a ffdshow codecs that can be set in virtualdub. I have done it many times for my Windows friends. Once ffdshow (ffmpeg) is installed, virtualdub can use all the codecs ffdshow supports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
You don't need FFDShow either, because MPEG1 is already supported in Windows right out of the box.
You need it for virtualdub because it can't write mpeg1 files without ffdshow. Also, ffdshow (ffmpeg) is good to have on the computer because it can play virtually any codec that you throw at it.

Charles

Update: I used a friend's Windows computer to take a screenshoot for you in virtualdub:
Attached Images
File Type: gif vitrtualdub_mpeg1.gif (42.9 KB, 45 views)
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-15-2007, 03:45 PM
capo327's Avatar
capo327 capo327 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Go to this rockbox page, and at the bottom, it has instructions for encoding with VLC or mencoder. You just have to substitute the width and height with the given resolutions in the table. Good luck.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:37 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capo327 View Post
Go to this rockbox page, and at the bottom, it has instructions for encoding with VLC or mencoder.
Do you know if the experimental Windows mencoder GUI frontend is stable enough for non-cli people to use yet? The last time I tried it, it wasn't ready and I don't have access to Windows right now.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:48 PM
a12ctic's Avatar
a12ctic a12ctic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 279
Default

mencoder silly!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:52 PM
Zwack Zwack is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Do you know if the experimental Windows mencoder GUI frontend is stable enough for non-cli people to use yet? The last time I tried it, it wasn't ready and I don't have access to Windows right now.

Charles
I use mencoder on Linux... my wife has a windows 98 pc, and doesn't like using CLI much. I wrote a simple WXPython application for her to transcode .mov files to DVD format .mpg files. I could probably modify it slightly for you if you ask nicely. It won't give you lots of options, but what it does is wrap a standard command line into a GUI format. You select an input file (using a gui) and it defaults the output file to something sensible (but you can change that if you want) and then you hit GO and it runs the built in mencoder command.

It's stable and it works, you will need mencoder, python and wxpython installed to make use of it. If you want a GUI interface that allows you to play with all of the options then I don't mind you playing with my code to make something even more useful, but I'm not doing it myself...

I don't have enough time right now.

Z.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:53 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

I use the batch file from rockbox.org Here if you want my file I attached it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip VLC-transcode.zip (1,017 Bytes, 34 views)
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:54 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
mencoder silly!
Why? Together with ffmpeg and transcode (of course I know both mecoder and transcode uses ffmpeg and extend on it), they are the best transcoders that I have found.

Charles
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:58 PM
Zwack Zwack is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpchan View Post
Why? Together with ffmpeg and transcode (of course I know both mecoder and transcode uses ffmpeg and extend on it), they are the best transcoders that I have found.

Charles

I think he meant "I use" mencoder "and you are" silly!

Z.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 03-15-2007, 05:29 PM
cpchan's Avatar
cpchan cpchan is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zwack View Post
I wrote a simple WXPython application for her to transcode .mov files to DVD format .mpg files. I could probably modify it slightly for you if you ask nicely.
I am using Linux too (totally switched over from a dual boot system in 1995) and I prefer using cli for this. I was just thinking about all the non-cli people on this site. Anyway, I was just curious about the status of the official Windows mencoder GUI frontend by the mplayer team. I will ask on the mplayer list.

I refuse to install wine to test it out.

Charles
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.