android
  #401  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:02 PM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

I just applied your patch and launched compilation. And it's currently compilating (surely I will have problems with SDL, but not with ARM GCC). The rockbox initialization script installs ARM GCC, and configures it automatically. So I just applied your patch, and ran "../tools/configure && make". See http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/LinuxSimpleGuideToCompiling and in particular the part about "./rockboxdev.sh". For the SDL, I think it won't be the same. But rockboxdev.sh it worth reading.


I'll edit this post when I have problems with SDL and other libs...
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #402  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:06 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
I just applied your patch and launched compilation. And it's currently compilating (surely I will have problems with SDL, but not with ARM GCC). The rockbox initialization script installs ARM GCC, and configures it automatically. So I just applied your patch, and ran "../tools/configure && make". See http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/LinuxSimpleGuideToCompiling and in particular the part about "./rockboxdev.sh". For the SDL, I think it won't be the same. But rockboxdev.sh it worth reading.


I'll edit this post when I have problems with SDL and other libs...
If you read the howto completely it should work
Crossing fingers
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #403  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:25 PM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

I was very suprised that the compilation ended without any error after a normal build (without any of the tweak you mentioned). But of course, the binary that is produced results in nothing more than a black screen...
I'm now going to add the custom libs and paths...

EDIT:
Maybe should add a target arch named "arm-linux" or so to "tools/rockboxdev.sh".

Where did you get arm-none-linux-gnueabi ?

Last edited by lovasoa; 11-16-2011 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #404  
Old 11-16-2011, 04:23 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
I was very suprised that the compilation ended without any error after a normal build (without any of the tweak you mentioned). But of course, the binary that is produced results in nothing more than a black screen...
I'm now going to add the custom libs and paths...

EDIT:
Maybe should add a target arch named "arm-linux" or so to "tools/rockboxdev.sh".

Where did you get arm-none-linux-gnueabi ?
https://sourcery.mentor.com/sgpp/lit...@template=lite

GNU/Linux of course

EDIT: just for info, I'm compiling it using Kubuntu 11.10 64 bit....Just estract the things where you want and place the paths to makefile!
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #405  
Old 11-16-2011, 06:08 PM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

I tried to compile with arm-linux-gnueabi (provided in Ubuntu packages). It didn't work... I'll now try with your link. But it's for 32 bit, no?
It seems that all the binaries that I create with arm-linux-eabi-gcc segfault...

Last edited by lovasoa; 11-16-2011 at 07:18 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #406  
Old 11-16-2011, 07:29 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
Maybe should add a target arch named "arm-linux" or so to "tools/rockboxdev.sh".
Do the regular rockbox build tools work (e.g. arm-eabi)?
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #407  
Old 11-17-2011, 06:00 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Do the regular rockbox build tools work (e.g. arm-eabi)?
I don't think so. We are running it on linux...Sorry but this is a bit too complex for my knowledge
Moreover atm I haven't so much time to dedicate on it

@lovasoa: strange for the segfaults...I don't know what could it be the reason but using the sourcery gcc (32 bit on 64 works using the compatibility layer) works perfectly!
And so did the recompilation of the kernel, which is not to be done for various reasons but it worked...

EDIT: it's real a pleasure listening album with gapless (especially The wall hehe) ^^
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!

Last edited by Lorenz092; 11-17-2011 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #408  
Old 11-17-2011, 08:09 AM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Do the regular rockbox build tools work (e.g. arm-eabi)?
No they don't. I spent my all night trying several compilers, and none worked. I didn't want to use a 32 bit compiler for performance reasons... But I'll have to resign myself to it.
Reply With Quote

  #409  
Old 11-17-2011, 09:35 AM
zema zema is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Good day! Why do I have Rockbox does not run every time? And is it possible to make the power button does not Rockbox central key, such as "up" or "down"? Just the central key is very inconvenient ...
Reply With Quote

  #410  
Old 11-17-2011, 10:40 AM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

I just tried to compile with Sourcery G++ Lite, and it works. But it bugs me to use a proprietary 32bit software.

EDIT: here is the latest rockbox revision (with the new "Shortcuts" functionnality, and other patches by Lorenzo92): http://dl.free.fr/nOaf8zWXr .

Last edited by lovasoa; 11-17-2011 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #411  
Old 11-17-2011, 10:49 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Okay. Fine it worked, not sure if this could be a problem. Of course if you will find a solution, let us know
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #412  
Old 11-17-2011, 11:09 AM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

And previously in this topic, slade said that we could compile optimized binaries with
Quote:
-mcpu=arm1176jzf-s -mfpu=vfp
, but I can't find it in the Makefile. Shouldn't we add this to the gcc options? Rockbox would give better performances...

