android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > SanDisk Sansa > Sansa e200 > Sansa e200 Firmware

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2008, 12:54 PM
seanwn86 seanwn86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default my new e280 won't stay connected, won't format, and can't update firmware

k guys, i have a sansa fuze and have never had any issues with it. i saw the e280 on woot and heard good things about this player with the rockbox. so i get it, plug it in and start the rockbox install, and walk away. well i come back to an error. so i unplug it, it goes to refresh comes up with all sorts of white letters, and then shuts off. but if i hold down the l<< button it loads up to the normal sansa menu. now when i connect in msc or mtp i can't drag and drop files, it shows connected on the player, then will flash disconnected, then my computer comes up with an error message. i have tried formatting in normal connected mode as well as recovery mode and am not getting any solutions. tried the sansa firmware updater but always says their no detected device, or comes up with another code. i'm really not seein many other things out there to try guys so i was hoping maybe somebody could help me out so i can enjoy this thing. i'm really stoked to make this my new all around mp3 device, i like it's build and available space and potential. thanks guys i can really use the help

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:43 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Are you using an USB port connected straight to your computer? Front USB ports? Hubs? How about a different computer?

  #3  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:48 PM
seanwn86 seanwn86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

no hub, plugging straight to the computer. my fuze works on every usb port with both cables, and on my dad's computer. try the e280, can't get it to connect reliably in any port, with either cable, on either computer. also when i plug my fuze in it brings up an auto menu asking what program/action i want to make, the e280 never does that.

  #4  
Old 10-18-2008, 03:16 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Sounds like the e200 might have a bad dock port, then. I do not know how long of warranty you get from Woot.

  #5  
Old 10-18-2008, 03:25 PM
seanwn86 seanwn86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

well that sucks. thanks for the help though.

  #6  
Old 10-18-2008, 03:33 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Yep, you're welcome, and hope you come back if you have any more questions.

  #7  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:40 AM
seanwn86 seanwn86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

k, i'm back. so i've gotten a new e280. and i've been using for about a month now with no problems. i even got an altec lansing dock that it works fine with. but i connect it today to update some music. and now it's started doing the connecting and disconnected problem. any recomendations?

  #8  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:16 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Weird. I have not had this issue. Have you tried recovery mode?

  #9  
Old 12-02-2008, 09:25 PM
seanwn86 seanwn86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

what should i be doing in recovery mode? i followed somebody's sig that said it was the ultimate e200 fix; that had me format it, then load some old firmware, and then update through the sandisk updater. also; when i've got it just plugged in doing nothing it says writing, and i can start transfering. it will then just briefly flash disconnected, and screw up the transfer. btw, thanks for the help advcomp.

  #10  
Old 12-02-2008, 11:52 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

If you installed the .24 firmware, you might want to try .18 on there.

  #11  
Old 12-03-2008, 12:16 AM
seanwn86 seanwn86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

where would i obtain .18?

  #12  
Old 12-03-2008, 02:31 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Here is a link to .18P: http://files.zefie.com/PMP/sansa/e20...200P1_02_18.7z

You will need 7zip at least to unzip the file.

  #13  
Old 07-28-2009, 01:10 AM
vipinraj vipinraj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Hey i gt same prob wid sansa e270... can anyone help me out???

  #14  
Old 03-12-2013, 12:48 AM
wilfranor wilfranor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default Sansa connection problems

I've had the same problem with a Sansa Clip... and this may be the stupidest suggestion ever... but have you tried a very short USB cable? I don't know why this should matter... but I tried 3 or four 2' to 3' long USB cables and it kept flashing connected-not connected. I tried an 8 inch cable and it seems to be working fine.

good luck
wilfranor

  #15  
Old 03-12-2013, 08:38 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,280
Default

Welcome to ABi

I'd think your suggestion won't be very helpful here. This thread was first opened over 4 years ago. Not only that it's about a player that hasn't been produced for quite a while. To add to that the standard length of proprietary connector cable that is used on that player is over 42 inches. Going DIY or finding a custom cable would have been the only way to have used a shorter cable.

Please note the date on a thread before you reopen it. I'd also read it completely and see if what you have in mind will actually work in the situation being discussed. If you believe your thoughts or experience may be helpful it's better to open a new thread and reference the older thread. In this case your advice might help someone with a Clip connectivity problem but it can't help anyone that might open this because you bumped it to the top again.

I'm not sure what the issue is with your Clip and longer cables. The ones I use most often with my different Clips are about 4 ft long. They connect reliably to both charge and transfer data. If yours is working differently a guess would be that there's an issue with the Clip's connector or the USB port on your PC. Trying different USB ports helps with that sometimes.

In any case this old thread has served it's purpose. I'll be closing it now. If you want to discuss connectivity on your Clip please open a new thread in the appropriate subforum.

Thread Closed

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.