android
  #1  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:54 PM
JP23 JP23 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default AV500 - USB host question

I'm thinking of gettting an AV500, but I need some information on the USB-host feature.

If I connect a mass storage device (SD card reader) to the AV500, can I transfer files in both directions? That is - can I place any file from the AV500 onto the SD card as well as being able to transfer any file on the card onto the AV500?

Also, am I able to view/control the directory structure on the AV500?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-08-2007, 12:59 PM
yeshaib's Avatar
yeshaib yeshaib is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 65
Default

I think you can.
I'm not sure on this one, as it worked on the AV700
__________________
www.mympio.com - My Mpio Fan Site
www.pdapoint.net - My Blog Site
www.my-audio.net - Hebrew Support for any DAP around
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-09-2007, 03:23 PM
Rob* Rob* is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Default

I own a gmini 402 camcorder and you can copy files in both directions and create and delete folders on the attatched device as long as it's mass storage class. With ptp devices (picture transfer protocol) which some cameras and mp3 players use you can only copy files from the device to the archos.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-28-2007, 11:14 AM
tedbone tedbone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Rob* you say you can record from a camcorder to the AV500?
I own a Canon GL2 and want to record on tape & some sort of external video/Hard drive device with a screen, but I do not want to buy a camcorder hard drive because they are too expensive, so Archos is looking promising. So, I figure I could at least spend money on a Digital Recorder and Media Player.

So, could I plug into the AV500 (or AV700) via S-Video/firewire/ usb/ analog A/V and simply hit record on the camera and AV500?

Could I then connect it to a PC and drag the video files over? If so,what is the video size?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-28-2007, 07:45 PM
2nice 2nice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedbone View Post
So, could I plug into the AV500 (or AV700) via S-Video/firewire/ usb/ analog A/V and simply hit record on the camera and AV500?

Could I then connect it to a PC and drag the video files over? If so,what is the video size?
the AV500 is two generations old now, try getting a more modern player.
If you just want an inexpensive solution, you can get a refurb 504 160GB for $275, then add the DVR travel adapter for $70 and you'll be set.
You can drag and drop the videos. The videos record at VGA res. @ 30fps
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.