android
  #1  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:38 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default Should I buy a Clip Zip?

OK, I admit it: I have the "sickness" of collecting players, and group therapy can help. lol. I have an original Clip, a Clip Plus, along with my other players which are several iPod hard disk players, an iPod Touch 4G, an iRiver H300, and a Cowon X7. Other than adding it to my collection, is there any valid reason to purchase one? I presently can't think of any other reason.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:47 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,502
Default

Speaking as one not really into album art displays, I must admit that the album art display is nice and even helpful.

But, I actually prefer the Clip+ buttons--less chance of inadvertent pressing--and I miss needed info. on the Clip Zip screen: time elapsed/remaining, and current track no./total tracks no.

I kinda agree with your final conclusion, apart from adding to your collection, your liking album art, or your wanting the latest . . . .
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:57 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
OK, I admit it: I have the "sickness" of collecting players, and group therapy can help. lol. I have an original Clip, a Clip Plus, along with my other players which are several iPod hard disk players, an iPod Touch 4G, an iRiver H300, and a Cowon X7. Other than adding it to my collection, is there any valid reason to purchase one? I presently can't think of any other reason.
I sold my last Clip+ and bought a second Zip. All the complaints about missing track info, etc, are easily remedied by Rockbox. So I say, do it!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-26-2011, 01:59 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

No need and you're not missing anything as you have the clip +. I only got one cause I skipped the + having too many v1s and v2s and wanted expansion slot. I couldn't see buying the + since the zip came out and I got a great deal for the 8gb and 32gb card.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-26-2011, 02:08 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
No need and you're not missing anything as you have the clip +. I only got one cause I skipped the + having too many v1s and v2s and wanted expansion slot. I couldn't see buying the + since the zip came out and I got a great deal for the 8gb and 32gb card.
Yes, I am thinking along the same lines. Maybe I'll purchase clothes instead. lol
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-26-2011, 02:10 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
Yes, I am thinking along the same lines. Maybe I'll purchase clothes instead. lol
More headphones!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-26-2011, 02:13 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
More headphones!
Yes, I am thinking about that also.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-26-2011, 02:15 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
Yes, I am thinking along the same lines. Maybe I'll purchase clothes instead. lol
All I stated was what I’d do, to each their own I say ... but I’d rather have a lot of other new things than clothes, *surfboard, skateboard, scooter, spear gun, headphones, etc.*
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-26-2011, 07:32 PM
cowoniriver cowoniriver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
OK, I admit it: I have the "sickness" of collecting players, and group therapy can help. lol. I have an original Clip, a Clip Plus, along with my other players which are several iPod hard disk players, an iPod Touch 4G, an iRiver H300, and a Cowon X7. Other than adding it to my collection, is there any valid reason to purchase one? I presently can't think of any other reason.

I share your quote=>"sickness" and i own both.
If FM receiving quality &recording is important for you, go for a zip, it's a bit better (stronger,less noise both ST&mono mode). And after minutes of recording the signal gets even more weak on the clip+
You can avoid clicks on record reducing gain on 3db if using ROCKBOX

If you don't hate monochrome displays and love robust and nice touch controls i find on frontal controls a better touch on the clip+ (try to touch both before buying)
but volume control touch is nicer on the zip (Obviously all my subjetive P.O.V)

Using 3 different mid range sennheisers ,sound is the same with flat eq ,and both
work cool with rocbox.Battery life&volume is also the same (don't forget NOT choosing europe as region to avoid vol castration)

The zip has rds on fm but some stations' RDS info dissapear compared to my nokia phone & car radio
Clip+ display is 128 * 64 and zip's 96*96 so you miss some horizontal space on the zip but get less need of vertical scrolling...

