android
  #921  
Old 09-17-2012, 02:32 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanniX View Post
New important announcement.
USB will probably work soon on rockbox, thanks to Me and Lorenzo92.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oroep5fvs7...2022.53.35.jpg

All new features will be included and tested in the next ROM (the LightROM 4.3).

Stay tuned ;-)
Yes, we need to finish testing + find a NICE way to put that in rockbox
In this way kugel won't accept it at all hehe, but he is right after all ^^

Stay tuned as always, sooner or later something will be ready
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #922  
Old 09-18-2012, 06:50 AM
saxonwolfcock saxonwolfcock is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Well, of course Rockbox can access the SD card files on R0. If there was an issue there, that would be known as many R0 users have a microSD card.
You can see the files on microSD that way: Files>mnt>mmc

I just did a test on my 4GB R0:
-Delete the current database, that is to say remove all the database_x.tcd files from the .rockbox folder
-Insert the 32GB microSD card I usually use for my Sansa Clip Zip.
-Start the R0 and Rockbox
-Initialize the database: 8332 files found, "please reboot to enable" message
-Reboot, "committing database" and no issue

So it should work for you!
Connect the R0 to your computer, delete all database files from the .rockbox folder, just let the default database.ignore file. Then reboot the R0 and Initialize the database.
If it still gets stuck, then there is probably a 'problematic' file on your microSD and this is not related to the R0.
Thanks for your advice here..I finally got round to testing your method and it certainly helped me get to the bottom of the issues I was having!

Firstly, I believe that the reason the database build was hanging around ~7000 files was because Winamp (the media library software I was using to load mp3s onto the R0 with) was leaving several of its own library files on the R0's memory. After I removed these and stopped using Winamp, it seemed to build the database OK!

The problem I was having with mp3s on the SD not being added to the database was more straight-forward...I realised that around half of the files I was copying onto the SD were corrupting, so it was down to a faulty card. I sent it back and replaced it with a SanDisk 32gb and now everything is working flawlessly. When I first used the new card the database build was hanging on 0 files but then realised I had forgotten to change the 'Select directories to scan' in settings.

Thanks again or your help.

On a side note, do you recommend any media library software for PC that works well with Rockbox? Since I am not using Winamp with the R0 anymore I could use a replacement

Edit: also, I was wondering how often you would recommend to download the latest build of Rockbox and update? Is there much point in doing so? and is there any way of retaining all settings when updating Rockbox? thank you

Last edited by saxonwolfcock; 09-18-2012 at 06:58 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #923  
Old 09-18-2012, 10:56 AM
Predelnik Predelnik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saxonwolfcock View Post
Edit: also, I was wondering how often you would recommend to download the latest build of Rockbox and update? Is there much point in doing so? and is there any way of retaining all settings when updating Rockbox? thank you
I guess like with any other application it's better to download when official release of new version happens. And if anything essential and useful will be updated for r0 I guess you can read about it in this topic and figure out do you need this feature or not and than update

Also you can read all changes in rockbox repository since last release here: http://www.rockbox.org/since-release.html
And if anything will be interesting for you when you can update too.

Btw do your settings really not being retained? I don't remember having such issue.
Reply With Quote

  #924  
Old 09-18-2012, 03:48 PM
Appick's Avatar
Appick Appick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: France
Posts: 83
Default

You use the .cfg (configuration files) to save sound and aspect settings.
__________________
Appick
Reply With Quote

  #925  
Old 09-21-2012, 04:14 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamashiita Ren View Post
In that case, it will be hard but i will wait for the LightROM 4.3 release. With my studies, I sadly can't afford extra time for testing new things when I want to do so ...
Nevertheless, I'm really excited about these improvements
Have a good day
Ok, i suggest you to install now the LR4.2 (if you use only rockbox).
Version 4.3 will be released with lots of new features, so we need more time to dev and test it. We apologize for the unexpected delay but we are sure that at the end you'll be completely satisfied
Reply With Quote

  #926  
Old 09-22-2012, 05:24 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanniX View Post
Ok, i suggest you to install now the LR4.2 (if you use only rockbox).
Version 4.3 will be released with lots of new features, so we need more time to dev and test it. We apologize for the unexpected delay but we are sure that at the end you'll be completely satisfied
@VanniX and others: next version of rockbox (or so...) will have RDS support. BUT the kernel radio module has to be updated, therefore you will need to update your rom in any case to support the new feature, otherwise it won't work (RDS only I mean). Stay tuned
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #927  
Old 09-25-2012, 04:21 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

I'm working on:

- RDS (State: works in various ways but crashes the player after some time completed)
- USB (State: basics - cable detect and screenshots - are working. need to debug why calling a similar script for the safe mode crashes the app)
- RECORDING - radio -: (State: initialization works, pcm data acquiring part completely missing, some ALSA experts around??)

