android
  #841  
Old 07-26-2012, 05:00 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

@alito:
I finally heard your "strange noise". It's only an accelerated fade out of the last song. Probably it's a codec problem of RB build.
Resource usage is normal, so it shouldn't be a rom/kernel problem

@Appick:
Can you help me to reproduce that noise?
Are you playing from sd?
Which rb build are you using?
Are you using some particular settings on rb?

Last edited by VanniX; 07-26-2012 at 05:07 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #842  
Old 07-27-2012, 10:57 AM
tronideco tronideco is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Sorry for my bad english. Read slowly, it can be full of mistakes!.

I tried a normal upgrade from fw 2.30 to this LRv3.5c1 fw.
Now, a Linux penguin displays, but I don't like it.

How I can remove it?.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #843  
Old 07-27-2012, 11:10 AM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

just hold turn off button until it disappears or hit reset button
Reply With Quote

  #844  
Old 07-27-2012, 11:42 AM
alito alito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Default

@Martus0
I think tronideco refers to "disabling" the linux icon, not resetting the unit.
I also think it is rather ugly, so small and in a corner. But it really is a non-issue. A better design or the ability to hide it completely would be welcome, but definitely is way down in the wish list.

An apple... that would have been worse ;-)
Reply With Quote

  #845  
Old 07-27-2012, 12:46 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tronideco View Post
Sorry for my bad english. Read slowly, it can be full of mistakes!.

I tried a normal upgrade from fw 2.30 to this LRv3.5c1 fw.
Now, a Linux penguin displays, but I don't like it.

How I can remove it?.
Thanks.
Please, install the lastest version: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...&postcount=820

However you can't remove the penguin. I added it in kernel compilation, and lorenzo tell me how to remove the samsung logo.
So you need to recompile the kernel to back to original logo.
Reply With Quote

  #846  
Old 07-27-2012, 05:31 PM
Appick's Avatar
Appick Appick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: France
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanniX View Post
@Appick:
Can you help me to reproduce that noise?
Are you playing from sd?
Which rb build are you using?
Are you using some particular settings on rb?
Not really.
Yes.
The latest.
No.
It's a problem I have had for a while now (since January post 585) I've always kept RB up-to-date. I don't use any special EQ settings. I've tried reformatting (although not recently.) In my previous post I mention that it only happened when the display was off. I had forgotten about that because now it's every time I start a song manually ie if I advance to another track or change album. It doesn't happen on automatic resume when I turn on the player, advance to next (previous) track or if I let an album play through. I never use shuffle or random. I suppose I should try. I use mainly the database, but sometimes the file system, and automatic directory change. I still use the 32GB card and listen to music from both the card and the internal memory (hence my predilection to the database.) It's not that bad but I got the impression from other comments that other people had similar problems which is why I mention it again.
__________________
Appick

Last edited by Appick; 07-28-2012 at 03:06 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote

  #847  
Old 07-28-2012, 07:32 AM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

I don't understand which problem could be...
Moreover now my R0 is having some problems. It doesn't want to power on.. I probably need a new one
Reply With Quote

  #848  
Old 07-28-2012, 11:03 AM
Predelnik Predelnik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 59
Default

By the way had a strange issue right now (never had this one with previous firmware) - song just stopped playing and play/pause had actually no effect - no sound and playback timer is frozen. I tried stopping playback by long pressing "back" button and then resuming it but it had no effect, then i just have reset R0 and everything was fine.
Reply With Quote

  #849  
Old 07-28-2012, 02:33 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Predelnik View Post
By the way had a strange issue right now (never had this one with previous firmware) - song just stopped playing and play/pause had actually no effect - no sound and playback timer is frozen. I tried stopping playback by long pressing "back" button and then resuming it but it had no effect, then i just have reset R0 and everything was fine.
This is an rockbox issue, you should report it to rockbox devs
Reply With Quote

  #850  
Old 07-28-2012, 04:54 PM
Predelnik Predelnik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanniX View Post
This is an rockbox issue, you should report it to rockbox devs
Ok i'll see, if it's very rare , that it happens only once in all of the months i'm using rockbox i don't mind actually, but i'm using new firmware just a second day and it happens, so if it will keep on repeating then that i guess it will be firmware depending stuff anyway.