And do you know where do all the "Warning: R8 redefined" come from, when we compile ?

Last edited by lovasoa; 11-17-2011 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #413  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:27 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
And previously in this topic, slade said that we could compile optimized binaries with , but I can't find it in the Makefile. Shouldn't we add this to the gcc options?
You should tell it to schedule for arm11, but the vfp option shouldn't make a difference; we don't use floating point in rockbox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
And do you know where do all the "Warning: R8 redefined" come from, when we compile ?
Rockbox is usually compiled with gcc 4.4.4 and binutils 2.20.1 (on ARM). In the past when we've had to change gcc versions we encountered quite a few problems due to subtle differences in how different gcc versions work. If possible, I would use gcc 4.4.4. It will save you having to troubleshoot gcc bugs.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #414  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:34 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
You should tell it to schedule for arm11, but the vfp option shouldn't make a difference; we don't use floating point in rockbox.



Rockbox is usually compiled with gcc 4.4.4 and binutils 2.20.1 (on ARM). In the past when we've had to change gcc versions we encountered quite a few problems due to subtle differences in how different gcc versions work. If possible, I would use gcc 4.4.4. It will save you having to troubleshoot gcc bugs.
Oh yes indeed sorry for having forgotten that. I'm using gcc 4.3.2

And yes for optimizations. You need to place that in the line where options like "-W -Wall" etc are

EDIT: I think it will be better to keep the usual /.rockbox folder. So my idea is:
- create a new rom (with some other fixes too possibly) with a folder at root "/.rockbox"
- in the script that launches rockbox, make something like "mount <CWD> /.rockbox [don't remember exactly the command yet ]

In this way you should be able to run rockbox from any directory as positive cons. What do you think?

EDIT2: next step will be to introduce power management. I have necessary informations, but I'm lost in RB code, so help is needed

EDIT3: absolutely. Adding the optimization options worked maybe. I get 13-14 fps in pictureflow instead of 11 (not so much indeed, but may be helpful with battery + random clicking)

EDIT_LAST: okay in this edit I remind we need to activate in some way the specific ARM optimizations coded in RB
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!

Last edited by Lorenz092; 11-17-2011 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #415  
Old 11-17-2011, 01:37 PM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenz092 View Post
think it will be better to keep the usual /.rockbox folder. So my idea is:
- create a new rom (with some other fixes too possibly) with a folder at root "/.rockbox"
- in the script that launches rockbox, make something like "mount <CWD> /.rockbox [don't remember exactly the command yet ]
In this way you should be able to run rockbox from any directory as positive cons. What do you think?
Good idea!
Moreover, I think we should only provide a ROM file, that contains .rockbox and rockbox_launcher.sh and installs them on first boot.
Reply With Quote

  #416  
Old 11-17-2011, 02:12 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
Good idea!
Moreover, I think we should only provide a ROM file, that contains .rockbox and rockbox_launcher.sh and installs them on first boot.
We cannot do that. Space is limited Actually I don't know precisely the limit, but it should be around 20 mb more or less
R0 has some hidden memories (I'm quite sure they are in the IMX37 itself), one for kernel, one for bootloader, one for cramfs and one for sysdata (-> /dev/bml3 is sysdata if I remember well, dd'ing it retrives the sysdata.bin ).
For the bootscript definitely yes, it is also useless having it at root of media0. Keeping it secret in the rom is fine once is final
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #417  
Old 11-20-2011, 04:36 AM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

rockbox doesn't compile anymore on latest svn. It seems to be because of settings_list.c...
Reply With Quote

  #418  
Old 11-20-2011, 05:05 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovasoa View Post
rockbox doesn't compile anymore on latest svn. It seems to be because of settings_list.c...
Uhm...latest latest you mean? I need to try...but maybe it is supposed to don't compile because of something still being worked on?
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #419  
Old 11-20-2011, 08:28 AM
lovasoa lovasoa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenz092 View Post
Uhm...latest latest you mean? I need to try...but maybe it is supposed to don't compile because of something still being worked on?
No... Compilation still works on my iPod. And things that don't compile generally aren't comitted, or are corrected very quickly.


I dived into the reversi bug (that makes the R0 crash), and the bug seems to be in reversi_gui_display_board (in apps/plugins/reversi/reversi-gui.c). But I'm not skilled enough (and don't have enough time) to understand exactly where it comes from...
Reply With Quote

  #420  
Old 11-20-2011, 12:43 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenz092 View Post
Uhm...latest latest you mean? I need to try...but maybe it is supposed to don't compile because of something still being worked on?
Our build system checks every commit to make sure it builds:

http://build.rockbox.org/dev.cgi
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
r0, rockbox, samsung yp-r0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.