...if anyone wants to help, I'll share patches and so! Most tricky thing is recording. Perhaps there is an alternative way of doing that using the i2c of as3543 directly, but I guess that using ALSA would be more feasible...

EDIT: RDS completed! The crash was due to lebellium's theme, now community is investigating about this serious issue...

Patches on gerrit:

RDS: http://gerrit.rockbox.org/r/#/c/320/
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!

Last edited by Lorenz092; 09-27-2012 at 06:01 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #928  
Old 09-29-2012, 11:49 PM
natrixx natrixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Here I go again. First of all, regarding the problems from my previous post (if someone remembers, hehe) — everything seems to be okay now, after re-formatting microSD card and updating rockbox. Well, everything is okay for, like, six weeks already; I just did not have any time to write it here, sorry

And second, the true reason of my post Is there any possibility to remap keys (in database browser), so left/right could be used as page down/page up? We already have back button, and confirmation/action on middle click, so why double them? And page scrolling is very, very useful when you have a huuuuge list of tracks, like mine

PS. Thanks for your work guys again!
Reply With Quote

  #929  
Old 09-30-2012, 03:37 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by natrixx View Post
And second, the true reason of my post Is there any possibility to remap keys (in database browser), so left/right could be used as page down/page up? We already have back button, and confirmation/action on middle click, so why double them? And page scrolling is very, very useful when you have a huuuuge list of tracks, like mine
Yes it is! And we should do that indeed ^^
Another possibility is to have the same in filebrowser, either with left/right keys or "3 dots key" + left/right...on this target we would need to have some more key combinations, what do you think?
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #930  
Old 09-30-2012, 05:14 AM
Yamashiita Ren Yamashiita Ren is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France
Posts: 14
Default

+1 for the right/left keys scrolling !

I have found another issue with the keys : when you are listening the FM radio, it seems that you can't lock the player ...
Reply With Quote

  #931  
Old 09-30-2012, 06:34 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamashiita Ren View Post
I have found another issue with the keys : when you are listening the FM radio, it seems that you can't lock the player ...
If I remember correctly, software hold (in our case) can only be used on the WPS (now playing screen). I can't be used in SBS (menus) and FMS (FM radio).

Only targets with a hardware hold button can be locked anywhere in the interface
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #932  
Old 09-30-2012, 02:26 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
If I remember correctly, software hold (in our case) can only be used on the WPS (now playing screen). I can't be used in SBS (menus) and FMS (FM radio).

Only targets with a hardware hold button can be locked anywhere in the interface
I think this should be revised too, asking in the IRC now
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #933  
Old 09-30-2012, 04:58 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

I'm seeing that all things are going well! Very good
As soon as possibile I'll be back to work in ROMs too.. Unfortunately now I'm having some big problems, more important than the R0
Reply With Quote

  #934  
Old 10-02-2012, 12:13 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

LightROM 4.4 "Final X"
LAST UPDATE: 2013 01 21

Version 4.4 Final X has been released!
The only "rockbox only" ROM. Automatic installer, support for usb mode and usb serial, no additional files needed, all for only 13MB!
You'll need only the ROM and .rockbox dir. Boot in less than 10 seconds and flash in less than 90 seconds! The only one with these features!
Try it!

ROM Info:
Version : LightROM for Rockbox Port - Ver 4.4 Final X
Release_Code : 20121007-LRv4.4FX || Host : VanniX-IBM-ThinkPad-T60
User : root
Dir : /home/pietro/Dev/R0/YP-R0_LightROM
BuildTime : 12/10/07 22:08:10
MBoot : size(337824),checksum(a68d6e6c5d638926e9ac34e982e3 3da6)
Linux : size(1097144),checksum(1b1361e26534906b7d23b55e45d 9f2f3)
RootFS : size(11759616),checksum(6a5b2055a4f27228838800b831 cfd996)
Sysdata : size(415154),checksum(e8bbf4ad5778e76b71a7f09b734f 8f57)


Install HOW-TO:
1) Download the ROM, and the latest rockbox build.
2) Extract all files
3) Connect your R0 to PC
4) Copy the R0.ROM file to the R0 root (media0)
5) Copy the .rockbox directory to the R0 root as well
6) Reboot and wait
7) Done

Links:
LightROM 4.4 FX [1st link]: https://www.box.com/s/ircomadps3rw18zi3qar
LightROM 4.4 FX [2nd link]: https://rapidshare.com/#!download|16....zip|13262|0|0
Latest Rockbox build: http://build.rockbox.org/data/rockbox-samsungypr0.zip
IMPORTANT: For those who already installed a previous LightROM version, you no longer need to copy rockbox_loader and all other files. Auto-Setup will automatically copy it for you during installation and first startup. If you want to backup your old rockbox_loader.sh, LightROM.cfg and rockbox settings you will find them as .old files. If you don't need these files you can delete them. For more info read the service manual included into the ROM.