Btw i've already learned that some issues that seems to be rockbox ones actually dependent on build of rockbox. For example issue with last.fm that i was writing here about, some time ago, it doesn't exist for normal rockbox builds (at least i've tested it on uisimulator). But things don't work well just in r0 case, it's very hard to figure out why and fix it for me
Reply With Quote

  #851  
Old 07-29-2012, 11:25 PM
natrixx natrixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Predelnik View Post
By the way had a strange issue right now (never had this one with previous firmware) - song just stopped playing and play/pause had actually no effect - no sound and playback timer is frozen. I tried stopping playback by long pressing "back" button and then resuming it but it had no effect, then i just have reset R0 and everything was fine.
Confirmed here. Happened to me a couple times last week, with LigthROM. Everything else seems to be ok though.
Reply With Quote

  #852  
Old 07-31-2012, 08:49 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Okay guys! I'm back. Nice to see some life into this thread! Now it Rock(s)Box

Just a couple of notes after a quick read (not much time yet).

"A Safe" Safe Mode cannot include the auto switch-off for the moment. I think I'm going to write a C program to ask <<someone>> in a safe way if a cable is connected or not.

Rockbox developement IS different from this ROM developement. Volume isn't related to rockbox NOR alsa volume is related (it is overridden by RB).

Finally, great job! As I understood no risk of formatting, then this rom will be on my R0 too within evening

Great!!
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #853  
Old 07-31-2012, 04:59 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Good, if i can repair my R0 we can release the rom with dual boot until the weekend :-)
Reply With Quote

  #854  
Old 07-31-2012, 06:22 PM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenz092 View Post
Okay guys! I'm back. Nice to see some life into this thread! Now it Rock(s)Box

Just a couple of notes after a quick read (not much time yet).

"A Safe" Safe Mode cannot include the auto switch-off for the moment. I think I'm going to write a C program to ask <<someone>> in a safe way if a cable is connected or not.

Rockbox developement IS different from this ROM developement. Volume isn't related to rockbox NOR alsa volume is related (it is overridden by RB).

Finally, great job! As I understood no risk of formatting, then this rom will be on my R0 too within evening

Great!!
So what piece of code should be tweaked to make rockbox louder? If it is overridden is there any possibility to get the same level of loudness comparing to OF? And last one question working usb is matter of rockbox's code or rom's one?
Reply With Quote

  #855  
Old 08-01-2012, 06:27 AM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

@Martus0:
Have you already tried this?
http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...&postcount=826
Reply With Quote

  #856  
Old 08-01-2012, 05:38 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Released new version 20120802-LRv4.2FX
Added 5 sec reset in safe mode
Removed some useless modules (thanks to Lorenzo92)
Deleted some useless lines from other scripts - it boot faster
Final size: 13.98Mb

Updated post 820: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...&postcount=820
Reply With Quote

  #857  
Old 08-02-2012, 10:35 AM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanniX View Post
@Martus0:
Have you already tried this?
http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...&postcount=826
I'm flashing now the newest firmware version and afterwards try your idea

I've just tried, changed master from 85% to 100% and it's actually louder (very very light hissing in the background and sound is a little biased), but it works thanks VanniX

Last edited by Martus0; 08-02-2012 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #858  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:37 PM
ottogrey ottogrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 15
Default

In LRv4.2FX filesystems are mounted as iocharset=iso8859-1. NOT utf8. Because of this non-latin filenames seen "/Music/??????/?????? - ?????.mp3"
please fix this

as a temporary solution, patched rockbox_loader.sh appending to it
Code:
umount /mnt/mmc
mount -t vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/mmc -o iocharset=utf8

umount /mnt/media0
mount -t vfat /dev/stl3 /mnt/media0 -o iocharset=utf8
it's helped

Last edited by ottogrey; 08-02-2012 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #859  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:50 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottogrey View Post
In LRv4.2FX filesystems are mounted as iocharset=iso8859-1. NOT utf8. Because of this non-latin filenames seen "/Music/??????/?????? - ?????.mp3"
please fix this
Also in v4.1 charset was the default iso, like the v4.0 ecc... Mounter script is the same from the RFS removal.
The problem is that utf8 charset sometimes (very often in my player) doesn't work with fat. Player need to format memory on each startup, otherwise file are not readable.
P.S: Which song do you need to play?

EDIT: If it works on your R0 you can add a patch script in /mmc/autoexec, and select the autostart on startup by changing N with Y in the ROM cfg.

EDIT 2: Can you send me some track (or text files) with non iso names?

Last edited by VanniX; 08-02-2012 at 03:01 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #860  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:59 PM
ottogrey ottogrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 15
Default

I am from Russia, russian songs. and russian filenames look like "????"

I started using 4.2
before that was 2.30 mod

EDIT1: script in /mmc/autoexec not convert MMC becouse he's execute on MMC
example track http://anonymousdelivers.us/18154

Last edited by ottogrey; 08-02-2012 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
r0, rockbox, samsung yp-r0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.