android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon J3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:06 AM
ip8g_345 ip8g_345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Question Cowon j3 and Audeo PFE 132 headphones ( in-line remote functions) ?

I have cowon j3 and considering going for Audeo PFE 132 headphones. They have in-line remote with volume +/- and multifunctiuonal button ( stop/resumes, prev/next). It's written
in the online manual that remote will work with ipod . Any info if it would work with Cowon J3 (all functions , only volume control or nothing) ?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:49 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

It's designed to work with ipods like many other IEM's/headphones that offer inline controls. While the headphones may work with any player, it does not mean that the inline features will, so my guess is NO it won't work with the J3.

Edit: I looked at Audéo’s web site and here’s how they describe the 132’s
Quote:
The earphones Audéo PFE come with a microphone and a multifunctional button, offering optional hands-free function with remote volume control and call answering/ending, and also to navigate the music list. The controls are compatible with MP3 players, iPod™ and iPhone™ and iPadTM and with most smartphones with a 4-pole 3.5 mm jack.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 02-20-2012 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:11 AM
ip8g_345 ip8g_345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks for your answer. That's description I looked before I wrote the question.
It's not clear if all the functions will work with any player. I hoped somebody who owns both j3 and 132 can confirm
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:28 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The J3 has no remote functionalities - it has a 3-pin headphone jack, the PFE's 4th pin that carries the remote information is ignored.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:46 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

An inline control that has the volume controls is designed to ONLY work with the iPod/iPhone/iPad. I would know, I have all the devices I just mentioned, and they use his type of headphone/iem controls. The single click type control works with them, as well as Android devices.

As for the J3, as dfkt has stated, these types of inline controls don't work with it at all.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:36 PM
ip8g_345 ip8g_345 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83
Default too bad

Thanks for the clarification. Too bad. It's a top-of-the-line player. Strange it doesn't have this feature ( I don't think it's terribly expensive to implement)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.