Changelog since v4.2FX
* Improved system stability
* New faster and more optimized kernel
* Native support for Rockbox (all modules and libs are included in ROM)
* New boot and mounter script
* New CPU management (by kernel)
* Removed old and useless scripts and applications
* Added USB serial feature** (with g_serial module - for dev and debug)
* Added USB mode feature***
* Fixed hotplug error (in dmesg/console)
* Decreased CPU usage
* Added e-service manual
* Improved battery life
* Added tools for self-debrick (autosetup, formatter, g_serial, mounter)
* New console tools added in /xbin
* Added hostname (YP-R0) for console
* Added VanniX's Auto-Setup
* Included reset time mod (from Lorenzo92) by default
* Kernel boot time: 1.80 sec
* Rockbox boot time (with dfl cfg): ~9 sec

** = At the moment it is not linked to Rockbox, you have to enable it with autoexec script (read below).
*** = This does NOT mean that USB connection will work on RB with this ROM, but it means that USB connection works if enabled in console (by script or also by rockbox), so it should be possible to add the feature on RB.

LightROM.cfg
This file is placed in /mnt/media0 (R0 root partition for music, pictures, etc..), and can be edited to configure the bootloader with the following options:
AUTEXS: Enable or disable the autoexec for scripts placed in /mnt/mmc/autoexec at startup. You should not modify it unless you know what you are doing.
AUTUSB: Action when a USB cable is connected at startup (load Rockbox or SafeMode)

For more info about the ROM, please read the LightROM_4.4_ServiceManual.txt at the R0 root or on your MicroSD (files are presents only after installed the ROM).

Last edited by VanniX; 01-21-2013 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #935  
Old 10-03-2012, 02:41 PM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

I have just installed LightROM 4.4 "Candidate 4" everything seems to be fine with one exception concerning crackles.

-> Play some track
-> pause it
-> turn radio on
-> press back arrow
-> resume playing

Repeating steps above I hear strange sound every single time. Is it common or is it only me?
Reply With Quote

  #936  
Old 10-03-2012, 03:22 PM
ottogrey ottogrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 16
Default

I think that such a crack occurs even if the wait 4 seconds after the pause and resume playback.
-> play some track
-> pause it
-> wait 4 seconds or more
-> resume playback.
mainly in the left channel. they barely audible.

I did not hear them without your posts.

LightROM 4.4 "Candidate 4" works fine so far (~10hours)

Last edited by ottogrey; 10-04-2012 at 04:34 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #937  
Old 10-04-2012, 03:04 AM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Ok, always people say "there's a strange noise when resuming playback!!", but i never heard this noise, since first rockbox build in Lorenzo firmware..
Now.. I'm sure that my ears works fine, so, if you don't believe it i take this picture for you:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...MG/fade_in.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...G/fade_in2.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...G/fade_in3.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...G/fade_out.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-..._IMG/pause.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...IMG/pause2.png
Fade in and fade out seems perfect, and i can't hear anything strange..
("Fade in" is when in rb you press play button, "Fade out" is when you press pause button).

For users that are listening that noise:
Can you please record it or take a similar picture?
Thank you.
Reply With Quote

  #938  
Old 10-04-2012, 04:30 AM
ottogrey ottogrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 16
Default

Ok, it's recording from Line-in soundcard with a sequence of short (S) and long(L) pauses, and one F.FWD (F) . Sequence is LSSLLLSSSFS. Clicks are heard after a long(L) pauses and after F.FWD
"Fade in" "Fade out" activated.
Playing file from SDcard, Rockbox 8687b98-121001

Last edited by ottogrey; 10-04-2012 at 04:36 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #939  
Old 10-04-2012, 04:56 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,611
Default

@ottogrey: this is exactly the noise I had for months, probably since last december and I told Lorenzo several times but he never found out where it comes from. I also let VanniX know last month and he did not know more about that noise either.

For me the way to reproduce the bug was
-play any song in the database
-pause it
-select another song in the database
-resume the playback > NOISE

I say "was" because it appears now that I don't get this noise anymore since I changed the Rockbox build. It seems to me that when you install a new firmware, you have to install a fresh new RB build too.
That may be the solution for you too
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #940  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:17 AM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Ok, thank you ottogrey. However we can't define the cause of this problem at the moment. I can also confirm that it happens only in some R0. Probably it depends from nand type and/or RB build (there are 2 types, the big chip in the upper right corner).
Type 1: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...R0_Type1_a.png
Type 2: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...R0_Type2_a.png

Here's the noise in FW 2.30:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...ise_fw2.30.png

Here's your noise:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-...e_ottogrey.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-..._ottogrey2.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-..._ottogrey3.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-..._ottogrey4.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-..._ottogrey5.png
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21543264/YP-..._ottogrey6.png

EDIT_2: @ottogrey, you can try lebellium suggestion...

Last EDIT: 11.24

Last edited by VanniX; 10-04-2012 at 05:24 AM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
r0, rockbox, samsung yp-r0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.