android
  #1  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:37 PM
pieman445 pieman445 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default Clip zip renaming songs

I recently got a SanDisk clip zip to replace my Sansa 240m which finally gave out (that thing was crazy!)

Anyways, everything on it seems fine except one odd thing that I noticed on it. Whenever I put on a song that begins with the word "the", it renames it to not have the "the" in it. For example, the song "the trap" was renamed "trap".

I dunno if this is a feature I accidentally activated, or something with WMP, but if anyone knows why this is happening, or how to disable it, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:48 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pieman445 View Post
I recently got a SanDisk clip zip to replace my Sansa 240m which finally gave out (that thing was crazy!)

Anyways, everything on it seems fine except one odd thing that I noticed on it. Whenever I put on a song that begins with the word "the", it renames it to not have the "the" in it. For example, the song "the trap" was renamed "trap".

I dunno if this is a feature I accidentally activated, or something with WMP, but if anyone knows why this is happening, or how to disable it, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
Here is your answer......read this post. http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...30&postcount=8

Basically, it was designed to be a feature, not a problem.....some people like it, and some people don't.
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:54 PM
pieman445 pieman445 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Okay, thanks! That probably means that it cannot be disabled too easily, right?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:59 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pieman445 View Post
Okay, thanks! That probably means that it cannot be disabled too easily, right?
I guess you would have to go to an earlier firmware version (available in that thread I linked to before) to do so. But be warned, one of the early ones would emit a loud blast of white noise occasionally at track changes...not pleasant if your volume was cranked up!
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-26-2012, 11:01 PM
pieman445 pieman445 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Okay, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-27-2012, 06:59 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

You can also try running rockbox firmware as an alternative, read up on it on link under my sig. I've never had a problem it displaying albums/tracks how I ripped & tagged them.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
clip renames songs the

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.