Maybe the clip is a bit more robust/durable on the zip..(just an impresion)
After 2 months of zip I use the clip+ less and less, and the zip more,and i still love a lot the fuzev2 (not the crappy fuze+) you miss the rear clip but get a 1.9inch display and about 21hours of batt life vs 14-15h on zip

And don't forget to add rockbox on any of them!!! ;-)

Choose yourself...
__________________
my players:
IRIVER: ifp-190 ,ifp-880 (broken), s10,t60,clix2/ COWON: u3, cowon u5,cowon s9 32gb,
SANDISK
: fuze v2, clip+, clipzip,LG: mffm15, mffm33, Treckstor ibeatcenso and my car's one!

Last edited by cowoniriver; 12-26-2011 at 08:01 PM. Reason: rockbox
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-26-2011, 08:02 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,508
Default

Well I'm now up to a Clip Zip, Clip+, 2 Clips, and a Fuze. Plus a Zen Stone, and 2 Samsung YP-Z5 players. All have been used at some point this year. Obviously some more than others. And I just got the Zip for Xmas, so it's barely been used.

And you're asking me for advice????

Of course, I say get one. It's cheaper than a new camera!!! (Another thing I collect - currently have six digital cameras and a camcorder.)

Steve

Last edited by FreeZ5; 01-03-2012 at 07:44 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-26-2011, 09:05 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeZ5 View Post
And you're asking me for advice????
lol, you mean like asking an alcoholic if it's OK to take one more drink?
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-27-2011, 05:03 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
lol, you mean like asking an alcoholic if it's OK to take one more drink?
As much as I would like a drink, it's still 6 AM here so I'd rather go with fresh coffee
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-27-2011, 05:26 AM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musichound View Post
lol, you mean like asking an alcoholic if it's OK to take one more drink?
... Yes!
__________________

Ruger M77 , Howa 1500 , Czech Republic 452-2E
Ruger .22 Single Six, Springfield Armory XD-9 , Springfield Armory XD45ACP
2007 Elite Archery Synergy

Gamo CFX, Gamo PT80
Large Rock


Need your headphones fixed or something soldered? Syndrome's Soldering Service
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-02-2012, 11:19 PM
FuzinEvolution FuzinEvolution is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Default

I'm the same way with collecting media players (namely iPods :h noes!!: so I currently have about 10 media players, 6 which are iPods (mostly of the classic variety because there isn't really a better player that offers such capacity anymore), 2 clip+s, 1 fuze+ and 1 zune HD.

I personally am considering getting one on the simple basis of AAC support, I hate having to trans-code AAC files from iTunes to MP3 to get it to run on my current Clip+. Not just because its a pain to do the converting all the time but you also lose quality this way.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:29 AM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

rockbox on the clip supports aac doesn't it?
__________________

Ruger M77 , Howa 1500 , Czech Republic 452-2E
Ruger .22 Single Six, Springfield Armory XD-9 , Springfield Armory XD45ACP
2007 Elite Archery Synergy

Gamo CFX, Gamo PT80
Large Rock


Need your headphones fixed or something soldered? Syndrome's Soldering Service
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:31 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
rockbox on the clip supports aac doesn't it?
Yes, it does.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:51 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,351
Default

If FuzinEvolution want's to use their iTunes tracks they'll need Rockbox. The AAC encoder in the OF chokes on AAC files if they're too long in my experience.

The last firmware update fixed the distortion on AAC files at the iTunes 256 kbps bitrate but didn't fix the failure to play longer files. Maybe in a future firmware update. It seems the hardware can handle them, they play fine in Rockbox.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-03-2012, 02:22 AM
FuzinEvolution FuzinEvolution is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
If FuzinEvolution want's to use their iTunes tracks they'll need Rockbox. The AAC encoder in the OF chokes on AAC files if they're too long in my experience.

The last firmware update fixed the distortion on AAC files at the iTunes 256 kbps bitrate but didn't fix the failure to play longer files. Maybe in a future firmware update. It seems the hardware can handle them, they play fine in Rockbox.
I've never even looked at Rockbox to tell you the truth, since I have two clip +s I should try it out. Thanks, didn't know it supported AAC!

Honestly wished I never started purchasing from the iTunes Store, its one of the reasons I'm having a hard time getting off the iPods because my library there is so well established. I try to get all my music from Amazon now.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.