android
  #1  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:48 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,099
Default The LOD thing

Can sumone quickly explain to me whats going on wit hthe Line out on the fuze?
With my clip+ and other mp3 players, when u connect a portable amp u just use the 3.5mm headphone jack, what's going on with the fuze and that funny fat/slim usb looking port running to the amp? why not use the standard headphone jack like all the rest?
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:59 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

There's probably no difference at all.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:00 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I agree that there's probably no audible difference, regardless here is ClieOS thread on the Fuze's diyLOD guide.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-28-2011, 09:08 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,099
Default

Thanx chaps.

I got my hands on my brand new sansa fuze can't wait to tinker with it

I now have the clip (8gb), clip+ (8 gb) and now the fuze (8gb) hahah
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-13-2012, 05:33 AM
tedv tedv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceBanner View Post
Thanx chaps.

I got my hands on my brand new sansa fuze can't wait to tinker with it

I now have the clip (8gb), clip+ (8 gb) and now the fuze (8gb) hahah
LOD is also fixed level output, and it bypassed the volume control section. In case you want to use LOD with Rockbox, I hacked together a custom 3.10 Rockbox build. See the Rockbox subforum.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:59 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,407
Default

Before you put much time and effort into this project to possibly no benefit I'd check this thread. In post #11 saratoga kicks in with a more complete explanation of what line out is and whether or not there may be a benefit to using it.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-13-2012, 12:57 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedv View Post
LOD is also fixed level output, and it bypassed the volume control section. In case you want to use LOD with Rockbox, I hacked together a custom 3.10 Rockbox build. See the Rockbox subforum.
How carefully have you looked at that patch you're using?

Code:
+        /* lineout active: force to 0dB */
+        vol_l = vol_r = tenthdb2master(0);
You're just setting the volume to 0dB when its on, not "bypassing" it.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-13-2012, 04:51 PM
tedv tedv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
How carefully have you looked at that patch you're using?

Code:
+        /* lineout active: force to 0dB */
+        vol_l = vol_r = tenthdb2master(0);
You're just setting the volume to 0dB when its on, not "bypassing" it.
Hi Saratoga, thanks for your comments. I repeating something I remembered reading. Probably read it wrong. I see in the specs of the chip that both the outputs have volume control.

Line output

max 1Vp 10Kohm in single ended stereo mode
>32ohm in mono differential mode to driver ear-pieces
32 gain steps @ 1.5dB and MUTE

Stereo Headphone Audio Amplifier

2x60mW @ 16ohm driver capacity
32 gain steps @ 1.5db and MUTE
Click- and pop-less start-up and power down
Headphone and over-current detection
Phantom ground eliminates large capacitors
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-16-2012, 06:32 PM
sunami88's Avatar
sunami88 sunami88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 98
Default

I've been using a LOD cable that I bought (wasn't foolhardy enough to build my own), and yeah- there's probably no difference. Doesn't mean I don't use it most of the time I power up my Fuze (podcasts excepted), though .

It would be cool to see the LOD patch merged in with the main Fuzev2 branch. I was convinced I'd never get it working again when RB moved to git, but I somehow managed to haha.


