android
Go Back   abi>>forums > General Audio > Headphone Amplifiers (Portable)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2012, 11:38 PM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default what LOD chord is needed to connect a fiio e7 to a sansa clip+?

I'm sure this is a novice question, but I'm relatively new to the audio game.

I just bought a Sansa Clip+, and I wish to outfit it with a Fiio E7 DAC. I bought the L7 LOD, but I'm not sure if that'll help me to bypass the Clip+'s internal DAC.

What LOD is needed? Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-29-2012, 12:02 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aname View Post
I'm sure this is a novice question, but I'm relatively new to the audio game.

I just bought a Sansa Clip+, and I wish to outfit it with a Fiio E7 DAC. I bought the L7 LOD, but I'm not sure if that'll help me to bypass the Clip+'s internal DAC.

What LOD is needed? Thanks for the help.
You can't bypass the Clip's DAC. Then again, you really don't need to....it's very good quality. You can connect a cable from the headphone-out to the E7 to use it as an external amplifier, but not as a DAC.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-29-2012, 12:09 AM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gotcha. I suppose I didn't need to spring for the E7, then, if it's acting simply as an amp. Oh, well. Thanks for the response.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-29-2012, 12:11 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aname View Post
Gotcha. I suppose I didn't need to spring for the E7, then, if it's acting simply as an amp. Oh, well. Thanks for the response.
You could use the E7 with your computer, if that's any consolation.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:38 AM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
You could use the E7 with your computer, if that's any consolation.
Ha. It is. I intend to do so. I bought a lineout for my computer so I could use a USB connection and circumvent its sound card.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-30-2012, 05:24 PM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

I'm having a problem with the DAC and my laptop speakers. I'm using Logitech z623s, and for some reason, it'll play using the lineout from the DAC to the speaker, but it won't register the DAC's bass boost or volume control options. The only way to control volume and bass is the Logitech speaker controls. How do I fix this?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-30-2012, 06:39 PM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

It's worth noting that I'm going through my line out on the L7 attached to the E7.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-30-2012, 09:16 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aname View Post
I'm having a problem with the DAC and my laptop speakers. I'm using Logitech z623s, and for some reason, it'll play using the lineout from the DAC to the speaker, but it won't register the DAC's bass boost or volume control options. The only way to control volume and bass is the Logitech speaker controls. How do I fix this?
I'm pretty sure that the bass boost and volume control on the E7 are only for the amplifier section of it....not the DAC section. So it can be either a DAC or an amp, but not both at the same time.

But I am not 100% sure....hopefully one of the people here that do own an E7 can confirm this.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:00 PM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
I'm pretty sure that the bass boost and volume control on the E7 are only for the amplifier section of it....not the DAC section. So it can be either a DAC or an amp, but not both at the same time.

But I am not 100% sure....hopefully one of the people here that do own an E7 can confirm this.
Ah. I see.

When I ran the laptop to the DAC directly to the speakers, it would let me use the FiiO volume control and bass boost, but when I ran the laptop to the DAC, then applied the L7 dock with a line out to the speakers, it wouldn't.

I apologize for all the novice questions, but would it function as a DAC when I use the L7 dock with a line out to the speakers, but then it acts as an amp when I connect the speakers to the DAC directly through the headphone jack (which is when I can use the bass boost and volume control on the DAC)?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:15 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aname View Post
Ah. I see.

When I ran the laptop to the DAC directly to the speakers, it would let me use the FiiO volume control and bass boost, but when I ran the laptop to the DAC, then applied the L7 dock with a line out to the speakers, it wouldn't.

I apologize for all the novice questions, but would it function as a DAC when I use the L7 dock with a line out to the speakers, but then it acts as an amp when I connect the speakers to the DAC directly through the headphone jack (which is when I can use the bass boost and volume control on the DAC)?
Found this on Amazon.com....
Quote:
The FiiO L7 is designed to be used with the E7 USB DAC/AMP, providing a dedicated line-out jack for sending a high quality line-level signal to other devices such as a stereo or amplifier.
So I think you're right.....using the L7 is just for using it as a DAC, and giving you a line-out signal to the speakers you have hooked up. Connecting them to the headphone jack is allowing the amp to come into play....of course, if they are self-powered speakers, that may not be the best option.

Sorry I can't be 100% sure.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-30-2012, 10:24 PM
aname aname is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post

Sorry I can't be 100% sure.
No worries. Thanks for giving me feedback and helping me along. It's much appreciated.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.