android
  #1  
Old 09-22-2012, 03:18 PM
tonybhoy tonybhoy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Default can xperia phones take 64gb micro sd

I was thinking of getting a new phone, either an Xperia Sola, or Miro, both under £200 here in the UK. Specs for both say they can take a 32gb micro sd, but can they take a 64gb with any problems (mostly if not all of it would be music).
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-22-2012, 03:21 PM
Lagoo56's Avatar
Lagoo56 Lagoo56 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SI,NY
Posts: 737
Default

Any Android phone can take them after the card is formatted by the phone itself.
__________________
DAPs I own: Rockboxed Sansa C250 2GB+64GB MicroSDXC
Tablets I own:Rooted 8GB Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running Sungsonic 2 HD JB 4.1.2
Rooted 80GB Asus Memopad HD 7
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-22-2012, 03:47 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagoo56 View Post
Any Android phone can take them after the card is formatted by the phone itself.
Which is Fat32 IIRC
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-28-2012, 07:51 AM
tonybhoy tonybhoy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Default

I've decided to go for the Miro, because the sola, according to some user reviews is quite poor, and the miro is very cheap. Next on the agenda will be to add a music player app. Would Power Amp be the best way to go?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-28-2012, 09:17 AM
IDvsEGO's Avatar
IDvsEGO IDvsEGO is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,751
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagoo56 View Post
Any Android phone can take them after the card is formatted by the phone itself.
not true. my galaxy S1 would always report my 64gb as damaged. I formatted it in the phone, on my nook and using more than one windows based app. stuck the card in my s3 when I got it and it saw it no problem, no reformat needed. SDXC is slightly different and not all phones will see it properly.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-28-2012, 01:16 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IDvsEGO View Post
not true. my galaxy S1 would always report my 64gb as damaged. I formatted it in the phone, on my nook and using more than one windows based app. stuck the card in my s3 when I got it and it saw it no problem, no reformat needed. SDXC is slightly different and not all phones will see it properly.
SDXC is no different then SDHC. But of course any device can randomly refuse to work with any card it wants, even SDHC so you never know.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-28-2012, 01:22 PM
IDvsEGO's Avatar
IDvsEGO IDvsEGO is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,751
Default

physically, perhaps. Its a firmware/software limitation. backwards compatibility is guaranteed, forward not. for forward its a crapshoot...but one with pretty good odds. I would say research your individual device specifically. tons of android specific forums where users have tried and succeeded or failed.

For instance, a thread I should have read before I plopped down cash for mine months ago...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=64gb&page=2
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.