P.S. While we're on the subject, whoever gave us the ability to assign custom settings to the quickscreen is a genius.
__________________
=Players in use=
Sansa FuzeV2 (8 + 16 gigs) [RB]|Sansa Clip+ (4 + 8 gigs) [RB]
=Headphones in use=
SoundMagic PL50|SoundMagic PL30|Bang&Olufsen Form 2
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-16-2012, 07:21 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunami88 View Post
It would be cool to see the LOD patch merged in with the main Fuzev2 branch. I was convinced I'd never get it working again when RB moved to git, but I somehow managed to haha.
I don't like how that patch works, so I don't think it should be committed. Plus its kind of pointless. LODs make zero sense with the Fuze, so the only people using them are hobbyists who like to screw around with their device. That kind of person can probably compile, or at least google for a custom build.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-16-2012, 08:14 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
...Plus its kind of pointless. LODs make zero sense with the Fuze, so the only people using them are hobbyists who like to screw around with their device. That kind of person can probably compile, or at least google for a custom build.
I wouldn't say zero sense...Even if the LOD simply outputs the same thing as the Fuze's headphone jack at 0 dB, it can be (and I speak from first-hand experience here ) surprisingly convenient not having to adjust the player's volume to 0 dB when plugging it into, say, a car head unit's AUX in jack...and not having to reduce the volume again when switching at some later point back to headphones. I keep my low-priced, eBay-sourced LOD in my car, already hooked up to a mini-to-mini audio cable, so it's a quick plug-it-in-and-forget-it maneuver once I sit down to drive. When I leave the car, it's a swift disconnect and I'm never at risk of inadvertently blasting out my eardrums with my IEMs.

I also take some aesthetic pleasure out of being able to set my Fuze in the Griffin dock beside my stereo system and have it play music in a balanced, upright, and forward-facing (dare I say sensible ) position.

In short, there are legitimate, snake-oil-free justifications for using the dock connector on the Fuze to output audio -- even if they don't fit into another person's use model for the device.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined

Last edited by epithetless; 03-16-2012 at 08:23 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-16-2012, 09:51 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless View Post
I wouldn't say zero sense...Even if the LOD simply outputs the same thing as the Fuze's headphone jack at 0 dB, it can be (and I speak from first-hand experience here ) surprisingly convenient not having to adjust the player's volume to 0 dB when plugging it into, say, a car head unit's AUX in jack...and not having to reduce the volume again when switching at some later point back to headphones. I keep my low-priced, eBay-sourced LOD in my car, already hooked up to a mini-to-mini audio cable, so it's a quick plug-it-in-and-forget-it maneuver once I sit down to drive. When I leave the car, it's a swift disconnect and I'm never at risk of inadvertently blasting out my eardrums with my IEMs.

I also take some aesthetic pleasure out of being able to set my Fuze in the Griffin dock beside my stereo system and have it play music in a balanced, upright, and forward-facing (dare I say sensible ) position.

In short, there are legitimate, snake-oil-free justifications for using the dock connector on the Fuze to output audio -- even if they don't fit into another person's use model for the device.
I'm guessing you don't have a Fuze V2, since the patch doesn't work like that. You actually have to go into settings and enable line out, which is more difficult then just raising the volume. For this reason I am not a fan of that patch.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:24 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
I'm guessing you don't have a Fuze V2, since the patch doesn't work like that. You actually have to go into settings and enable line out, which is more difficult then just raising the volume. For this reason I am not a fan of that patch.
While I do own a V2, you're correct: The line-out functionality I enjoy is, by necessity, only with my Rockboxed V1. I also agree that the V2 patch in question isn't what should be committed...

If your "LODs make zero sense with the Fuze" quote was meant to refer exclusively to the V2 models and that particular patch, I apologize for misreading it as a more universal statement...
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:36 PM
sunami88's Avatar
sunami88 sunami88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
I'm guessing you don't have a Fuze V2, since the patch doesn't work like that. You actually have to go into settings and enable line out, which is more difficult then just raising the volume. For this reason I am not a fan of that patch.
Or you could add that setting to the quickscreen and toggle it with three button presses from literally anywhere... Just sayin'...
__________________
=Players in use=
Sansa FuzeV2 (8 + 16 gigs) [RB]|Sansa Clip+ (4 + 8 gigs) [RB]
=Headphones in use=
SoundMagic PL50|SoundMagic PL30|Bang&Olufsen Form 2
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-16-2012, 11:09 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunami88 View Post
Or you could add that setting to the quickscreen and toggle it with three button presses from literally anywhere... Just sayin'...
Still no easier then adjusting the volume, hence, no real point.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.