android
  #1  
Old 12-05-2011, 05:58 AM
Kalokairi Kalokairi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Default Dreaded i/o error?

I've got the Q3 since late October and so far I've been very happy with it (LOVE the interface! There's nothing like it!).But for some weird reason thre's been a problem lately and trying to find a solution is driving me nuts.

When I plug it into the computer (Win XP SP3) it takes 5 minutes until the comp manages to put the player into the file manager. Which is itself not that bad (for one of my external harddiscs it takes about as long, so I'm used to waiting *lol*). Then, when it appears with the usual drive letter (l:\ in my case) I can usually upload and download music to the Q3 (which has the latest firmware). However, last night I got the dreaded i/o device error after the usual 5 minutes of waiting. Strangely enough, I still have the usual access to the music files, however, the PC refuses to transfer .doc files (I use the Q3 not only as music player but I also tend to store text-files on it, for safety reasons). I've read that with an i/o error generally you shouldn't have access to the device anymore. Not that I complain, I just think it's weird.

I didn't try to plug it in today but every time I do I'm scared of what will happen *lol*. So - did anyone ever encounter this and if yes, did you solve the problem and how did you do it?! I found a thread on this forum from 2006, involving a Z5 but apparently there was no solution either, so I decided to open a new thread anyway.

Fun fact: After I panicked a bit last night, I tried to plug it into my netbook which runs on Linux. And, lo and behold, it recognizes the Q3 instantly, not just after 5 minutes of searching and I've got instant access to ALL my files. So I suppose it's a Windows problem (which is great because sending in the Q3 for repair would suck). But my question still stands - did anyone encounter it and if you did, how did you solve the problem?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-05-2011, 08:13 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

I have never heard about that issue on any Samsung device since I moderate the forums (so 4-5 years).

I can just advise you to try on another Windows computer to be sure if the issue comes from the Q3 or the computer and if there is still this issue, maybe try to format the Q3.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-05-2011, 08:25 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalokairi View Post
Fun fact: After I panicked a bit last night, I tried to plug it into my netbook which runs on Linux. And, lo and behold, it recognizes the Q3 instantly, not just after 5 minutes of searching and I've got instant access to ALL my files. So I suppose it's a Windows problem (which is great because sending in the Q3 for repair would suck). But my question still stands - did anyone encounter it and if you did, how did you solve the problem?
This is not fun, windows is fun

Indeed there is a problem with windows...you could check for spywares, maybe? Or reinstalling some drivers!
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:46 AM
Kalokairi Kalokairi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks, both of you.

Yesterday I read on some (German) forum that it might indeed be a software problem after all and that a recently installed software could be the culprit, especially if it involves media files by messing with codecs and drivers. About two weeks ago I had installed the VLC-player and I figured it might do no harm if I uninstalled it. Also, I did a disk check on the Q3 (which took 10 minutes and didn't find any errors) and when I tried it again this morning it took the PC only one minute to find the Q3 and gave me no i/o error!

I still don't know what had caused the error but it seemed to be a driver and codec problem (maybe the VLC player wanted access to the files and the computer blocked it for safety reasons, causing a hang up? I'm not an IT specialist but I've had similar things happen) but it seems to be solved now, more or less. One minute of waiting time without an i/o error might not be nice but it could be worse *lol*.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
q3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.